We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Aquincum Hotel Budapest

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,278 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 640: English reviews
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

This hotel was outdated. My room was very expensive for what it was. The staff were grumpy and the food was poor. On a lighter note, there are quite easy transport links to the centre and it does have a pool, hot tub and sauna. Overall it was overpriced and a little too far out.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed at Aquincum Hotel with my family for 5 days in November. The rooms was spaceios and clean. The staff was kind. The best part was the bath which was always very quiet and calm. We will be back for sure:)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stacy W
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

The feeling of this hotel is that it needs to be renovated! It doesn't feel like a five star hotel. The rooms were not nice, marks on the walls, old carpet, the door into the toilet was not looking nice at all. The breakfast was under my expectation and the location is very off.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna B
Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed here for 2 nights on a business trip. The Aquincum is a decent hotel - however there are a few things why I would not give a top rating. Here are the points I liked and did not like: + Reception was really professional and welcoming - The room was well used and not in really good condition...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Schiffi
Townsville, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Starting on a positive note, the hotel has a great SPA, which was free for us to use. The room was nice, clean and spacious. Now to the negative... the hotel was much further from town than described online (it took us about 45 min in a fast-pace walk to get there), the personnel had a very limited understanding of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sabine1705
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stayed here on a weekend trip to the city. The rooms are comfortable, good bed and bathroom slightly dated but fine. Breakfast was a bit of a let down, it was the usual buffet but not much of a selection and coffee was poor and cold. I didn't find the service particularly good. Reception were helpful and got us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SolLoving
Essex
Reviewed 1 week ago

We got a deal on a website which included flights. I am glad it was on a deal as I would not pay the going rate for this hotel. firstly it is tucked away at the end of the H5 tram track so a 10 minute journey then another 15 minute walk if you wish to Chain Bridge. We arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank juboy
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Our Guest, Thank you for staying in our hotel. We regret to read that you were not satisfied with our hotel, room and service. Please accept our apology for the cleanliness of room and the noise during the night. We are happy to read that you liked our Bar and spa with massage. We hope that we have opportunity...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stay in Aquincum hotel often because it has big room , spa open as of 6 am and offers good brekfast. Hotel is not in the center and it takes some time to reach the downtown. At the same time it is very much ok if I travel for business.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Svetlana L
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Our GUest, Thank you for choosing us again and we highly appreciate your loyalty. We are happy to read that you liked our room, breakfast and spa and our services meet your expectation while you are in business. We hope to see you again soon. Yours sincerely, Gábor Nemes General Manager

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Dated interior, cold atmosphere, below average rooms with smell, bad heating control, terrible room service, old bathroom, dirty carpets, dated corridors. Hotel shouts 'Renovate me'. Definitely not 5 star, hardly 4 star, more like an average 3 star. Nothing special about it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear our Guest, Thank you for choosing us and taking the time to share your experiences. We regret to read that the design of the hotel and the room did not exceed your expectations. Please accept our apology. Please, rest assured that we will at all times do everything to please and even anticipate the needs of our guests. We...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel deserves not more then 3 stars. Once upon a time probably it was good hotel but now is to old. Crew is not so friendly, printer is so old and can only prin black/white, spa centar is in bad condition, tai massage was super. So

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frane Š
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear our Guest, Thank you for choosing us and your feedback. We regret to read that you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel and the staff. Please accept our apology for the inconveniences. Excpet from this inconveniences we were happy to read that you were staisfied wth the thai massage. We hope that we will have the...

572 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (314)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (63)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (143)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (230)
Viewed
Amenities (65)
Viewed
Deluxe River View King (29)
Viewed
Executive King (29)
Viewed
Executive River Suite King (39)
Viewed
Pool (9)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Superior King (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Margaret Island
Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
Danubius Hotel Helia
#77 of 339 in Budapest
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Residence
Boscolo Residence
#50 of 339 in Budapest
611 reviews
Lion's Garden Hotel
#70 of 339 in Budapest
624 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#15 of 339 in Budapest
6,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest hotel overlooks the Danube on the historic Buda side, at the Arpad Bridge, opposite Margaret Island. Providing an exquisite balance between business, leisure and relaxation, the hotel offers comfortable accommodation, versatile conference facilities, and a natural thermal spa. We are located near some of Budapest's most fascinating attractions including the ruins of ancient Aquincum and the hills and forests of Buda. Downtown Budapest and the Danube Bend are also within easy reach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Aquincum Hotel Budapest

Address: Arpad fejedelem utja 94., Budapest 1036, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Price Range: RM254 - RM781 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Aquincum Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 310
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Aquincum Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Budapest Hotel Budapest
Ramada Budapest
Budapest Ramada
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#38 Business Hotel in Budapest
#55 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#56 Family Hotel in Budapest
#79 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Aquincum Hotel Budapest staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from The Aquincum Hotel Budapest staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are rooms with a view to the inner courtyard, if you want a view, ask to be a room with a view”
 of 5 bubbles HoppieMaky, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Bring your own flip flops! - We thought they will be provided with the robs but they were not”
 of 5 bubbles B4014NTannas, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try to get one facing the river.”
 of 5 bubbles RogerThornhill66, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Do not stay here”
  • Bathroom
  • View from room
  • Room very old and smelly
 of 5 bubbles claireleslie1973, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“good rooms”
 of 5 bubbles violaa919, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay