We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Danubius Hotel Gellert

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,848 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Danubius Hotel Gellert
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,804: English reviews
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

+ Excellent place, charming building, nice service, very good brakfast, easy entrance to the thermal spa, friendly prices of the spa - problems with heatig, problem with cleaning (I solved it on the reception)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jindriskab
DH_Quality_Manager, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review

Dear jindriskab, We would like to express our sincerest gratitude to you for this beneficial review, it is a great possibility to us to improve our hotel. We are thrilled that you found our hotel excellent and charming. We would like to thank you for mentioned our nice service. It is really great to read that you liked our breakfast....

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed in hotel Gellert from 30/12/2016 to 4/01 2017 and would like to share my experience with you. After a long journey I wanted to get in the room and relax. The friendly doorman in uniform politely opened the heavy doors leading to a spacious lobby with a Christmas tree and holiday decorations. The receptionist on duty gave me...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank M5323BYelenam
DH_Quality_Manager, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review

Dear M5323BYelenam, To begin, we would like to thank you your generosity for sharing this detailed and beneficial review with us, you can be totally sure that we will consider everything you mentioned in your feedback However, we are sorry about the inconveniences that you experienced. Please be assured that we are carefully reading all feedback received and taking immediate...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is the worst hotel I have ever seen. The hotel has very old and crappy rooms. Don't get fooled by the outward appearance of the hotel or the location. The room had a broken phone, broken shower, blocked toilet, and 2 bugs in the room! I have pictures to prove it. The staff is extremely rude!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank abhi_inani
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The outside looks stunning. it's a beautiful building with a great location and views looking straight over the Danube: Budapest experience: check. Sadly though, once you've got beyond the entrance room, it's desperately disappointing. The corridors resemble the secure wing on a mental hospital. It's dull, lifeless and painfully in need of updating. The room has fared even worse. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris P
Osijek, Croatia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great location, lovely staff, but wouldn't give 4*. Rooms are dated and needs to be refurbished. Huge options at breakfast. Pool area looks way better on pictures and it is actually. Could heat rooms better in this time of the year!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Zorica_B88
Montreal
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Went with two friends. I was lucky on my room: Riverview, large, nice wood panelling, but the bathroom needed a new tub and fixtures and floor (sink was new). Generally not a bad room, although more 3 star than four. However, my friends had a moldy bathroom and dumpy conditions. Even looking at what was available this was pretty awful....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EEDMontreal
DH_Quality_Manager, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review

Dear EEDMontreal, We would liek to express our thankfulness to you for sharing this detailed feedback with us on Tripadvisor, we can learn a lot from it. We sincerely hope that overall you and your friends had a really nice stay in Budapest and that you gained beautiful memories together. However, please accept our most sincere apologies for your inconveniences...

Oslo
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

gellert has a great location, charming facilities and fantastic food in its restaurant. staff great. crowdy breakfast however, and we had to wait for 10 minutes to get a table all three mornings. they give you a free ticket to the spa - but you can probably skip that if you expect an actual spa.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 589fsb
DH_Quality_Manager, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review

Dear 589fsb, We can’t thank you enough this lovely review, it is always amazing to read the nice experiences of our dear visitors. We are absolutely delighted that you were almost totally satisfied with Danubius Hotel Gellért, we sincerely hope that you were enriched by beautiful memories during your short stay, and that you will return to us in the...

Zug, Switzerland
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

What a great name "GELLERT". But now the name only is left. The hotel needs immediat general refurbising. Everything is worn out textiles & furniture, dust in rooms, heating not functioning, cold draft blowing in rooms. The rating is less than *** now. Positive matters: very friendly staff and exellent breakfast. For sure next time when refurbished.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kauk0t
DH_Quality_Manager, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review

Dear kauk0t, First and foremost, we would like to thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us it means really a lot to our group. On the one hand, we are so happy to hear that you noticed the professionalism of the staff, don’t hesitate to turn to them during your next visit whether if you have a...

Khober
Reviewed 1 week ago

Room is very good , Location is excellent , cleanliness excellent , and sleep quality is excellent , Also facility is amazing . I am really very interest to be in this wonderful Hotel , Also the restaurant is very good in term of food verity, All staff are helpful and very kind.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank T4370EKmohameds
DH_Quality_Manager, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review

Dear T4370EKmohameds, Wow! What an absolutely stunning review! We would like to thank you for being so kind to write a review about your recent stay in our hotel. First of all, thank you for choosing our hotel as your accommodation! We would also like to thank you on behalf of our staff for rating our services excellent! Your kind...

Kyoto-city
Reviewed 1 week ago

There was no problem in location and staff response. However, heating was weak, it was a problem. The cold day on January 1 was hard. If you could improve the oil heater it would have been more comfortable.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank katoh2017
DH_Quality_Manager, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review

Dear katoh2017, We would like to thank you very much for describing your stay in our lovely hotel, we will take into consideration all your words. It really helps us a lot. On the one hand, we are more than happy that you choose this place as your accommodation, we sincerely hope that you had a really nice stay in...

1,566 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1344)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (84)
Viewed
Room/Suite (199)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (302)
Viewed
View from Room (87)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (82)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Other (548)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (186)
Viewed
Dining (69)
Viewed
Standard Single Room (27)
Viewed
Suite (35)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 340 in Budapest
4,443 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#15 of 340 in Budapest
6,649 reviews
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#6 of 340 in Budapest
1,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Gellert Hill

Neighbourhood Profile
Gellert Hill
If you want to treat your camera to some amazing scenery, Gellért Hill is a must on your itinerary. A funicular journey from the Chain Bridge along the hillsides provides a fast connection between Buda and Pest, hoisting visitors to panoramic vistas. Once on top of the hill, you’ll find the Citadel dominate the landscape with its imposing 19th century construction, a site that’s hard to keep your eyes on without being distracted by the phenomenal view over the Danube and the eight bridges crossing. Once on Gellért Hill however, one mustn’t miss the famous Gellért Baths. Budapest is renown for its thermal waters and its baths, and the Gellért Baths are housed in an impressive art nouveau structure. Its interior design, with its many mosaics, recalls the preceding relationships the city has had with healing springs and saunas, traditionally used within this neighborhood since the Ottoman Empire.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hotel is situated on the Danube riverbank, at the foot of Gellert Hill. Impressive Art-Nouveau building with large, light corridors and lots of character.The hotel shares its building with the famous Gellert Spa, one of the city's most beautiful thermal bath. It is located 10 minutes' walk from Great Market Hall and the downtown shopping area. The new Metro 4 station is just a few steps away from the hotel. It offers excellent business facilities, superb food in the brasserie and a charming coffee shop serving traditional pastries. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Danubius Hotel Gellert

Address: Szent Gellert Ter 1, Budapest 1111, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Gellert Hill
Price Range: RM303 - RM654 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Hotel Gellert 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Danubius Hotel Gellert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danubius Hotel Budapest
Hotel Gellert Budapest
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#65 Family Hotel in Budapest
#69 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#83 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Danubius Hotel Gellert staff and other travellers.
30 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (30)

Questions? Get answers from Danubius Hotel Gellert staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose another hotel. Sad, but true.”
 of 5 bubbles R587DOchrisp, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“View of Danube would be wonderfultimate utility probably more expensive.”
 of 5 bubbles jennifermC5915YC, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Beautiful view, very outdated, poor condition rooms”
 of 5 bubbles szonjak2015, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ash for a room that looks out onto the Danube/Bridge.”
  • View from the balcony.
 of 5 bubbles TH201281, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Be carefull...no airco in the place ...must be hard in summer.”
 of 5 bubbles 75fabricew, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay