We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Aquincum Hotel Budapest

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,375 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
See the most recent reviews
Showing 683: English reviews
Worthing
Reviewed 10 December 2016

We stayed at this hotel for three nights. Though the hotel does a airport transfer we decided to go ourselves. It took us approximately an hour to get from the airport to the hotel. We took a bus from the airport then changed to a over land train 1a for 2 stops and walked the rest of the way. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey O
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing our Hotel and for sharing your experiences. We were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to our staff, and we are happy that you all-around enjoyed our facilities. In the hope that we will have the opportunity of...

maidstone
Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

This hotel was part of a secret escapes package if we'd of booked independently we would of been even more disappointed. Reception - awful. Checking in took an eternity several staff doing nothing but staring at one computer ignoring the ever growing queue forming. No one acknowledging or apologising to those waiting (customer service is non existent). Room - tatty,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BagpussBagpuss
Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

Never have myself or my partner stayed in such a rude, dated & discriminating hotel. Thankgod Budapest itself made up for our trip as the hotel was literally one problem after another. We had arrived at our hotel to have waited 45 minutes to be able to check in as they said our room wasn't ready, once checked in &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tantalise C
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

This hotel was outdated. My room was very expensive for what it was. The staff were grumpy and the food was poor. On a lighter note, there are quite easy transport links to the centre and it does have a pool, hot tub and sauna. Overall it was overpriced and a little too far out.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
Reviewed 5 December 2016

We stayed at Aquincum Hotel with my family for 5 days in November. The rooms was spaceios and clean. The staff was kind. The best part was the bath which was always very quiet and calm. We will be back for sure:)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stacy W
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing our Hotel and share your experiences. We are delighted to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel, and that you found everything satisfying and up-to-standards. Thank you also for your kind words about our staff, they do their best to serve every one of our guest to the best of...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

The feeling of this hotel is that it needs to be renovated! It doesn't feel like a five star hotel. The rooms were not nice, marks on the walls, old carpet, the door into the toilet was not looking nice at all. The breakfast was under my expectation and the location is very off.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna B
Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewed 1 December 2016

I stayed here for 2 nights on a business trip. The Aquincum is a decent hotel - however there are a few things why I would not give a top rating. Here are the points I liked and did not like: + Reception was really professional and welcoming - The room was well used and not in really good condition...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Schiffi
Townsville, Australia
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

Starting on a positive note, the hotel has a great SPA, which was free for us to use. The room was nice, clean and spacious. Now to the negative... the hotel was much further from town than described online (it took us about 45 min in a fast-pace walk to get there), the personnel had a very limited understanding of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sabine1705
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

I stayed here on a weekend trip to the city. The rooms are comfortable, good bed and bathroom slightly dated but fine. Breakfast was a bit of a let down, it was the usual buffet but not much of a selection and coffee was poor and cold. I didn't find the service particularly good. Reception were helpful and got us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SolLoving
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Guest We'd like to thank you for choosing Aquincum Hotel Budapest. We were pleased to read that you found your room comfortable, and living up to your standards. Thank you for your feedback on the breakfast service, we are sorry to hear that you didn't find everything that you wanted, and we apologize for the cold coffee; we will...

Essex
Reviewed 27 November 2016

We got a deal on a website which included flights. I am glad it was on a deal as I would not pay the going rate for this hotel. firstly it is tucked away at the end of the H5 tram track so a 10 minute journey then another 15 minute walk if you wish to Chain Bridge. We arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank juboy
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Our Guest, Thank you for staying in our hotel. We regret to read that you were not satisfied with our hotel, room and service. Please accept our apology for the cleanliness of room and the noise during the night. We are happy to read that you liked our Bar and spa with massage. We hope that we have opportunity...

616 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (358)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (64)
Viewed
Room/Suite (74)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (156)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (230)
Viewed
Amenities (65)
Viewed
Deluxe River View King (29)
Viewed
Executive King (29)
Viewed
Executive River Suite King (39)
Viewed
Pool (9)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Superior King (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Margaret Island
Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
Danubius Hotel Helia
#72 of 342 in Budapest
1,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Margaret Island
Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Residence
Boscolo Residence
#57 of 342 in Budapest
663 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#18 of 342 in Budapest
6,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest hotel overlooks the Danube on the historic Buda side, at the Arpad Bridge, opposite Margaret Island. Providing an exquisite balance between business, leisure and relaxation, the hotel offers comfortable accommodation, versatile conference facilities, and a natural thermal spa. We are located near some of Budapest's most fascinating attractions including the ruins of ancient Aquincum and the hills and forests of Buda. Downtown Budapest and the Danube Bend are also within easy reach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Aquincum Hotel Budapest

Address: Arpad fejedelem utja 94., Budapest 1036, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Price Range: RM414 - RM1,011 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Aquincum Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 310
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Aquincum Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Budapest Hotel Budapest
Ramada Budapest
Budapest Ramada
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#38 Business Hotel in Budapest
#55 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#56 Family Hotel in Budapest
#85 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Aquincum Hotel Budapest staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from The Aquincum Hotel Budapest staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“First floor is upgraded and you have a private lounge”
jennywT5490EJ, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the lift - but with this hotel i didn't have any related issues as i am merely leaving a general tip”
SaiqaA, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“was in center, quite quiet even with windows open.”
EricM482, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Face the river”
SJH42, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“1st floor has premium room”
abdulb333, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5