We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

3 Explorers Motel

Expedia.comUS$86*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$88*
US$86*
US$88*
US$88*
US$86*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
3 Explorers Motel
3 Explorers Motel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

348 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for 3 Explorers Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 339: English reviews
Pakenham, Australia
Reviewed 31 May 2015

Great location just a short walk to the 3 sisters at eco point. Only a short drive into town but in a very quiet area. The manager was helpful and friendly. we had a ground floor spa suite. quiet nice in size. With a good heater for the colder nights.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank stephen b
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again.

Reviewed 28 April 2015

Room very comfortable, great heating, very clean. For the price good value. Need a car if you want to go to town centre. Walking distance to main walking tracks, 3 sisters, echo point etc. stayed 2 nights. Would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Elizabeth H
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again.

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 20 April 2015

We stayed 3 nights in 3 Explorers. Room was a decent size for 4, a microwave meant that you could do some cooking in the room (proprietor can supply plates). It is a convenient walking distance from the Three Sisters, which we were lucky to see on a beautiful clear day. Free wifi, helpful proprietor. When it is raining there...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Baidun
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again.

Beaverton, Oregon
Reviewed 20 April 2015

Good location and clean considering other hotel standards in Australia. People don't have many options to stay in Katoomba, unfortunately we picked this one out of the handful that was there. It was clean but that was about it. We paid for two rooms - three guests in one room and two in the other. The first room we paid...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank R O
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that your friend has encouraged you to also review & agree with her comments, the story seems to be evolving as well, a member of the party did apologise for the individuals rude behaviour which we did accept, we also thanked the individuals first review & she did mention that she would be "encouraging" all members to...

Newcastle
Reviewed 19 April 2015

Stayed over with daughter and grandson. Clean and comfortable, great wifi, plenty of room. Owner provided maps and advice on best times for local activities - very useful! Close enough to attractions to be convenient, but far enough away to be quiet.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank NannaFox
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 18 April 2015

We were travelling with our two children, so were looking for accomodation with two bedrooms. Upon researching this motel and then calling and speaking with Chris, the owner and on-site manager, he recommended the two bedroom spa suite. It was exactly as we had hoped for. Simple and clean motel style accomodation which was all we needed as our days...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Goldie05
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again.

Berlin
Reviewed 13 April 2015

Average motel, service poor. The good: Clean Room was better than usual motel, in that only the bathroom was stuck in the 1970s The bad: Service: Booked 2 rooms, off season, on a Sunday night - you'd think they'd be glad of the business. Not so, on check-in got an earful regarding how two separate bookings had been made by...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Karl_10117
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a review of your recent stay at the 3 Explorers Motel & visit to the Blue Mountains, we are very fortunate in the wonderful Guests that visit our Motel, they do appreciate all that the Motel & Blue Mountains offer, unfortunately we do also welcome those very few that have no intention...

Reviewed 9 April 2015

The room was spacious, clean and then bed was comfortable. Helpful information and within walking distance of the 3 Sisters. Great value, the manager was very informative. We didn't have breakfasts at the motel altho available as we like to try different cafes .would recommend this motel in the Blue Mountains

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Jane N
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again.

Reviewed 8 April 2015 via mobile

Very impressed upon arrival. Our room was available for us to check in a little early. Room and bathroom both very clean. Nice to have tea and coffee making facilities. Location was great for being able to start on a number of different walking routes. Very good chocolate shop/cafe across the road. Would recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank es8915
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 April 2015 via mobile

Clean, comfortable and close to the three sisters and walks. Great value for the price, everything you need, no frills motel. Owner is extremely friendly and helpful, couldn't ask for more for the price really. Fast free Wifi as standard here too. Surprisingly you don't get this everywhere in Aus!!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jez200London
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again.

290 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (233)
Viewed
Family Deluxe Room (28)
Viewed
Queen Spa Room (33)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (35)
Viewed
Superior Family Room (37)
Viewed
Superior Twin - Double Room (35)
Viewed
The Hotel (18)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Luxurious Spa Suite (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (13)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
1.6 km away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
878 reviews
1.7 km away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
554 reviews
1.0 km away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 km away
La Maison Boutique Hotel
La Maison Boutique Hotel
#13 of 15 in Katoomba
162 reviews
2.4 km away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service

Additional Information about 3 Explorers Motel

Address: 197 Lurline St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Price Range: RM361 - RM657 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 3 Explorers Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your 3 Explorers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Explorers Hotel Katoomba
3 Explorers Motel Katoomba, Blue Mountains, Australia
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from 3 Explorers Motel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from 3 Explorers Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Queen bed and a single bed was excellent for three travelers. We were on first floor and had a wonderful quiet room.”
AnnaC682, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms were great, whether upstairs or downstairs.”
StephG34, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“all rooms seem good”
stephenb541, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ground level out the back.”
, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Some of the rooms are upstairs so may want to specify ground floor.”
sarahnorris99, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$86* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$88
Hotels.comUS$86
Booking.comUS$88
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates