We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

895 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 889: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2015 via mobile

The hotel had two weddings on the day we stayed and our room was not very well sound proofed so could hear music until rather late. The room was ok petite but clean. The hotel is located conveniently near the motorway and so worked for us to stay the night before an event nearby. I wouldn't suggest this is a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Katie R
Marks Tey H, Manager at BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Katie, Thank you for your review and I am very pleased that you had the opportunity yo use our pool . We always like to think we are great value and I am very happy that you found the same , I hope that you might visit us again in the near future. Yours sincerely, Daniel.

Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2015

Visited Saturday evening for a friend's wedding reception. From the build up and hype I expected it to be amazing . The room was small with a postage stamp size dance floor. The buffet was difficult to get to and the room was far to warm to be comfortable. The bar was in another part off the hotel and catered...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ifachef
Marks Tey H, Manager at BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review and I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. the room you attended was the correct size that was requested from the bride and groom, we always have great feed back from our weddings & on the morning after the bride & groom left leaving us with great reviews Yours sincerely,...

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2015

Stayed for one night in June, clean rooms, hearty buffet breakfast and lovely staff. The hotel was busy when I stayed, but I was still made to feel special and would recommend a stay here to anyone. Easy access to A12. Be careful,with postcode and satnav as it might leave you on the A12.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teddy B
Marks Tey H, Manager at BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Teddy, Thank you for your delightful review! I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and especially that the team made you feel special Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Yours sincerely, Daniel.

Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2015

The room and surrounding area was fine staff friendly and helpful,the rooms comfortable with plenty space lovely to have two chairs to sit on to watch T.V.we had tea and coffee facilities replaced each day along with clean towels well satisfied.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank june j
Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2015

We stayed here because we were attending a wedding a few miles away. It is literally right next to the A12 so it’s really easy to get to and surprisingly there is no noise from the traffic so that was great. The hotel inside is a little dated but it’s ok and the rooms are the same. We used the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christopher W
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2015

We arrived on 24th August for 4 nights. The room was comfortable and clean, the bathroom was quite big. Breakfast was served from 6.30 to 10.30 we usually went in between 8 and 8.30 the food was ok but not over hot, we had to wait for the tea and coffee the waitress served in jugs on one occasion I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pauline J
Brighton
Reviewed 30 August 2015

This is not a beautiful hotel and our room was facing the very busy main road which was noisy day and night. But it is comfortable, clean, car parking is easy, the food is fine and the staff genuinely nice and helpful. There's a decent pool and a wee health spa offering manicures and massages and the like. It was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CleoMagna
uk ish
Reviewed 27 August 2015 via mobile

We've just returned from a lovely 5 day trip away around constable country staying at this hotel. Hotel is very nice, rooms are well appointed and food is very good. However, having stayed in many hotels with groups the service and standard of service appears to be very poor. As part of a group our meals were pre ordered in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank workingholidayUkIsh
Reviewed 27 August 2015 via mobile

The hotel its self was great. The only problem was when we arrived, we were told our rooms wouldn't be ready till 4pm and check in was 2pm. We got checked in at 4pm and they said we could check out at 12pm. The receptionists were lovely and very helpful. The rooms were great and had a fantastic night at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine W
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2015

My wife and I stayed here on a GB Tours 5 day holiday. Situated on a busy road but set well back so that road noise was not a problem. Our room was well appointed with tea making facilities and TV, the beds were comfortable plus 2 easy chairs and a table. The bathroom was very good and roomy. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul H

189 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (114)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (75)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marks Tey
2.7 km away
Holiday Inn Colchester
Holiday Inn Colchester
#1 of 1 in Eight Ash Green
696 reviews
13.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
5.7 km away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester
7.4 km away
The North Hill Hotel
The North Hill Hotel
#7 of 24 in Colchester
236 reviews
7.9 km away
Essex Golf & Country Club
Essex Golf & Country Club
#1 of 2 in Earls Colne
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A delightful hotel and leisure club situated on the outskirts of Britain's oldest recorded town. The BEST WESTERN Marks Tey provides 110 comfortable bedrooms, a range of meeting and events rooms able to accommodate up to 200 people, The Brasserie Restaurant, Lounge & Bar, and extensive leisure club facilities including indoor pool, hair & beauty salon, tennis courts, steam room, sauna and air conditioned gym. Free wifi and parking are available for guests. Within easy reach of Colchester Zoo, Witham, Tiptree, Coggeshall and the Eastways, and Braintree Business Parks, the BEST WESTERN Marks Tey is the ideal choice for business and leisure travellers looking for a hotel in Colchester near to the A12 and Marks Tey railway station. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel

Address: London Road, Marks Tey, Colchester CO6 1DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Marks Tey
Price Range: RM311 - RM456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colchester
Colchester Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Derbyshire, United Kingdom

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dont use the car park unless you want to pay an additional £100!”
 of 5 bubbles thurgodebb, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Parking penalties”
 of 5 bubbles davisfamily01, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The executive rooms are spacious and extremely comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles Akita4England, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Just avoid this hotel altogether”
 of 5 bubbles jeffcV1512VZ, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“218 was good for us, overlooking the main entrance”
 of 5 bubbles brianc890, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5