We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

St. George Residence

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
St. George Residence
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

442 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 317: English reviews
dub
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Look no further for your hotel stay in Budapest .... You have found it in the St George Residence . We have just returned after a 3 night stay in this beautiful hotel and could not fault any part of it . From the check in staff when we arrived to the those that helped us with any questions we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank belledub
StGeorgeResidence, Director of Sales at St. George Residence, responded to this review

Dear Guest, You would make very happy any Hotel with a review you have made for us! We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed you 3 night stay with us from the check-in till the check out. We are especially happy to hear that those factors that are important to frequent travellers like friendliness of hotel staff, high...

Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Perfect location! Easy to get to from the train station. Walking distance to restaurants, malls, and a fitness center. Very old and unique hotel but so charming, quiet, peaceful, and full of culture and history. Excellent staff and they all spoke english well. Something interesting was this hotel was originally a home established in 1392. During WWII it suffered serious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ashporter8
StGeorgeResidence, Director of Sales at St. George Residence, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to write a review about our Hotel. Thank you for mentioning the advantaged of the location, closeness to the railway station. Thank you for your kind words about our staff and even having time to get acquainted with the historical background of our Property. Hope to see you soon with us! Kind regards,...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had an amazing four night stay in this centrally located, safe, and beautiful hotel. I'm a relatively high maintenance traveler but the staff here met all my needs. Unlike some chains, St. George's maintains the culture and history of Budapest so you still feel like your traveling when inside the hotel. The restaurant equally exceeded expectations, serving traditional Hungarian food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Serafima K
StGeorgeResidence, Director of Sales at St. George Residence, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Each hotel is to be happy to receive a review like yours one. We appreciate a lot that you have mentioned in your review that the hotel is centrally located, safe and beautiful. It is a pleasure to hear that you have been satisfied with our staff. Thank you for including in your review that the Hotel is...

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here for two nights in September. The location is amazing - you can walk to many of the typical areas to visit and there are lots of great restaurants near by. The room was huge. There was a kitchen area and lounge as well as a big bedroom and bathroom with a bath tub. The view was over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melianie
StGeorgeResidence, Director of Sales at St. George Residence, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience after your stay with us. Thank you for mentioning that the location is amazing, that there are lots of restaurants nearby, that the room is huge comprises of a separate bedroom, kitchen and living areas and a bathroom equipped with bathtub. It is a pity that you say that the breakfast is...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Such a nice castle like hotel and it was very calm when I was there. The people are nice and since there is no elevator they help you with luggage! I couldn't figure out the phone for some time haha you have to get the battery and put them in the phone. I was in room 8! It was beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abena O
StGeorgeResidence, Director of Sales at St. George Residence, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing our Castle Hotel in the Buda Castle Hill area. Thank you also for your comment with regard to the lack of batteries in the phone in the suite. Thank you for mentioning that you have ordered a birthday surprise in the suite on request which we have gladly organized for you. Thank you for...

Regina, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for two month with a 10 month old, the hotel was very accommodating and had the cot already set up upon our arrival. No elevator to the upstair floor but they store our pram/stroller in a room downstairs so it was available at our disposal. The food was ok, but the service was excellent and room service was fast!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beachbumjr
StGeorgeResidence, Director of Sales at St. George Residence, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for the nice review of our Hotel. Thank you for mentioning that it is great for stay with kids. Thank you for your kinds words about service and especially the room service. We are glad to hear that you have liked the Hotel and its surroundings and will recommend us! Looking forward to serve...

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016

Fantastic diamond suite & 5 star hotel in the lovely historical castle district location, and Budapest has lots to see and a great transport system. Unfortunately the quality of the hotel food was far from 5 star and the buffet breakfast was in particular very disappointing with no service and definitely not worth 15 euros. For example tinned fruit was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeterFett
StGeorgeResidence, Director of Sales at St. George Residence, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for your detailed review with regard to your stay in a Romantic Package with us. We regret to hear that you were not satisfied with the quality of the buffet breakfast and the value of breakfast for money. Thank you also for pointing out to the problems with the bathroom equipped with Jacuzzi namely stench and...

Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Excellent location, up in the old Buda, and a grand hotel. Our apartment felt like we were living in a palace, beautiful furnishings and plenty of space. There was even a kitchen, to make tea and snacks, if necessary.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeteLucy434
StGeorgeResidence, Director of Sales at St. George Residence, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your informative and useful review. Thank you for highlighting that our suites are equipped with a kitchenette. Looking forward to accommodate you in our Hotel soon! Kind regards, Andrea Farkas, Sales Manager, St. George Residence All Suite Hotel de Luxe

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Hotel staff was extremely friendly. Spacious suite, room was stifling hot due to lack of AC.. Towels were like sandpaper, no shampoo or conditioner, no washcloth. Traveling for over a week with heavy luggage.. NO elevator and was on second floor which was two flights up from lobby..Hotel is situated in great area, very quiet, near Buda Castle and Chain...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
StGeorgeResidence, Director of Sales at St. George Residence, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about our Property. Thank you for your comments with regard to quality of towels, lack of bathroom amenities namely shampoo, conditioner. Washcloth is provided on request; washing up of used dishes is done by housekeeping ladies. Due to historical nature of the building there is no elevator but our Front Office colleagues may...

McKinney, Texas
Reviewed 19 October 2016

We were scheduled to sail out of Budapest in December, and our plan was to have three nights at the St George. Unfortunately, the Lufthanza pilots went on strike 48 hours before our flights left from the US, so we lost all but one night. Still - we got to sleep in a castle! And it was amazing. We stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tami_Sutcliffe
StGeorgeResidence, Director of Sales at St. George Residence, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for such a detailed review of our Property including accommodation, dining, front office services. It makes us happy to hear that the comfort of our suites with Jacuzzi and the charm of the Hotel and its surroundings have managed to wash away minor inconveniencies you encountered during your travel and stay in Budapest (Lufthansa...

864 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (273)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (61)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (148)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (530)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Bronze Suite (68)
Viewed
Diamond Suite (74)
Viewed
Gold Suite (73)
Viewed
Dining (105)
Viewed
Silver Suite (73)
Viewed
The Hotel (105)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
#26 of 339 in Budapest
747 reviews
District I / Buda
Lanchid 19 Hotel
Lanchid 19 Hotel
#44 of 339 in Budapest
635 reviews
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#19 of 339 in Budapest
3,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Baltazar Budapest
Baltazar Budapest
#5 of 339 in Budapest
419 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Residence
Boscolo Residence
#50 of 339 in Budapest
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in District I / Buda

Neighbourhood Profile
District I / Buda
The historical center to a city with a multifarious and intricate past, Buda has some of the most outstanding buildings in Europe and an enviable natural landscape with stunning views onto the Danube. Centered around the Royal Palace, it provides a glimpse into the golden years of the Austro-Hungarian empire and the lives led by the aristocracy at the time. Matthias Church, beside the palace, hosted many events attended by the royal family and was the chosen place for the coronation of Franz Josef, one of the Hungarian Habsburg kings. Having admired the palace and the church, a visit to Buda will be unforgettable by the stunning and memorable panorama over Pest offered by the seven towered Fishermen’s Bastion.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Elegant residence with its 26 suites, charming patio, luxury restaurant and cozy cafe is an ideal home for tourists, families, groups, either for short visits or extended stays. St. George Residence combines old time hospitality with a full range of modern services. Timeless elegance, historic ambience and the full comfort of the 21st century in a World Heritage environment. Recommended for those wishing a pleasant accommodation of luxury standard, lavish environs and historic ambience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about St. George Residence

Address: Fortuna utca 4., Budapest 1014, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Price Range: RM443 - RM1,452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — St. George Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your St. George Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. George Residence In The Buda Castle Hotel Budapest
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Budapest
#27 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#28 Business Hotel in Budapest
#47 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from St. George Residence staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from St. George Residence staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Gold Suite!”
  • Gold Suite
 of 5 bubbles 456serafimak, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The courtyard facing suites are nice and quiet, and the diamond suites are lovely and very spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles PeterFett, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book a suite if you can. The rooms are gigantic and include a full kitchen w/microwave and fridge. The house wine package is excellent, too.”
  • #26 includes a full kitchen and dining table with comfy chairs
  • Excellent tub
  • Tall windows and chandelier
 of 5 bubbles Tami_Sutcliffe, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room1 was lovely, on the ground floor as there is no elevator”
 of 5 bubbles 19361936, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“No lift but staff will carry your bags to your room.”
 of 5 bubbles rachelf630, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay