We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Art Series - The Cullen

0.5 km from Prahran centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
164 Commercial Rd, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia
Special Offer
BOOK DIRECT SAVE FROM 20%
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,018 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Art Series - The Cullen
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,005: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 21 June 2014

55db average noise level peaking up to 80db inside room with windows and curtains closed until 3 am. Night manager agrees its a regular complaint that guests cannot sleep because of noise from the bar across the road in particular rooms. Spoke directly to hotel prior to booking. Not warned. It's theft renting this room out for any purpose other...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank nopenname
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

nopenname, My sincerest apologies for the noise you experienced during your stay with us. While we try and control most factors of our guests stay sometimes it is out of our control. I have been in meetings with surrounding businesses to ensure that noise levels are kept in check. From what I understand you were offered a discount on check...

Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Had such a pleasant trip here with my partner Was a pleasant and easy check in Beautiful beds Presentation was perfect Easy access to work in the morning as we were on a business trip And great value for money

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Zoe K
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Hi Zoe K! Thanks so much for reviewing! The team will be thrilled with your feedback! I look forward to welcoming you back very soon! Ben

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed two nights at The Cullen. I found the staff cheerful and helpful at all times - nothing was too much trouble. The room is a great deal of fun. When I booked on line I was asked if I wanted an upgrade at a discount and when I booked in they offered an upgrade as well - for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Hi Ann S, Thank you for taking time to review. I'm so happy to hear that you were looked after. The hotels location is in quite a vibrant area so noise is sometimes a factor but it looks like you enjoyed yourself none the less. Car parking is quite limited but we will always do our best to try and...

Adelaide
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Just stayed for a girls weekend. The best hotel I have ever stayed in, in Australia. Fabulous service from the moment we walked in to when we left. Gabby was brilliant, nothing was too much trouble. Great cafe Gramercy. Perfect location, close to funky shops and transport. Will definitely be back!! And the beds and pillows are the BEST!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MardiZ
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

MardiZ! Thank you so much for telling us about your stay! Gaby is one of the best team members we have (but they are all excellent!) You can also buy the beds and pillows from our website, if you wanted to take a little bit of the Art Series home with you! I look forward to welcoming you back very...

Adelaide
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just had a girls weekend and stayed here. From walking in to the hotel to leaving the experience was amazing. Gabby on reception was so friendly and amazingly helpful with heaps of suggestions. She's a real star! All of the staff were lovely and chatted when you bumped into them. The food in the restaurant was really good with fantastic...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JudithSAdelaide
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Hi Judith! Thanks for telling us about your recent experience at the hotel. by the sounds of it the girls weekend was a hit!! We can wait to have you back soon! Ben

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This hotel offers funky design and beautifully formed rooms which look exactly the same as the promotional photos. Our room was smaller than Australian average but very well set out. Others we saw looked very small (european style), so suggest going for a larger room if you have luggage, kids etc Ideal place to stay if you don't want to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank damo101
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Hello Damo101, Thank you very much for sharing your experience on your recent stay with us at the Cullen. While we try and meet all guest requests in regards to car parking the space is quite limited in our underground car park so sometimes we can not accommodate everyone. As we are a small boutique hotel our front desk staff...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights on a weekend trip to Melbourne. We loved the modern features of the hotel and great artworks throughout the property. Rooms were really spacious and modern, with full kitchenettes. Location was also great, within walking distance of Chapel Street and a short tram ride into the city.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dames_and_Cole
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Dames_and_Cole, Thank you very much for letting us know about your stay. Im trilled to read how much you enjoyed it. I look forward to welcoming you back very soon! Ben

Orange County, California
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed here with a group of mates when attending the Caulfield Cup Races and we had an amazing stay. The service from the front desk was excellent, rooms were modern and classy. Great view of Melbourne CBD. Loved that it was surrounded by such a large array of restaurants, bars and of course shops!! Love all the extra touches throughout...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brendan88
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Brendan88, Thanks for letting us know about your stay! We must be doing something right if your stay is still remembered fondly. There is nothing like Melbourne during spring racing! I hope to see you and your friends again this year for the next round of Spring Carnival! Ben

Castle Hill, Australia
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I travel regularly to Melbourne and stay at The Cullen whenever I can. The rooms are great, comfortable beds, and generally very quiet. The staff here are always friendly and happy to help. The restaurant is also great ( Gramercy) Yes the artwork is quirky, but it only adds to the ambience of the hotel. I would highly recommend this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil B
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Neil B, Thanks for posting your review on your recent stay at the Cullen, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. I pride myself on the team we have here and I am happy to hear they we able to help where ever they could. I look forward to your return. Ben

perth
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Great hotel in a great location. Rooms are large and new, with twin tv's and a kitchen area in the twin share rooms. Would definitely stay here again if needed to be in the area. Melbourne tram stops just out the door and about a 30 min trip to the city. Staff were friendly and helpful right throughout the complex...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jackster11
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Jackster11, Thank you for letting us now about your stay. I am glad you enjoyed it and happy to pass on your feedback to Hu-Tong. The team will be trilled to hear about how they were helpful throughout your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Ben

425 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (265)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (75)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
0:50
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (129)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (121)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
Growler Penthouse (42)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prahran
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#22 of 156 in Melbourne
1,566 reviews
Art Series - The Blackman
#17 of 156 in Melbourne
1,947 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 156 in Melbourne
5,079 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 156 in Melbourne
2,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in Prahran, Melbourne, The Cullen is inspired by Adam Cullen. Daring and unique, The Cullen features lashings of original artwork and prints by Australia’s most exciting contemporary artist, Adam Cullen.Sleep soundly in your Art Series Signature bed, then block out the morning or wake up to natural light and vibrant energy of Cullen works. Prepare breakfast using in room kitchenette facilities, spectacular views of Melbourne CBD, underground parking, state of the art gymnasium and two exciting restaurants ... more   less 

Additional Information about Art Series - The Cullen

Address: 164 Commercial Rd, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Prahran
Price Range: RM564 - RM1,159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Cullen 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Art Series - The Cullen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Cullen Hotel Melbourne
Art Series - The Cullen Prahran, Greater Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Art Series - The Cullen staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Art Series - The Cullen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I like a higher room to get away from the street noise - essential for me when in Melbourne, as I find the trams loud.”
 of 5 bubbles lukehP678ZT, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are well positioned”
 of 5 bubbles Killara_Lodge, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“On Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights the Emerson nightclub can be a bit loud so ask for rooms on the other side of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles misspuss57, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing rear are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles Fussy662016, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“In the heart of the action”
 of 5 bubbles NW5454, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5