We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Continental Hotel Budapest

Expedia.comUS$138*
View Deal
#39 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$162*
US$138*
Great Deal
US$147*
US$145*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Continental Hotel Budapest
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,165 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Continental Hotel Budapest
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,785: English reviews
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 9 September 2015

We have not personally stayed here. However, we've visited Budapest yearly since the year 2000 so we are very familiar with the city, the food, sights & Hungary in general. We have friends from the UK who like to meet us in Budapest when we are there & they've stayed at this great hotel three times. The hotel itself is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dennis B
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Dennis B, I am sorry to hear that you could not stay with us, but you must know our hotel very well as your remarks are all valid. One exception is that we serve lavish buffet breakfast. I sincerely hope we will have the chance to welcome you personally in the hotel not just in the ARAZ Restaurant. Kindest...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 8 September 2015

As Joseph241 commented, this hotel is clean, comfortable & well-located. Because it's a tourist hotel, a tour company booked it as Budapest was the starting city for 1 of its tours. Our room was very small, especially after 2 suitcases & in-cabin bags were added, but the staff were polite, professional & couldn't do enough for us & other guests....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AntiquesOnTour
Zoltan_Geher, Ügyvezető igazgató at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear AntiquesO, First thank you for your review full with praises and compliments on the staff and on the facilities, design. I appreciate it very much. What the size of the standard room is concerned it is really not too comfortable for travellers from overseas with a lot of luggage, therefore we provide higher category rooms of bigger size. Due...

Reading, UK
Reviewed 7 September 2015

The hotel is very well situated, being an easy walk from most of the sights. We arrived early and were allowed to check in with no problems. The rooms are clean and comfortable but a bit small - they are quite dark and it felt very cramped. The air-con in our room did not work properly but as it wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Chris G, Thank you very much for your detailed feedback from your one night stay. I understand not everybody likes the dark design of the room since we are all different and it is good so. I also agree not very easy to use the magnetic card in the elevators especially for those guests who are not used to...

Reviewed 7 September 2015

I organised an event for work at this hotel for 2 and a half days in October 2014. The staff were absolutely amazing at getting everything sorted for the days which the event was on during the week and all the guest had a great stay. The rooms are a good size (some a little smaller) I had an upgraded...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Isabel M
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Isabel, Thank you for the long list with great and ethusiastic compliments about your stay. All these compliments sound more important from an event organizer. I was however a little bit surprised on the overall scores reading your satisfactions on the facilities and the services. I sincerely hope after your eventual next event we will deserve the highest scores....

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 6 September 2015

Hotel Zara is a nice clean comfortable hotel. our room was very comfortable, the location is good, especially for Jewish travellers as it is walking distance to the main synagogues and Kosher restaurants. We left too early to try the breakfast but a snack was provided for early leavers. The location is also walking distance to one of the main...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Joseph241
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Joseph241, I am very greatful for your kind review highlighting the excellent location of our hotel. I hope when you return to Budapest ever we can host you again. Best regards,

uk
Reviewed 6 September 2015

Central location. Pleasant decor, well maintained throughout. Extremely friendly and efficient check-in staff. Rooms were clean, quiet and well appointed. Breakfast offered extensive choice of quality food (fried eggs were constantly refreshed so did not become dry and leathery. Only complaint was that as it was so popular, it was not always easy to find adequate seating. Service in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Barbara W, Thank you very much for your all-in-all review especially for your praising words on the reception staff and on the breakfast. I have made the special note on your critisism too. I appreciate very much your high scores. KIndest regards,

Winchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2015

We have just returned from 4 nights in Budapest where we stayed in this hotel. We were really impressed with the modern decor, friendly staff and central location. Only two criticisms we had were that we were charged 8 euros each to use the roof terrace pool which should be included in the price of the hotel given that it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Holly W
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Holly W, Many thanks for your review despite of the two crticism. I can't repeat enough - even in this portal - that some travel agents try to make the hotel as attractive as possible by lowering the rates excluding breakfast or spa entry. Since there are several agents between the hotel and the customer this important information does...

Budapest, Hungary
Reviewed 5 September 2015

We were excited about visiting this hotel after reading some wonderful reviews on Trip Advisor. We arrived before the check-in time (2pm) and although we were allowed to leave our luggage in the foyer the prospect of checking-in early was clearly not an option. We had been travelling since 1am that day so a degree of flexibility from the Reception...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ATourist2015
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear ATourist2015, Many thanks for your feedback on your stay. I feel sad that we were not able to fullfill your high expectations after reading the Tripadvisor comments. I am sorry to hear that you were not able to check in before 2pm since you were travelling all night. Be ensured we provide the room for our arriving guests if...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2015 via mobile

A party of four stayed in this hotel for four days. A bit of a dissappinting start as our rooms were not ready for an hour from the time of our check-in time. We didn't mind too much as we went for lunch but the service we recieved was pretty poor. No explanation was given on why our rooms were...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Kishan U
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear KIshan U, Many thanks for your reiew although destroyed my day. If the apology was missing for the delayed check in I apologise for it now. In a hotel of this size it may happen that not all the rooms are ready to check in when a lot of guests arrive early after a full house. I can give...

Reviewed 5 September 2015 via mobile

This hotel is fantastic. Had the most relaxing week here. The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are lovely, staff very friendly, great breakfast and the wellness centre with the rooftop pool really adds to the hotel. It is very relaxing to sit on the rooftop looking at the view of Budapest. Would love to come back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clareed22
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Clareed22, Thanks a lot for your review! What else can I add to it. If we would recieve such reviews only, I would be the most satisfied GM in Budapest. Many thanks again and kindest regards,

2,164 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1332)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (294)
Viewed
Room/Suite (231)
Viewed
Bathroom (65)
Viewed
Dining (77)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (50)
Viewed
View from Room (35)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (571)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (753)
Viewed
Amenities (98)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (84)
Viewed
Presidental Suite (119)
Viewed
Dining (89)
Viewed
Rooftop Pool (102)
Viewed
Standard Room (69)
Viewed
Suite (99)
Viewed
The Hotel (93)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (79)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
4,592 reviews
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
1,150 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#18 of 342 in Budapest
6,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#6 of 342 in Budapest
2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in District VII / Jewish Quarter

Neighbourhood Profile
District VII / Jewish Quarter
District VII is the very heart of Budapest and houses the city’s Jewish Quarter. Its streets are lively and colorful, its buildings narrate different histories in an assortment of architectural styles, and its cafes and bars are frequented and loved by the enthusiastic crowds. Grand and magnificent, the striking star of the district is the Great Synagogue, the largest in Europe and one of the biggest in the world. Distinctly Moorish in style, crowned by the twin onion shaped domes, the Synagogue is the very emblem of District VII and one of the main attractions in the capital.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Continental Hotel Budapest 4* Superior symbolizes the past and future, the traditional Hungarian hospitality and refinement of detail and personal service of our age. The building reflects the elements of the art nouveau style and the modern unique design characterizing ZeinaHotels, in the heart of Budapest. The 4 star superior, 272 room hotel - offering standard, deluxe and executive rooms plus suites - will revive the spirit of the legendary accommodation keeping its name and historical facade. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Continental Hotel Budapest

Address: Dohany u. 42 - 44, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Price Range: RM506 - RM1,357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Continental Hotel Budapest 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Continental Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Budapest
#29 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#29 Business Hotel in Budapest
#32 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Continental Hotel Budapest staff and other travellers.
100 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (100)

Questions? Get answers from Continental Hotel Budapest staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Accessibility because of location; generally quiet hotel.”
khalidsayyed, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking courtyard nice”
AmandaB779, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“No specific views so room position not an issue. No noticeable road noise as not on a major road.”
HelenCopestake, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“More peaceful at the rear of the hotel!”
engine55, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Feel free to chose the pillow - they have a great menu :)”
663kristinap, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$138* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$147
ElvolineUS$145
TripAdvisorUS$138
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates