We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Cricketers

Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

612 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 608: English reviews
Start your review of The Cricketers
 Click to rate
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Went for a late Sunday family pub meal in this pub, made famous for Jamie Olivers family running the place and where he is supposed to have learn his Trade. Arrived at the designated time and stood ignored at the bar by the staff, finally asked a passing waitress if a table at the entrance to the restaurant was for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roger A
Cambridge UK
Reviewed 1 week ago

So – here’s a loooong overdue thank-you to all the staff at The Cricketers - my first visit there was over 30 years ago, then a long gap, then became a regular 6 years ago when we moved to a village about 20 mins away. For me & the missus it’s a top Summer venue, probably the best terrace this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FredJonesUK
Suzy B, PA at The Cricketers, responded to this review

WOW!!! Thank you so very much from all the staff for such a fabulous review!

suffolk
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have visited 'the cricketers ' at clavering several times over the years and it has usually been a treat. We met friends there for lunch yesterday and could not have been more disappointed. The person serving our table was brusque to say the least- she did not ask if we were enjoying our meal...or if everything was ok for...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jaypeasuffolk
Suzy B, PA at The Cricketers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are very sorry you were disappointed with your visit. Our customers are extremely important to us and, if you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to telephone us.

Brentwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 1 night last weekend for our anniversary. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room was clean, tidy and had all the necessary amenities. We had dinner and then breakfast the following morning. The food is delicious with good sized portions. Even if you don't stay here you must try their food, it's extremely good!! We have visited a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank tony c
London
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Professional and pleasant staff. Our room cost £95 for bed & breakfast or £145 for dinner, bed & breakfast for 2 people so good value, especially if you want to eat steak and 3 courses for dinner. If not take the B & B option but make sure you eat there, good quality produce cooked into tasty generous portions of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LadyGadabout
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Sometimes we read reviews like the recent one "expectations not quite met" and wonder if Hanna M (recent guest) fell down a drain hole and dreamed her stay at the Cricketers !!!!...We have just stayed for the "Special" evening where the Cricketers provide a three course meal and breakfast with the overnight stay, we stayed across the road where Hanna...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank richardsmith878
Suzy B, PA at The Cricketers, responded to this review

Richard & Lesley, thank you SO MUCH for taking the time to post such a fantastic review! You have been SO complimentary for which we sincerely thank you!

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I visited as a getaway from London with my partner and I hate to say we were a little disappointed. To start with, the description of the hotel online as a delightful little inn was not what we were met with when we checked in and were shown a room across the road in a soulless bungalow type building. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Hannah M
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Before our first visit to The Cricketers on a dinner/room/breakfast deal my wife and I anticipated a heavy reliance on trading off of the Jamie Oliver name resulting in premium pricing but decent pub food and an OK room. How wrong we were! There is almost no indication that the place has any connection with Jamie, it was a very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steve L
Great Yarmouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It looks like a pub but behaves like a hotel, but none of the rooms is in the main building. The menu is extensive but a little too "nouveau cuisine" for my taste, the prices reflecting their parenting Jamie Oliver rather than the actual value of the food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reuben D
South West England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stopped here for drink at lunch time and returned for dinner in the evening. We didn't stay here overnight. Good menu choice and great atmosphere. Place was buzzing at lunchtime and evening. Staff offered good service. Reasonably priced for the quality of food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine029

148 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (135)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clavering
4.1 km away
The Cricketers' Arms
The Cricketers' Arms
#2 of 3 in Saffron Walden
250 reviews
10.5 km away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
171 reviews
8.0 km away
The Saffron Hotel
The Saffron Hotel
#3 of 3 in Saffron Walden
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 km away
Little Hallingbury Mill
Little Hallingbury Mill
#1 of 1 in Little Hallingbury
272 reviews
28.3 km away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 36 in Cambridge
1,134 reviews
25.4 km away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A delightful 16th-century English country inn with award-winning food and accommodation, roaring log fires, beamed ceilings, well-kept cask ales and a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Seasonal menu choices are offered every day on our menu and in addition to these choices, we offer lots of lovely daily 'Specials.' We include lots of fresh fish, home made pasta and always a roast on a Sunday. You can enjoy a snack, two course or a full three course meal in relaxed and cosy surroundings. The rooms are individually decorated and furnished to a high standard, in a cottage or contemporary style. All rooms have the facilities of a modern hotel room, including free wireless internet access, and all at a reasonable price. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Cricketers

Address: Wicken Road, Clavering, Saffron Walden CB11 4QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Saffron Walden > Clavering
Price Range: RM379 - RM385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cricketers 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Cricketers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cricketers Hotel Clavering
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Cricketers staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
mallorca

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Cricketers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Living on past glories.”
jaypeasuffolk, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Have stayed twice and both rooms were lovely as we expect all rooms are...”
richardsmith878, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“Don't bother if your even a minute late, they are not interested”
Twoveggies, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“For the less mobile, make the staff aware when booking because some rooms are across the road.”
294pamd, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are pretty. I already stayed in 2 different ones”
633gaellee, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
LateRooms.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates