We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mountain Heritage

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mountain Heritage
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

536 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mountain Heritage
See the most recent reviews
Showing 523: English reviews
Sydney
Reviewed 7 April 2016

No lift and very steep stairs made staying at this hotel very difficult for anyone on a walking stick & impossible if you are wheelchair bound. Thank heavens one of the staff happily took our bags upstairs!! Some of our group had downstairs rooms which although large, had no outlook & were very dark. Our mountain view room was beautiful!...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gayle C
JamisonViews, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this review

Dear Gayle C Thank you for choosing us for your groups dinner in our Jamison Views Restaurant, and for staying with us. You are correct in that we do not have a lift, but we do have several choices of stairways. The main grand staircase on the south side of the building can be a challenge for some people, and...

Alcester
Reviewed 3 April 2016

5 of us were attempting to do the Kanangra Walls to Katoomba trek. Unfortunately one of the party was injured and had to be extracted by helicopter. After hospital she returned to the hotel without a room booking. The hotel managed to accommodate and did everything possible to ensure she was taken care of, including a reunion with the rest...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank johnsB4207JB
JamisonViews, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this review

Dear johnsB4207JB The Blue Mountains offers some wonderful walking tracks and trails, but as you have discovered, some can be challenging and danger is just around the corner in many places. We are delighted to have been of assistance, and we trust your companion has recovered well. We hope it will not deter you and your party from a return...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 3 April 2016

This 100 year old location is really nice. I normally stay at the Carrington Hotel when I'm bringing friends to the Blue Mountains. This time I thought I'd change it up and try out Mountain Heritage Resort. I liked to place. The design is the usual 100 year old hotel with a strange design of stairs running up and down...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pete L
JamisonViews, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this review

Dear Pete L, Thank you for providing your comments, and for choosing to stay with us as an alternative to the Carrington. Glad to hear you liked our place, and found the rooms clean and the beds comfortable. Yes, just like the Carrington, our retreat was built in an era before the emergence of the cookie cutter motel, and yes...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 April 2016

The room is very small. Complimentary breakfast only contains cold food. You have to pay for $12 if you want some hot food. They also charge kids $16 even if the kids are under 4 year old. Fee wifi needs to be re-log-in every 4 hours. The username and password is at receptionist. The view is good, especially their restaurant.The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank QI Z
JamisonViews, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this review

Dear QI Z Thank you for your review. All our rooms are different shapes, sizes and have varying aspects. Our smallest room of which we have two are 20m2, our largest is 67m2, and the average is around 30m2 with 13 rooms being larger than 30m2. I assume you stayed in one of our smaller rooms, and this has impacted...

Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewed 1 April 2016

Good place, location is 1 KM from Katoomba Station towards leura on gang gang street. Courteous staff and superb views from the property itself! This was a self hike trip to the Blue Mountains so I didn't get to spend too much time in the property, will surely come back for a longer stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Abi_maha
JamisonViews, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this review

Dear Abi_maha Thank you for choosing us for your Blue Mountains Accommodation. Yes, we are very handy to Katoomba Train Station via a 5 minute walk down Gang Gang Street. In addition there are plenty of hop-on hop-off buses for ease of travel once you are here. Thank you again for your lovely review and we look forward to welcoming...

Reviewed 1 April 2016 via mobile

I went on a self hike expedition to Blue Mountains these last couple of days and had asked my husband to book me into an accommodation where I could be sure of a good night's sleep. This was perfect!! The location is about a km from Katoomba station overlooking the mountains. Outside and inside this property seems straight out of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mahalakshmi R
JamisonViews, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this review

Dear Mahalakshmi R The Blue Mountains are indeed a delightful area for wonderful bush hikes ranging from easy, moderate and extreme..something for everyone. We are delighted you found us to be the perfect place for a comfortable stay after a day long hike in the bush.Yes we are very well located for those arriving by train and our views are...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 April 2016

Our stay was plesanat - We had a lovely room with an outlook and the hotel has that period style charm. On the negative - there is no lift for the upper floors and this makes it quite difficult to get bags up and down and also people with walking disabilities. as well, it was a bit surprising to have...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Langkeys
JamisonViews, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this review

Dear Langkeys Thank you for staying with us. It is pleasing to hear you enjoyed the lovely outlook from your room and the historic charm of our 108 year old mountain retreat. Unfortunately we do not have a lift, The main staircase can seem a bit daunting for some people, but fortunately we have a number of other stairs at...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 30 March 2016

Great views and a lovely historical charm Loved having the history of the accommodation t6o read and the photos of it's earlier life. Smelt a little musty when we first got there but soon didn't notice it. Disappointed with the evening meal. Breakfast was good. Loved the old world charm and beautiful setting.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jlamon_894126
JamisonViews, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this review

Dear jlamon_894126 Thank you for providing your comments, it is always a delight to hear when our guests appreciate the charm and history we try to maintain in our unique mountain retreat. We do not like to hear you were disappointed with the evening meal, and I trust you brought any concerns you had to the attention of our staff...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 30 March 2016

We stayed in a mountain view room for a 3 nights stay. The location and view are excellent. And not to mention the great service provided by the staff. However, for the price, the setup is old and does not provide the value one would look for in a $200+ per night room. The beds are not exactly queen but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deepsat
JamisonViews, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this review

Dear deepsat Thank for staying with us. It is pleasing to hear you enjoyed our location, views and great service from our staff. It is disappointing you did not like the old style of our historic retreat, and you feel it is not value for money. I am intrigued by your comment on the hot water, and I trust the...

Sydney
Reviewed 28 March 2016

I can't believe that with the amount of competition in the mountains this guest house has not lifted its game. Needs a complete interior decor makeover- get rid of the fake flowers and burn some nice smelling stuff, open the windows! Having said that, it has some charm, and the views are spectacular.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fashmag
JamisonViews, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this review

Dear fashmag Thank you for your feedback. It is disappointing to hear our decore did not resonate with you. We are a 108 year old mountain retreat, our decore is definitely not modern, fashionable or clinical. There is no cookie cutter approach, as you will find in many newer hotels and resorts, we aim to maintain a sense of charm...

183 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (172)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.5 km away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
843 reviews
1.9 km away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
8.6 km away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
5.2 km away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
8.6 km away
The George Boutique Hotel
The George Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Blackheath
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Jamison Views Restaurant
Jamison Views Restaurant
Cuisines: Australian
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Mountain Heritage

Address: Cnr Apex & Lovel Streets, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Price Range: RM527 - RM1,168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mountain Heritage 4.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Mountain Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Heritage Katoomba, Blue Mountains, Australia
Mountain Heritage Hotel Katoomba
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
#6 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mountain Heritage staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Minneapolis, MN
over a year ago
Minneapolis, MN

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Mountain Heritage staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Jamison View Room. room 8 excellent, large, bright and airy.Worth the extra although we hardly ever saw any view. ”
 of 5 bubbles miketY1090RE, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“i recommend the mountain view room”
 of 5 bubbles mummyharris2016, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Corner suite was large & stunning views”
 of 5 bubbles helenhazel, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Valley Views ideal”
 of 5 bubbles H6117VRandrewb, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you book a room with a view. The family suite had no views at all”
 of 5 bubbles N9354ILdans, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5