We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

InterContinental Budapest

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
InterContinental Budapest
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,029 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Budapest
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,312: English reviews
Bedford, Canada
Reviewed 9 October 2014

The Hotel Intercontinental in Budapest, Hungary, is located on the Pest bank of the Danube River. The view of Buda Castle, Fisherman's Bastion, and St. Mathias Church on the Buda side of the river is fantastic from the hotel's outside bar and from all the rooms on that side of the building, especially at night. The hotel is located within...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ian M
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Ian M, Thank you very much for taking your time posting your comment. I am delighted that you enjoyed the city of Budapest and your accommodation at InterContinental. Thank you for drawing attention to the main sights and mentioning quality service in our hotel provided by a superb staff. I would be glad to host you again once you...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 9 October 2014

We had just completed our Avalon rivercruise & were due to book into the hotel,it was early morning & our rooms werent ready ,so i asked whayt options were available For an extra $50 euros we could have riverfront & access imediatly best $50e we spent.The Jewel in the crown was sitting in their riverfront cafe for dinner ,great food...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank michael o
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review

Dear michael o, Thank you for describing your accommodation and dining experiences. I am pleased to read that you were fascinated by the riverbank view not only from the windows of your room but could enjoy it on the Corso Terrace as well. I hope it remains a nice memory you can share with friends & family upon returning home...

Maasbree, The Netherlands
Reviewed 7 October 2014

Super location, nice business hotel with friendly and helpful staff, great food, spacious rooms with superb views on the Donau. All sightseeing can be done by fiit from this location. Nice atmosphere Would definately recommed this hotel for business

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NVH1981
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review

Dear NVH1981, Thank you for writing your review and sharing your experiences. I appreciate that you highlight the friendly staff and your spacious room with Danube view. Thank you for recommending to visit us in Budapest. With best regards, Claus Geisselmann

Overland Park, Kansas
Reviewed 7 October 2014

What an impressive point from which to start a first time ever trip in Budapest! The location is ideal with grand views across the Danube day and night. The pedestrian traffic, mass transportation locations, and the proximity to so many points of interest for the city all add up to make this the perfect location for launching ones Budapest adventure....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carol A
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Carol A, Thank you very much for sharing your travel experiences. I am delighted that you found InterContinental Budapest an impressive point to get accommodated and explore the wonderful sights of Budapest. Special thanks for mentioning the staff attitude and your high level of satisfaction in regards to meals. I hope you left with nice memories to share with...

West Chiltington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2014 via mobile

Had a long weekend at this hotel Location is outstanding and rooms very comfortable Only disappointment was the food in the restaurant. Fish was not boned which was a concern and spoilt the main meal. Other main dishes were ok but not of the standard expected of such a hotel. Great weekend, this was the only item that spoiled it.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul M
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Paul M, Thank you very much for writing your review. I am glad to see that you have spent an enjoyable long weekend in our hotel. I regret your disappointment on the fish meal, the service is offered on request. I hope to look for your soon-coming return. With best regards, Claus Geisselmann

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 6 October 2014

We spent three nights post river cruise. Upgraded to Club and river view. We had a superb view of Chain Bridge and Budapest Castle for our room. Upgrade well worth the extra dollars. Club on first floor rather than top floor (usual location) so view not brilliant but nice view of Chain Bridge. Food OK but not brilliant but adequate...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Helen H
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Helen H, Thank you very much for writing your opinion about your stay. I am glad that you found many things up to your expectations. I am happy that you felt convenient here, had all you need just close by and at the end you found it a good choice. With best regards, Claus Geisselmann

Niceville,Florida
Reviewed 5 October 2014

Let me first say that Budapest was a very pleasant surprise for us! A lot has to do with our accommodations at InterContinental Budapest Hotel on the Danube River. We can see why Avalon Waterways picked this hotel for pre and post cruise. It is stately, centrally located, has gorgeous views of Danube, and very professional and friendly staff members!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TrishfromFlorida
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review

Dear TrishfromFlorida, I am very much pleased to read about your hotel and city experiences. The panorama on the world heritage site is a real treasure and we are happy to provide accommodation with this unique atmosphere around. I am most delighted that we could contribute to your 35th anniversary celebration and make your stay even a more remarkable one...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 4 October 2014 via mobile

We had an absolutely wonderful stay at the Intercontinental Budapest for two nights as part of our 3 week honeymoon through Europe. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left they were accommodating and made our visit extra special. We had the most fantastic view of the Danube Ricer and Chain Bridge, and have probably never stayed at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Abbyandseth
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Abbyandseth , Thank you very much for sharing your experiences. Let me congratulate on your wedding and wish you all the best with blessings for lifetime. I am very happy that you selected InterContinental Budapest among your European honeymoon trip destinations. My heart is warming up to learn that we could contribute to make this occasion even more unforgettable....

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 3 October 2014

What a great start to our vacation, we stayed at the Intercontinental Budapest hotel near the Danube river. Awesome place to stay!! The hotel staff is outstanding! And the restaurant was fantastic, we had a great dinner. Big Thank You to Dora B in the restaurant, she made a great impression.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Garry R
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Garry R, Thank you very much for posting your comment. I am pleased to read that you highlight not only your hotel experiencing but also your favourite staff member. We are very much looking forward to the next welcoming occasion. Best regards, Claus Geisselmann

Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewed 2 October 2014

Great location right on the Danube with incredible views of the river, Chain Bridge and Buda. Glad we had booked a room overlooking the river. Hotel amenities were excellent, staff friendly and handy to boarding your river cruise.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mdholte
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review

Dear mdholte, Thank you very much for writing your comment. I am much pleased that you were enchanted by the Danube view and fount the staff friendly and handy to assist. Thank you for staying with us. With best regards, Claus Geisselmann

2,148 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1547)
Viewed
View from Room (268)
Viewed
Room/Suite (300)
Viewed
Dining (78)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (173)
Viewed
Bathroom (52)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
4:38
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (653)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (485)
Viewed
Amenities (52)
Viewed
Deluxe Family Room (38)
Viewed
Junior Suite (39)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Presidental Suite (71)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Standard Room (43)
Viewed
Suite (52)
Viewed
Superior Rooom (44)
Viewed
The Hotel (66)
Viewed
Upper Level Standard Room (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (116)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#34 of 339 in Budapest
2,619 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#15 of 339 in Budapest
6,531 reviews
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#18 of 339 in Budapest
3,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in District V / Inner City

Neighbourhood Profile
District V / Inner City
Discover the Inner City along the banks of the Danube, with its fashionable shops and iconic buildings. The Inner-City Parish Church and St. Stephen’s Basilica stand out as two of the finest examples of architecture in the area. If you are still hunting for more historical treats, then the ruins of the medieval city walls on Kecskeméti Utca are a must-visit while the Soviet War Memorial is also worthy of attention and relevant to Hungary’s more recent history. If shopping is on your itinerary, then be prepared: the market squares in this area are an absolute delight, particularly during the Christmas period, but even throughout the year you’ll find the latest trends in the shops on Vaci Utca.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The InterContinental Budapest hotel is situated directly by the Chain bridge overlooking the Royal Palace. This impressive hotel offers 402 beautifully appointed guestrooms, many of which enjoy a fabulous river-view. You may also choose from 18 exquisite Suites and a Presidential Suite. State-de-art conference facilities with capacity up to 900 person; 10 breakout rooms; Club Lounge with a breathtaking view of the Danube; SPA; 24 hr Fitness Centre, swimming pool, steam room and sauna; All day dining Corso Restaurant, Bar. An ideal choice for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about InterContinental Budapest

Address: Apaczai Csere Janos utca 12-14, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Price Range: RM534 - RM1,264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Budapest Hotel Budapest
Budapest Intercontinental
Intercontinental Hotel Budapest
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Budapest
#9 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#10 Family Hotel in Budapest
#16 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#20 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from InterContinental Budapest staff and other travellers.
45 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (45)

Questions? Get answers from InterContinental Budapest staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room with a view of the river and castle”
 of 5 bubbles Hornet1234, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ensure you get room with a view. Pay extra for Club lounge access”
 of 5 bubbles LondonChapeau, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you book a room with a river view, it;s why you would chose this hotel.”
  • view from river side room
 of 5 bubbles petert829, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“get a room with a view over the Danube”
 of 5 bubbles BrettEmerson, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try for a high up level riverview”
 of 5 bubbles gyoergykalmans, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay