We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Charles Robbins

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Charles Robbins
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

59 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 59: English reviews
Start your review of The Charles Robbins
 Click to rate
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Had a lovely stay in the Phoenix room with everything you could want! Great kitchen, soft bed and the private sauna did not go astray on a cold night! A short stroll to the shops or the water. Highly recommend. Thanks to the kind hosts!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kassey77
M G, Owner at The Charles Robbins, responded to this review

And our thanks to you - for looking after Phoenix and for your lovely review. Maureen

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I was just looking for a simple place to stay for a night and stumbled upon this little supprise. Raj and Maureen went out of their way to ensure we had a great stay. Will come back again if i ever find my self in George Town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
M G, Owner at The Charles Robbins, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review. We both enjoyed meeting you - but it would be a long way for you to travel back again. Maureen

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Thank you Taj and Maureen for opening your rooms to the public. We both really enjoyed our stay. I must say your beds are Devine! Both of us agree they are so comfortable. Lovely clean and well equipped rooms with coffee machine and milk frother too. Loved it! Thank you

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebekah M
Maureen G, Owner at The Charles Robbins, responded to this review

Thank you Rebekah. Reviews are important - especially as we are so small and word of mouth responses are the very best!! Maureen

Berlin
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

You probably wouldn't expect such high level of accommodation standard in a small place like George Town. But Maureen and Raj have really equipped their rooms with all modern amenities. The whole complex is right on the waters edge in George Town, opposite Woollies and probably best described as a boutique motel with just a handful of units around a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TouringCyclists
Maureen G, Owner at The Charles Robbins, responded to this review

Sadly we cannot provide our guests with views of the Tamar from their suites. But we try extremely hard to make up for that by offering the very best in quality, service and value for money. Thank you for your review and we hope you have a safe return to Europe. Maureen

Kewdale, Australia
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

This place is brilliant!! Raj and Maureen are so welcoming it was if we had stayed there a dozen times before. We stayed in the Cumberland Suite and it was fit for a king! It had everything we could possibly need and was very quiet and private, perfect for a romantic get away! Highly recommend, I know we will definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richo0506
M G, Owner at The Charles Robbins, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review. It's so good to know you found somewhere you liked so much on your return "home". The privacy, quietness, comfort and security that The Charles Robbins offers are all much valued by our guests. We look forward to your return to George Town. Maureen

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

This is a charming little botique place. We were in the Tom Thumb cottage - the romantic one and it definitely is romantic. Spa tub, soft comfortable bed, fake fireplace for when it's cold (and aircon, of course), kitchennete with all essentials and more, lazy boys and big screen TV with some dvds, just everything you may need. Spotless clean...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pavel_11111
M G, Owner at The Charles Robbins, responded to this review

And we'd be delighted to have you return!! Thank you for taking great care of your suite and for the lovely review. Raj mentioned that as you left you said you were sorry you had only stayed for one night. We are delighted when our guests feel they did not have long enough to explore all that their suite offers...

Innisfail, Australia
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

The Charles Robbins is in a tucked away corner of eastern Tasmania. This suite style boutique motel is a paradise second to none. The suites are fully self contained with exquisite furnishings and beautiful surrounds. The hosts, Raj and Maureen, are attentive but not intrusive. They even brought over Haigh's drinking chocolate to welcome us on our first night in....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracey S
Maureen G, Owner at The Charles Robbins, responded to this review

Thank you so much for a wonderful response. We also think George Town and its surrounds has much to offer visitors, corporate travellers and tourists and that it is much under-valued as an area worth visiting. We wish you all the best for 2017. Maureen

port macquarie
Reviewed 11 December 2016

Accomodation at the Charles Robbins was organised by my organisation to stay whilst I was contracted to work at the local Hospital for two weeks. Maureen and Raj are wonderful people, and, immediately I felt comfortable and very relaxed, not only due to the 5 star accommodation but knowing they were close by and available at any time. Such a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PortMacquarieKez
Maureen G, Owner at The Charles Robbins, responded to this review

Thank you K for your lovely review. It was such a great pleasure to meet you and we do wish you well in your future work assignments - especially the very next one!! I'm so pleased we made time to sit and chat! Keep well and we really hope you'll keep in touch with us - don't forget our email...

Burnie
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Excellent location. We stayed in the Tom Thumb room. Had everything we could possibly need for our overnight stay. Would also be fantastic as a base to visit wineries, etc. We were greeted on arrival by Raj who made sure we had everything we needed and showed us where everything was and how to operate tv, spa, etc. Room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank diannam570
Maureen G, Owner at The Charles Robbins, responded to this review

Thank you Dianna for your lovely review. We totally agree and believe that our accommodation makes an excellent base for winery tours, trips around the Tamar, quick joints into Launceston and a great location for relaxing and getting away from it all! Thank you also for your recommendation to friends to visit/stay at The Charles Robbins. We certainly look forward...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

My wife and I where on tour of Tasmania on of motorcycle. The crossing of Bass Strait was not the best to say the least,due to very bad weather and we didn't get much sleep We travelled from Devonport to Georgetown had lunch at one of the local hotels ,being tried from the previous night we looked for some local...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lozza9965
Maureen G, Owner at The Charles Robbins, responded to this review

What an unexpected surprise to have you come to stay at The Charles Robbins after we had all travelled over on the Spirit the night before!! (And yes the water was memorably rough!!) It was lovely to meet you and Thank You for your great review. We'd love to have you visit again but that's a long way to ride!!...

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.1 km away
Comfort Inn The Pier
Comfort Inn The Pier
#3 of 4 in George Town
47 reviews
39.6 km away
Quality Hotel Gateway
Quality Hotel Gateway
#1 of 5 in Devonport
447 reviews
0.4 km away
Peppers York Cove
Peppers York Cove
#1 of 4 in George Town
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Tamar Cove Motel
Tamar Cove Motel
#2 of 2 in Beauty Point
50 reviews
2.8 km away
Low Head Tourist Park
Low Head Tourist Park
#1 of 6 in Low Head
66 reviews
30.5 km away
Aspect Tamar Valley Resort
Aspect Tamar Valley Resort
#1 of 1 in Grindelwald
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Spa
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about The Charles Robbins

Address: 3 Charles Robbins Pl, George Town, Tasmania 7253, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > George Town
Price Range: RM459 - RM1,086 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Charles Robbins 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Charles Robbins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Charles Robbins staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Even though there is not a gym as such exercise equipment is avialable in some rooms The location is right near eateries.”
 of 5 bubbles PortMacquarieKez, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Very big with all amenities”
 of 5 bubbles Pier024, 7 Feb 2016 | Read review
“The Texal Suite facing the Tamar River if it's available.”
 of 5 bubbles HAPPYAUSIE, 23 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Units have different facilities eg one has a large spa bath, another has a sauna in the bathroom . Ask for what options are available”
 of 5 bubbles M462VGjohnk, 9 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Our room, near to the gate, should be avoided.”
 of 5 bubbles 400richardu, 25 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5