We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Copernicus

ul. Kanonicza 16, Krakow 31-002 Poland
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
View deal
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (420)
Dining (58)
Pool & Beach (34)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 22/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Copernicus
Updated 22/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#50 of 304 hotels in Krakow
Travellers' Choice
Hotel Copernicus stands on Kanonicza Street, Krakow’s oldest street that winds its way toward Wawel Royal Castle – the historic seat of Polish kings. Amidst the neighbouring Renaissance townhouses Copernicus stands out with its expansive, Gothic façade. It is the only hotel in Poland affiliated to Relais et Châteaux. There are 4 deluxe suits, 4 standard suites, 1 deluxe double guest room with two single beds, 4 deluxe double guest rooms, 4 double guest rooms (two single beds), 8 double guest rooms and 4 single guest rooms. The rooms are spacious with wonderful wooden ceilings, marble bathrooms and period furniture. All come with satellite TV and free Wi-Fi.Polish Royal cuisine in Copernicus Restaurant is prepared in the Renaissance-styled restaurant, which has been awarded many titles of excellence including the Michelin Guide recommendation among many others. World leaders and celebrities have dined here. The Chef Marcin Filipkiewicz and his team prepare the best in Polish cuisine but constantly introduce new and exciting dishes to the menu. The hotel's Gothic cellars contain swimming pool, sauna and small Spa by L'Occitane, open from 9 a.m. - 9 p.m. Monday - Sunday.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Meeting rooms
Paid public parking nearby
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast available
Taxi service
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Neck massage
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
659Reviews20Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 434
  • 154
  • 51
  • 16
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
jsfleming wrote a review May 2021
Tarnobrzeg, Poland6 contributions
Amazing hotel. Luxury and a really cool building. Superb staff made everything even better. Perfect location. I can’t say enough about this place. A little more expensive but well worth it. Try the spa too, it was a great way to relax and unwind.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Be careful parking on the street. Lots of residence only. We got clamped.
See more room tips
Response from Joanna Wilgierz, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Jordan482, Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure for us to host you at the R&CH Copernicus Hotel. Thank you for your kind appretiation of our location, our spa and our service. Your opinion means a great deal to us, we are happy your expectations were met and invite you to come back soon. With best personal regards, Joanna Wilgierz General Manager
Read more
Mike C wrote a review Aug 2020
Guildford, United Kingdom996 contributions446 helpful votes
I like finding nice hotels with a character, near to the main areas, and this being a Relais Chateau listed hotel I thought it was a good choice. I was right. We stayed 3 nights. Very nice fairly small hotel with lots of character. Apparently President Bush has stayed there. Rooms very nice. There is also a lovely roof terrace where we had drinks each night before heading out for dinner. The rooms and service were both very good. Breakfast is a bit steep at £20, especially when I only want coffee, juice and some bread. One can always just take a stroll out and find somewhere else nearby but we didn’t have the time.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Sleep Quality
Response from Joanna Wilgierz, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus
Responded 2 Sep 2020
Dear Mike C, Thank you for your amazing review posted on Trip Advisor. We are very happy that we met your expectations as the Relais & Chateaux member. I am also happy that you enjoyed the stay in the Presidential Suite where we have hosted George W. Bush . The room is amazing in terms of historical value , the XIVth century beam ceiling, the XVI th century fresco takes you back to the ancient times and the view of the Kanonicza street and the Castle from the window complete the experience. Thank you for your comment about the breakfast, for those who only wish to have a coffee and croissant we can also offer breakfast and give a special price. We would be happy to welcome you back in the near future again. With kind regards, Joanna Wilgierz General Manager
Read more
Karol_paris wrote a review Aug 2020
Paris, France169 contributions27 helpful votes
We had booked a 3rd-floor Panoramic suite looking out on the Wawel but learned shortly before arrival that those rooms were being renovated and we were upgraded to the Fresco Suite on the ground floor. The fresco was indeed beautiful and the suite was large, but the decorator had gone overboard with a pedestal bed imitating a 16th or 17th century model that was pretty hard to get into and out of. Only one normal chair in the room, but two classy but uncomfortable leather lounge chairs. The "lounge" part of the suite had a big desk with a chair, plus a leather couch facing a wall TV screen. Not particularly inviting. Bathroom was classy but not practical : no handles to get in or out of the bathtub, no handle on inside of separate shower. The real surprise was being awakened at 7:15 by noise from the room above which was obviously under renovation. Luckily they didn't work on Saturday or Sunday, but it would be a show-stopper during the week. The food was delicious but since Covid rules forbid buffets, the breakfast menu items delivered enough food for 3 people. I did figure out that we could order just what we wanted, and then it was great. Service good. No time to test the pool, the spa or the rooftop terrace, but I visited them and they look superb. My guide was Pani Joanna, hotel manager, the heart and soul of the hotel. Like the rest of the staff, she was ready to do anything to make our lives easier - for ex she had a pair of shoes fixed for us immediately on arrival.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Response from Joanna Wilgierz, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus
Responded 26 Aug 2020
Dear Karol_Paris, Thank you very much for your kind review posted on Trip Advisor. It has been a real pleasure for me and our Team to assist you during your recent stay in our historical house. I am sorry that we had to change your originally reserved room before your arrival. During the hotel closure from March 16 we have decided to use the time and do the complete renovation of the kitchen, restaurant and bar. As per our Guests’ advices we changed bathrooms in 4 of our rooms. We were not wasting time during the hotel closure, we wanted to improve as much as we could. I am sorry that it has been prolonged this particular morning during your stay. As you kindly mentioned we have changed the way of serving breakfasts in our hotel. It is individually served for every Guests subject to their preferences. I am also happy that you found pool, spa and roof top terrace superb. I hope that you will be able to test and enjoy the freshly renovated Panoramic Junior Suite during your future stays with us. With kind regards from Krakow, Joanna Wilgierz & Copernicus Team.
Read more
Kdav14 wrote a review Aug 2020
Derbyshire, United Kingdom9 contributions2 helpful votes
This hotel is unbelievable. The staff are incredible, location is unbeatable and the rooms are beautiful. We have stayed here 2 nights, leaving tomorrow. We have enjoyed the 5* spa with amazing massages and access to the pool and sauna, drinks in the stunning bar and chill time on the beautiful roof top terrace. Bed is comfy, shower is powerful, robes and slippers available, mini bar fully stocked, toiletries are luxury, I can’t fault it. We have come here as a treat for my 30th birthday and I cannot say enough good things about it. Would definitely recommend! I don’t want to go home!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from Joanna Wilgierz, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus
Responded 20 Aug 2020
Dear Kdav14, Entire Coperniucs Team would like to thank you for your kind review. We really happy that you enjoyed the with us, and would be honored to celebrate your 30th birthday with you. Thank you very much for your kind appretiation of our Spa, our treatments are really relaxing after the treatment our Guest may enjoy the drink on the roof top terrace with amazing view of the Wawel Castle. We are awaiting you and you nearest in our small historical house. In the meantime we are sending you our best personal regards, Joanna Wilgierz General Manager
Read more
moanerlouisa wrote a review Mar 2020
Liverpool10 contributions7 helpful votes
Well can I just say we also arrived on Friday 13 th March to come home Friday to bouncers on the door who were so rude telling us to pack up and leave Next morning we was told to pack up and leave and we must be out of Poland by midnight Nobody rang our airline and the hotel just checked us out Marvellous how they suddenly stayed open for some people disgusting We know people in air bnbs who were told to stay as long as they could Deffinately not a 5 star couldn’t wait to get rid of us , also during our stay they went into our room and removed things other guests had requested Never stay here again
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Response from copernicus1, Dyrektor generalny at Hotel Copernicus
Responded 17 Mar 2020
Dear Moanerlouisa, I we are not hiring any bouncers, I do not understand what you are writing about. Most of the Guests were informed over the phone about the official communicate of the Government regarding the Covid-19. Some Guests returning to the hotel late were informed personally by the receptionist about the communicate. We were informing everybody about it since the regular airlines were stopping flying out of Krakow on Saturday midnight. Most of our Guests really appreciated this information since they were able to rebook their flights. The hotel stayed open until our last Guests who were flying out with charter flights left Krakow. We offered help to all our Guests, I personally checked with you if you need some help. I also brought you some snacks and water when you were leaving the hotel being so stressed. Believe me, we hoteliers would love all our Guest to stay in rather than leave Krakow. I am sorry that your trip was stopped. With regards, Joanna Wilgierz General Manager
Read more
US$109 - US$259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
copernicus hotel krakow, hotel copernicus krakow
PolandSouthern PolandLesser Poland ProvinceKrakowStare Miasto
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Copernicus
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Copernicus?
Nearby attractions include Axe Nation - axe throwing club Kraków (0.2 km), VR Studio (0.5 km), and Krakow Pinball Museum (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Copernicus?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Copernicus?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Copernicus?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Copernicus?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Copernicus?
Conveniently located restaurants include Art Restaurant, Od Jajka Do Jablka, and Czarna Kaczka The Black Duck.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Copernicus?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a sauna during their stay.
Does Hotel Copernicus have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Hotel Copernicus offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hotel Copernicus located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Krakow.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Copernicus?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Copernicus?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.