We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller (71)
Room & Suite (37)
Dining (9)
  • Excellent81%
  • Very good13%
  • Average4%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“bed dorm”(7 reviews)
“large lockers”(3 reviews)
Free Wifi
Non-Smoking Rooms
Pets Allowed
Laundry Service
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (137)
There are newer reviews for The Groove
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
More languages
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed dormlarge lockershome away from homeshared kitchenfree tea and coffeebars and clubsother guestsplace to staywell equipped kitchenyour luggagetoilet papertram linebeautiful buildingperfect staythree nightsdanube riverhostel
Updating list...
21 - 25 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Stayed in a group of 7 - was great! Hostel in a good location, staff very friendly and had a really nice community feel. Facilities were fine, would definitely recommend. We bought our tickets for the baths from the hostel too.

Thank gga14jsd
Reviewed 31 March 2016 via mobile

Went here with a group of 8 friends (not a bachelor party) and booked it specifically so we had the dorm to ourselves. Dorm was colorful, high ceilings, clean, spacious. Beware that there are 2 dorms, one is "exclusive", the other serves as hallway to...More

Thank RVDL91
Reviewed 8 January 2016

I can definitely recommend this hostel ! Not big, cozy, so you really feel like at home. There is a common kitchen you can use to cook for yourself, they provide you with the towel, sheets and the lockable box for your stuff. The location...More

Thank Dasha K
Reviewed 24 December 2015 via mobile

This wasn't the best place we've stayed. We arrived at midnight in Budapest after a horrid bus ride from Zagreb, and the hostel wasn't well signed on the street. After finding it and being buzzed into a very old building, although quite stunning in the...More

Thank RachelMT86
Response from lilaj84, Manager at The GrooveResponded 27 December 2015

Dear Rachel, First of all thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry if you were disappointed. We will discuss this cleanliness issue with the staff, normally everything should be clean, I'm sorry that you didn't mention it when you were there, we would have...More

Reviewed 17 December 2015

If you decide to stay at this hostel, you need to be aware of the noisy surroundings. People and the staff can make noise, so if you want a good night of sleep, you need to be aware of this. The rooms are big, there...More

Thank Ali h
Response from lilaj84, Manager at The GrooveResponded 21 December 2015

Dear Ali, Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry that you were not fully satisfied however I must correct that we have 3 showers and toilets and usually we don't get any complaints about their size, they are actually quite big compare to the standard...More

View more reviews
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Room amenities
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (71)
Room & Suite (37)
Dining (9)
Family and Play Areas (2)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
30 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from flxwnzl | Reviewed this property |
I'd say about it's enough space for two big suitcases
Google Translation
9 August 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from lilaj84 | Property representative |
Hi PunindaS, Yes, we do, we have pub crawls, cooking evenings and bicycle trips (the last one depends on the weather of course). Cheers, Lili manager Groove Hostel
Room Tips
"Remember a padlock!"
Read review
"Mixed dorms, cheapest, does the job."
Read review
"Private rooms are a little more expensive, but offer a bit of privacy and space."
Read review
"Ask for a lower bunk bed, they have curtains to avoid sunlight :)"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing