We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ibis Budget Newcastle

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Ibis Budget Newcastle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

147 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Ibis Budget Newcastle
See the most recent reviews
Showing 144: English reviews
Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I stayed at the Ibis as a quick stopover on the way to Brisbane. The room was very cheap ($65 for one night) and it was definitely well priced as I wouldn't have been happy paying anymore than that for the room. The room was tiny with a bed, sink in the corner and the toilet/shower in a cupboard (kind...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheree W
IbisBudgetManagement, General Manager at Ibis Budget Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate you letting us know about your stay. We want to thank you for providing honest and positive feedback that we can share with our staff. We know its not necessarily for everyone but we are glad it served its purpose in your case. We look forward to serving you again in...

Wagga Wagga
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The motel is typical Ibis Budget - cheap but not nasty. Very clean and well located. Bed was comfortable. My only real criticism is the road noise. I was given a room on the road side and fronted a very busy intersection. The glass does nothing to dampen the noise although it does calm down a bit after about 10...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GarryWagga
IbisBudgetManagement, General Manager at Ibis Budget Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive feedback you provided us, we appreciate the time you have taken to let us know about your stay. We were very pleased to hear that you were happy with the cleanliness of the hotel and that it suited your needs. We have heard by a number of guests that the road noise can...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The room felt like a hospital ward. Very cold. Hard "hospital" floors. Very cramped, even a hospital has a basin in a separate room. When booking, the site did not state that the Fridge was communal!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pierre J
IbisBudgetManagement, General Manager at Ibis Budget Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback and we appreciate the time you have taken to let us know regarding your stay. We apologise that our hotel/accommodation did not suit your needs, we realise our accommodation is slightly unconventional with our newly renovated rooms only completed in 2013 however we would like to mention that we have many other great...

NSW Australia
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed here on our way up the coast as a late night stop over. Arrived around 9.00pm and keen just to put the head down for a long trip to Tweed Heads the next day. Check in was quick as it was pre-booked, although first room we were allocated had water all over the floor but the next room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FamilyHay
IbisBudgetManagement, General Manager at Ibis Budget Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for offering your valued feedback and appreciate that you shared some positive feedback which we will share with our staff. We apologise for your first room and glad we were able to get you moved somewhere more appropriate. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future. Kind regards, General Manager

Coffs Harbour, Australia
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This hotel is only a short distance off the Sydney/Newcastle freeway and is very easy to find. It is on the edge of Newcastle, and not in the city centre. It is a budget hotel. There isnt anything flash about it. The room is not large, however it does not feel claustrophobic. The bathroom is quite small, and we noted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dingoh
IbisBudgetManagement, General Manager at Ibis Budget Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your kind feedback regarding your stay, we love when we are able to share with our staff great news about guests stay with us and we will definitely be sharing yours with them. We appreciate you taking the time to offer your positive feedback and look forward to having you stay with us...

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I specifically booked a room with twin beds for my 16 year old son and me. On arrival, I paid and then found the room had a double bed with a bunk above it. . Because of my son's medical condition, he needs a bedside table for his medication etc. so he couldn't sleep in the bunk; he couldn't sleep...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cally P
IbisBudgetManagement, General Manager at Ibis Budget Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for responding and providing us with your feedback regarding your stay. I have checked your booking and we apologise that there was confusion regarding the room type I can see that you booked a different room however requested a twin. We always do what we can to ensure that our guests are catered for and depending...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 27 March 2014

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank therealemmalord
IbisBudgetManagement, General Manager at Ibis Budget Newcastle, responded to this review

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 27 March 2014

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Zoe S
IbisBudgetManagement, General Manager at Ibis Budget Newcastle, responded to this review

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Now this place is good for the price...The rooms are clean, the beds comfy and we were able to get 2 rooms for less than the price of 1 in many other places. There are vending machines for food if you need it. At this price it is good for an overnight stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richard S
IbisBudgetManagement, General Manager at Ibis Budget Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your email and taking the time to communicate with us regarding your stay. We appreciate your kind words that you used to describe your stay we will definitely be passing this on to our staff as they enjoy hearing that guests are leaving happy! We look foward to seeing you again in the future! Kind...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Tiny frugal and more like a prison cell than a hotel room. Public coffee in a styrofoam cup only till 7pm. Noisy road with bars on the window. I have never stayed in anything like it in my long life. I would never stay but booking.com had it on their site-should I not trust them again

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Louise G
IbisBudgetManagement, General Manager at Ibis Budget Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for providing your genuine feedback to us, we appreciate guests taking the time to let us know about their stay. We apologise that our hotel did not provide the facilities that you were after and therefore left you unsatisfied with your stay. We would love to mention that Accor Hotels have many other great hotels in...

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wallsend
6.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International
7.0 km away
The Premier Hotel
The Premier Hotel
#14 of 22 in Newcastle
38 reviews
6.6 km away
Warners at the Bay
Warners at the Bay
#2 of 2 in Warners Bay
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Mercure Charlestown
Mercure Charlestown
#2 of 3 in Charlestown
343 reviews
4.9 km away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#6 of 22 in Newcastle
313 reviews
9.4 km away
Ibis Newcastle
Ibis Newcastle
#8 of 22 in Newcastle
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
ibis Budget Newcastle is located clost to John Hunter Hospital, Hunter Ice Skating Arena, Hunter Stadium, Newcastle University and Newcastle Entertainment Centre and much more. Hotel check in is available 24 hours. Reception is open from 7am to 10am and from midday to 10pm. The Hotel offers many different room types suitable for everyone. We also offer a continental breakfast daily. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Newcastle

Address: Corner of Link And Lakes Roads 3-5 Thomas St, Wallsend, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2287, Australia (Formerly Formule 1)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Wallsend
Price Range: RM200 - RM320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Budget Newcastle 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, ACCOR, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Budget Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ibis Budget Newcastle staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Ibis Budget Newcastle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If there is only the two of you try for a room without the bunk beds as it will seem more spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles kathryns568, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ground Floor close to Reception was great”
 of 5 bubbles JP777777, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Away from the highway side.”
 of 5 bubbles CptJules1985, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Comfy beds”
 of 5 bubbles kathyc166, 7 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask for one off the street if some light traffic noise might be disruptive.”
 of 5 bubbles EF982, 6 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay