We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Mediterran

Show Prices
#88 of 340 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Mediterran
Hotel Mediterran
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

471 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 264: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

We had a short break at the start of the month to visit the Christmas markets. The hotel was bright and clean, the staff very friendly and extremely helpful. We were a little distance from the market but staff advised us which (free) bus to get which was perfect. We also had a 'Hop on Hop off' bus ticket which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Just an average hotel, I would not say it's 4* property, more like 3* due to condition and amenities. Breakfast costs EUR10 (which is quite high compared to its quality). Personnel is very friendly and helpful! It was noisy by the nights due to busy road near the hotel (even when the windows were closed). But the beds themselves were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ms_Naboo
Clara, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a comfortable hotel with very nice staff. Good basic breakfast. Rooms very warm, perhaps too warm at times! Location ok, bus stop just around corner. 10 minute trip into town. Better to stay on the Pest side if you can, that's where all the action is.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank david w
Tipperary, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a 4* hotel in Hungary which would be similar to a 3* hotel in Ireland. It is a 5 minute bus ride from the centre and the bus one way costs about 90 cents. There are trams also but we didnt use them. We didnt eat in the hotel so cannot comment. We had a few drinks which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marie G
New York City, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The price was very good. It was an interesting-constructed room that slept 3 but worked well. Few things were outdated but overall it was what I expected. The staff was nice to us and helpful. Thanks!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TopBloke999
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Arriving at the hotel at 1am, I was met by a smiling and friendly person who completed the formalities efficiently and quickly. The twin bedded room was on the 3rd floor facing the side ally. It was larger than I had expected, well equipped with TV, mini-bar, reading table and ample storage. The bathroom was well equipped with complimentary toiletries,...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Timski4u
HotelMediterran, Manager at Hotel Mediterran, responded to this review

Dear Timski4u, Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback! We really appreciate that you took your time and write about us in such details. Our staff members do their best to make our guests to feel at home in our hotel. We are really happy to see that it gained recognition. We hope to see you again and we...

Wotton-under-edge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2016

The hotel has 4 stars but would be rated as a 3 star in England. The staff couldn't be more helpful with any request you made. One drawback was the air conditioning operates on the old communist method of following the calendar, not the outside temperature and blew only warm air which meant keeping the window open at night and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David L
HotelMediterran, Manager at Hotel Mediterran, responded to this review

Dear David L, Thank you for your feedback! We are sorry to read that the breakfast wasn’t satisfying for you. We try to prepare a breakfast with various things, so if someone wishes for hot meal, he can find boiled or scrambled eggs and sausages on the menu. The air conditioning system was already replaced for the heating system by...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

This hotel was very disappointing. A friend and I stayed for 3 nights and each night was as bad as the previous one. Firstly, there was a number of flying bugs in our room, over the 3 nights we ended up killing about 7/8 of them. We reported this to the staff who just told us "there are bugs all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 93Chelsea
HotelMediterran, Vezető at Hotel Mediterran, responded to this review

Dear 93Chelsea, We are very sorry for the inconvenience you mentioned above! Unfortunately it is true that those type of bugs were all around of Budapest at the time you stayed with us. The whole city suffered because of this invasion. As the weather got colder outside these bugs tried to escape to warm places, like our hotel rooms. However,...

Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Excellent hotel ! Very good breakfast and very helpful staff . Have everything good bar , computer , parking, fruits , in very good location buses very frequent to town centre near to spar and petrol station as well . The room was very neat and tidy heating was very good but cannot control as its a very old style...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Varun M
HotelMediterran, Vezető at Hotel Mediterran, responded to this review

Dear Varun, We are very happy that you had a pleasant time with us! Thank you for the kind words and we can promise that we will do our best in the future as well, so more and more of our guests can feel the way you felt with us! Wish you all the best and we are looking forward...

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2016

The hotel was good and breakfast everything you could want. The staff very very helpful and friendly. It is very convenient for bus travel into the centre also if you are aged 65 or over travel is free on bus tram and metro just need passport with you. The only thing the lift only goes up to the fourth floor...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chrisT3990GY
HotelMediterran, Manager at Hotel Mediterran, responded to this review

Dear Chris, Thank you for your kind feedback! We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff is always happy to help and they are really thankful for your appreciation. We are aware that for some people it is difficult to walk the stairs (from the 4th up to the 5th floor), that’s why we...

218 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (65)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (25)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (117)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
Double Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
The Hotel (18)
Viewed
Triple Room (27)
Viewed
Twin Room (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#52 of 340 in Budapest
515 reviews
Gellert Hill
Gold Hotel Wine & Dine
Gold Hotel Wine & Dine
#111 of 340 in Budapest
441 reviews
Korona Panzio
#128 of 340 in Budapest
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Park Hotel
#233 of 340 in Budapest
1,132 reviews
District I / Buda
Mercure Budapest Buda
Mercure Budapest Buda
#109 of 340 in Budapest
1,483 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Orion Varkert
Hotel Orion Varkert
#43 of 340 in Budapest
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Gellert Hill

Neighbourhood Profile
Gellert Hill
If you want to treat your camera to some amazing scenery, Gellért Hill is a must on your itinerary. A funicular journey from the Chain Bridge along the hillsides provides a fast connection between Buda and Pest, hoisting visitors to panoramic vistas. Once on top of the hill, you’ll find the Citadel dominate the landscape with its imposing 19th century construction, a site that’s hard to keep your eyes on without being distracted by the phenomenal view over the Danube and the eight bridges crossing. Once on Gellért Hill however, one mustn’t miss the famous Gellért Baths. Budapest is renown for its thermal waters and its baths, and the Gellért Baths are housed in an impressive art nouveau structure. Its interior design, with its many mosaics, recalls the preceding relationships the city has had with healing springs and saunas, traditionally used within this neighborhood since the Ottoman Empire.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Mediterran is located in the centre of Buda and provides a real mediterranean atmosphere! The hotel is decorated in a tasteful, modern style and includes all of the amenities that guests have come to expect. You can enjoy the relaxing view on our garden or the Buda Hills through the soundproof windows of the rooms. We take the burden of city parking off your shoulders while you are exploring Budapest's world famous entertainment and tourist districts. The garage provides perfect security for our clients' cars. Drinkbar in the lobby on the ground floor is an intimate and charming meeting point. Our friendly and qualified staff will provide you personal care and extensive information to make your stay pleasant and really convenient! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterran

Address: Budaoersi ut 20 A., Budapest 1118, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Gellert Hill
Price Range: RM124 - RM780 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mediterran 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mediterran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterran Hotel Budapest
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Budapest
#59 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Mediterran staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Mediterran staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floor at back. room 56 good.”
 of 5 bubbles davidw873, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Look for a room at the back of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles BeanieKilkenny, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the front suffer from traffic noise. Ask for a room at the side or back.”
 of 5 bubbles Timski4u, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try to ensure you can disable the air conditioning in your room so you can close windows at night.”
 of 5 bubbles 966DavidL966, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Would be nice to have a mat on the bathroom floor for coming out of the shower.”
 of 5 bubbles 50maureenm, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay