Mama Shelter Prague

Traveller (445)
Room & Suite (124)
Mama Shelter Prague
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

RM 323
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#146 of 647 hotels in Prague
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Travellers' Choice
When you'll arrive in Prague, you won't even know where to start. You'll want to wander up every crooked cobbled street, soak in the architecture of the St. Vitus Cathedral, study each saintly face along the 800-year-old Charles Bridge, eat all the knedlíky, drink all the pivo, write your name on the Lennon Wall, or chase Prague’s magic deep into the night. Mama Shelter Prague is much more than just a mini-fridge and a king-sized bed. It is a sanctuary open to all, in the middle of this vibrant city. Enjoy a delicious homemade meal or pizza, made by Mama with love, or finish the day with an original cocktail on the terrace. Finally, settle down in one of the 238 design rooms, each fitted with 5-star bedding, to fully rest from your day of exploring. The bank card used to guarantee the booking or make the prepayment will be requested at check-in.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Patio
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
ATM on site
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Czech

Location

Veletrzni 1502/20, Prague 170 00 Czech Republic
Name/address in local language
417Reviews37Q+A20Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 235
  • 110
  • 44
  • 17
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
rosieml wrote a review Feb 2023
Acton, MA75 contributions24 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mama Shelter is a quirky, funky, fun place to stay. The food is good and the drinks are too. If you want to hang out you can shoot pool, play foosball, or listen to a DJ on the weekends. Convenient to a mall (one block) and the tram. Also near good restaurants and coffee shops and a museum directly across the street.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Great view from the 9th floor. Quiet too.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
tomflan93 wrote a review Feb 2020
Manchester, United Kingdom29 contributions48 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I recently visited Prague with several friends and most of us stayed at mama shelter.

The hotel was absolutely brilliant, from the contact I’d had with them beforehand to arrange the airport transfers, to the comfort and cleanliness of the rooms, to the bar and reception area. I couldn’t fault it!

The hotel is around 5-10 mins by tram from the old town, or a 20 min walk, however this is reflected in the price, outstanding value for money considering the quality of this hotel, you certainly wouldn’t find anything this good for this price in the centre!

Would definitely return, fantastic stay!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chris Dobson, General Manager at Mama Shelter Prague
Responded 26 Feb 2020
Dear tomflan93, Wow ! thank you so much for your amazing comments, we are all over the moon that you enjoyed all aspects of our cool Mama Shelter, Can't wait to see you and your friends back with us very soon, Mama Loves You !
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rachael A wrote a review Jan 2020
44 contributions44 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely, quirky, modern and stylish hotel in a nice location in Prague. There is a tram station literally across the road from the hotel, and the staff were really helpful in showing us how to use it/how to get tickets etc. Then it was a couple of stops into old town!
The hotel was modern and clean and very stylish. Rooms were a good size and clean, perfect for city break. I went with my best friend for a girly long weekend for the xmas markets and was perfect hotel for that. Hotel even had free movies which were fairly new which was a good touch.
There is also a lovely restaurant bar with a great outside beer garden which would be great if i was to return in the summer months.

Overall, great stay, clean/modern hotel, great location.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ChrisD8096, General Manager at Mama Shelter Prague
Responded 26 Jan 2020
Dear Rachael, Thank you for your great comments, we are so pleased you found our locatian ideal for getting around our historical city, super to hear you enjoyed our Mama and all we haveto offer, lopoking forward to seeing in Summer for some cooling cocktails on our terrace, Mama Loves You !
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lucy K wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I was quite disappointed with my stay. I visited the hotel with my boyfriend and my dog. To my surprise, even if you pay 150 eur per night (which is a lot for a hotel that was more 3 stars than 4 stars) you have to pay a fee 10 eur per night for the dog. For a 2 kg dog such a price is inacceptable. The cleaning staff has to vacuum the floor always, so any argument that the dog leaves his hairs behind is not valid! Also if you are a Czech visitor and you can't speak English you should not choose this hotel because apparently the receptionists cannot speak Czech. Which is not acceptable neither. I do not think that it is even legal to do a service without a person who speaks Czech in the Czech Republic. The breakfast was poor (the staff didn't even know which time the breakfast ends), the AC was impossible to manipulate (you were cold or too hot, but anything in the middle) and it was doing a lot of noise too. Next time I will choose another hotel because for the price you pay, you do not really receive the adequate service.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Vojtech Slesinger, Guest Services / Front Office at Mama Shelter Prague
Responded 22 Aug 2022
Dear Lucy K, I appreciate your time taken to give us your feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. I am truly sorry not to meet your expectations. Our hotel meets all the official criteria to be a 4 stars hotel. Room prices are variable based on the occupancy and on the season in Prague. Information regarding extra charge for the dog is available on our website and on the other bookings websites as well. It is a standart surcharge in the hotels all arround the world. Let me kindly inform you that there is always (during the night shift and day shift as well ) at least one Czech speaking employee at our reception and that your assumption regarding legality is not accurate. I am sorry to read you had a problem with the A/C during your stay however, I am pretty sure if you would inform our reception staff, they would be more than happy to send a technician to your room or to change your room to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Let me thank you once againg for your review and I hope you had a nice time in Prague. Mama loves you! Tomáš Dikasz Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DCO wrote a review Aug 2022
Berlin, Germany65 contributions53 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I’ve been to this hotel twice a year since it’s opened. I’ve always had a good moment and left good reviews. I always go to Mama Shelter when there’s one in town.m but this year I have no words for what I’ve seen.

First, every morning I was waken up by the house keeping knocking at my door.

Second the bar staff was incredibly unfriendly and dishonest.

Third the breakfast was below all experiences I’ve had there so far. Especially the Sunday.

To finish, you have to pay in advance everything now, if you show up unannounced at the breakfast you have to queue and pay. If you forget your credit card on the room you have to go pick it, you cannot add it to your room as it was the case before and despite your history in the hotel with all paid invoice.

The family (at home) spirit is gone.

I don’t think I will return.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Vojtech Slesinger, Guest Services / Front Office at Mama Shelter Prague
Responded 22 Aug 2022
Dear GintoQuenn, Thank you very much for your recent stay and your feedback. It is really nice to read that you like Mama Shelter hotels all arround the world, therefore I am sorry to read that it did not meet your criteria this time. Let me kindly inform you that there is a „do not disturb“ sign in all of our rooms, which you can hang on the door handle and our houskeeping staff won´t disturb you by knocking. We are currently working on the restucturalization within our staff, so please accept my sincerely apology if you experienced some unfriendly approach or dishonest. In terms of breakfast, you can always choose an option of pre-authorization of you credit/ debit card upon check- in for possibility of extra charges and then our colleeagues from breakfast will be more than happy to charge it to your room bill. If you did not choose this option and my colleagues from breakfast saw information „ no credit“ they just did ther job and kindly asked you for the payment on the spot, as well as other hotels do. Thank you for your understanding and I hope you had a nice time in Prague. Mama loves you! Tomáš Dikasz Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mojmir B wrote a review Jun 2023
Bratislava, Slovakia488 contributions6,446 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My review is going to be written in two lines.
First one is focused on the hotel itself. If I had not experienced a wedding banquet organized by the hotel within my stay there, I would have given five stars. Hotel itself is well located, very comfortable, atmosphere within is really open minded, staff is polite and friendly. Breakfast served is of a very good quality. Its restaurant serves tasty dishes like pizza, burgers, steaks and some other stuff which are reasonably priced.
Second line of my review is about the way they organized the wedding banquet ordered there … One would await that with a four star hotel everything goes smoothly and receives its’ services in awaited quality. However, to my surprise (unfortunately not in a positive meaning), this did not happen. I am not going to write each detail I was not satisfied with, but have a lot of reservations. The two from lots I will mention are unprepared wedding tables despite they had been priorly informed of an exact hour of our arrival to the hotel from the wedding ceremony. The other one is that some of the dishes served were quite cold. These, so as others shortcomings, indeed annoyed most of the guests of this, otherwise very beautiful, evening.
To sum up, I can recommend this hotel to most of the tourists who are seeking a good accomodation at a reasonable price when in Prague.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tomáš Dikasz, Other at Mama Shelter Prague
Responded 6 Jul 2023
Dear Mojmirb, Thank you for sharing your experience and providing feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. We greatly appreciate your kind words about our well-located property, comfortable rooms, friendly staff, and the quality of our breakfast. We take pride in creating a welcoming and open-minded atmosphere for our guests. We would like to address your concerns regarding the wedding banquet you experienced during your stay. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused by the unprepared wedding tables and the temperature of some dishes. We understand that these shortcomings were not up to the expected standards and that they affected the overall enjoyment of the evening for you and other guests. We would like to mention that our Food and Beverage Director personally reached out to the bride after the event. Together, they worked towards finding a solution that would leave both sides satisfied. We regret that this information was not included in your review, as we believe it demonstrates our commitment to addressing any issues that arise and ensuring guest satisfaction. While we acknowledge the shortcomings you mentioned, we are grateful for your recommendation of our hotel to tourists seeking good accommodation at a reasonable price in Prague. We will take your feedback into consideration and continue striving to improve our services. Thank you again for your valuable feedback, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, providing you with an exceptional experience that meets and exceeds your expectations. Mama loves you! Tomáš Dikasz Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Richard J wrote a review Feb 2020
Prague, Czech Republic68 contributions54 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
A mush mash of a menu that should be simple to deliver but the cooks just seem to have little or no clue . Maybe they worked in other hotel kitchens but for sure , never in a good restaurant . The burger for instance an over compressed mediocre piece of beef shoved into a bun full of mushy lettuce and some tasteless mayonnaise .

The spring rolls made of red cabbage ; I challenge anyone to manage to eat more than one of them .... just truly awful
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ChrisD8096, General Manager at Mama Shelter Prague
Responded 10 Feb 2020
Dear Richard J Thank you for sharing your comments with us regarding your recent visit, I am so sorry to read that you did not enjoy our cheese and bacon burgers, this is one of our most popular dish's, the spring rolls are part of our sharing concept and is designed for two or more people sharing, I do hope you return and try more of our menu, Mama Loves You !
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Konstantinos P wrote a review Aug 2022
Larissa, Greece27 contributions21 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I can't praise this hotel enough. The only thing i can think of that wasn't ideal was that the location of the hotel wasn't exactly close to old Town. It wasn't far but for some people that can be a deal breaker. Now.... For all the other things... The hotel has a huge outdoor parking that can be a huge plus for someone arriving by car or even an rv. The vibe that this establishment has its fantastic. Energetic, funky, makes you feel welcome and gets an extra positive impact on your psychology. The room was extra clean an huge and the amenities was reat at quality and at quantity. Breakfast was very good and many choices to make. Great terrace either for breakfast either for drinking or dinner at night. The staff was always with a smile on their face and always trying to help you and make you feel welcome.
Taht was an excellent stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Always keep in mind that stores and choices for dinner are limited after 21:00 so make your plans.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Szymon K wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I’ve been staying in many hotels over the years and with great pleasure I say that Mama Shelter Prague is the first hotel that did not dissapoint me in any aspect and actually came out better than expected.

The crew is by far the most helpful and most polite hotel workers I’ve met. The bar is great. Bartender shurely knows his way around the bottles. It’s a pleasant way to spend the evening. And in the morning there is breakfast. Usually I don’t enjoy buffet but Mama knows how to make it work. Food was tasty and fresh. I recommend the pancakes especially. Oh and they make their own bread.

Rooms are clean and smart. The bedding is amazing. Prague can be a very exhausting place but each morning I’ve woke up fully charged.

Last but not least, Mama Shelter did great job furniting the place. Designers menaged to put everything together beautyfully. Common spaces are modern but cosy. I think they did a great job designing everything so that it feels authenthic yet stays in harmony with Parkhotel’s history.

Mama Shelter Prague is in Holesovice district and it’s a great area. Lots of bars and restaurants and it’s only few tram stops from the historic centre of Prague.

If you want to explore Prague with your loved one there aren’t a lot of places that can top what Mama has to offer.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: It’s probably a good idea to use hotel’s parking. The fee isn’t that bad and getting a parking...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
cyberpunk-FIN wrote a review Feb 2020
Helsinki, Finland185 contributions44 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Visited a rock concert at the TipSport Arena and wanted to have convenient place to stay nearby.
Mama Shelter is located very near to TipSport and has very comfortable rooms, very friendly and professional staff.

No room service but otherwise the hotel provides very much all to services one might need during the stay.

The rooms are a bit more spacious than average in Prague and very clean & in good condition.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chris Dobson, General Manager at Mama Shelter Prague
Responded 27 Feb 2020
Dear cyberpunk (great name) Thank you for your amazing comments, we are all so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, Hopefully you will return for another concert, Mama will be waiting for you, Mama Loves You !
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amanda B asked a question Oct 2019
15 contributions4 helpful votes
Would these rooms accomodate 2 adults and 2 children 9 and 13?
Answer from Chris D
Prague, Czech Republic
hi we have conecting rooms with both double beds and two single beds,
karenkryger asked a question Sept 2019
Copenhagen, Denmark42 contributions19 helpful votes
Hi, do you provide toiletries (shampoo, conditioner etc. ) in the room?
Answer from Chris D
Prague, Czech Republic
Hi yes we provided bathroom amminities
Sarah C asked a question Sept 2019
Birkenhead, United Kingdom19 contributions4 helpful votes
Is there irons and ironing boards in the rooms
Answer from Lisbeth K
Copenhagen, Denmark26 contributions30 helpful votes
No but you can properly borrow it from housekeeping - enjoy Mama it’s fantastic
Eric S asked a question Apr 2019
Stuart, Florida369 contributions134 helpful votes
Do these rooms have air conditioning?? Traveling in June!
Answer from Chris D
Prague, Czech Republic
Hi yes we do have AC See you in June
Kess wrote a tip Jan 2024
Zurich, Switzerland77 contributions48 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Nothing comes to mind"
Read full review
lacortanela wrote a tip Oct 2023
Limoux, France163 contributions89 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get the pid app on your phone for tram and metro transport in Prague. Activate a ticket just before you get on."
Read full review
Anne W wrote a tip Oct 2023
Hobart, Australia20 contributions32 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a room away from the doors to the residential corridors. I could hear the door banging shut as people passed through."
Read full review
Jnjtiger wrote a tip Sept 2023
New Jersey527 contributions224 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Visit art museum across street and its cafe. Shopping center next door."
Read full review
Desilva2016 wrote a tip Jul 2023
Greater Melbourne, Australia197 contributions79 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you want coffees at all times please reconsider Easy access to old town You’ll have to get a taxi from main station if you have luggage"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Prague area.
PRICE RANGE
RM 387 - RM 689 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
parkhotel praha prague, parkhotel praha hotel prague
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Parkhotel Praha
LOCATION
Czech RepublicBohemiaPraguePraha 7 / Bubny / Holešovice
NUMBER OF ROOMS
238
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MAMA SHELTER PRAGUE (R̶M̶ ̶6̶3̶9̶) RM 534: UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 525 Photos (Czech Republic) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Mama Shelter Prague
Which popular attractions are close to Mama Shelter Prague?
Nearby attractions include Narodni Galerie Praha (0.08 km), Freshlabels Sustainable Store (0.3 km), and Trade Fair Palace (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mama Shelter Prague?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Mama Shelter Prague?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Mama Shelter Prague?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Mama Shelter Prague?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mama Shelter Prague?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mr.HotDoG, Stejkarna, and Creperie U Slepe Kocicky.
Does Mama Shelter Prague have airport transportation?
Yes, Mama Shelter Prague offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mama Shelter Prague?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Mama Shelter Prague?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Mama Shelter Prague offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mama Shelter Prague?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Czech.
All Prague HotelsPrague Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in PragueHotels near Mama Shelter Prague
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire