We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hostel Possonium

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Hostel Possonium
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

120 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 79: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Lovely hostel, very comfortable, very clean, the guy at the desk and his dog are very friendly and can't do enough for you. The bathrooms look like they have been newly done and the shower there is probably the best shower I've had during my trip around Europe...my only problem was that there are only two bathrooms for a whole...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaley T
Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Just spent 4 nights at this hostel.Stayed in a private room [beer room].Was very comfortable and warm.You get 2 free bottles of beer in the fridge and a free shot in the bar.The room has its own bathroom.Theres a double bed up the steps, which is quite unique.The only negative was the breakfast option.Only a cold continental type available although...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YORKSCLARET09
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good location, 15 mins from the city center on foot. The staff is very friendly! Room and hygiene average. It's a great option if you're travelling by train (train station is just 2 mins away). Don't get a taxi as it will be too expensive unless you've called it, always use the public transport.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ευαγγελία Σ
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

After 3 nights I am covered in bedbug bites! (50+) has a lot of potential and a really cool underground bar...massive shame it has bugs, don't stay here unless you want to get eaten alive! Facility's are what you would expect from a hostel, nothing special but does the trick! Great location, about a 20min stroll from the main areas

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Streety72
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Small but very nice hostel. easy access while coming from the airport with 1 bus. Also on walking distance from the train station, if you want to visit Vienna by train. Private room was really nice decorated with green bottles. Just loved the bar in the basement.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emidr3amz
Plovdiv, Bulgaria
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

The location of this hostel is very good, the old town is pretty close and the staff is friendly BUT the private room was really dirty, I had the feeling that our sheets were used by somebody else, the room smelled of weed ( pot ), there was a noisy party in the garden till the small hours ... This...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Velizara_PG
Mato12345, Majiteľ at Hostel Possonium, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for your stay in our hostel. We know about bad condition of our private rooms, one of them is now under reconstruction from this reason, room where you stayed we'll remake in next two weeks. Our garden is open till 22:00, in Friday and Saturday till 23:00.

Reviewed 24 August 2016

We (me and 2 other friends) arrived in Bratislava with the intention of staying for one night only, and didn't book any place in advance. After searching for some hostels (all full), one of those managed to contact this hostel's staff, and they were amazingly helpful. They were able to accommodate the three of us, despite being almost full, and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank José R
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

The hostel is well located, you can easily reach the center in 20 minutes walking. The room when I arrived was very dirty, the private bathroom as well it was awful. The bed wood boards was moving behind the mattress and at some point there was an hole. The garden is full of beautiful dirty cats who go around. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gianluca O
Mato12345, Majiteľ at Hostel Possonium, responded to this review

Dear customer, you have checked in at 10:48 which is an extra early check in. Our check out time is until 11:00 a.m. and check in time is after 2:00 p.m. Of course the room, bathroom, and kitchen wasn't clean yet, as we are cleaning the hostel every day between 11:30 - 14:00. In this time you were already exploring...

Sint-Truiden, Belgium
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Very nice hostel, close to the public transport and 20 min from the airport. The city center is at 15 min walking distance. Very relax garden with a bar and good breakfast in the morning. Same for the basement after 22u were you can play some table football or enjoy some drinks with friends.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thijsjamaer
Komarno, Slovakia
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Great place for the price. Very noisy at night for sleeping, especially in a room with windows facing the road :( Not a renewed venue, but great place as a fast sleep alternative. Located really near the main train station.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michal Z

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Staré Mesto
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
#5 of 93 in Bratislava
1,370 reviews
Mercure Bratislava Centrum
#13 of 93 in Bratislava
1,367 reviews
Apollo Hotel
#18 of 93 in Bratislava
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Patio Hostel
#4 of 64 in Bratislava
474 reviews
Staré Mesto
Freddie next to Mercury
Freddie next to Mercury
#9 of 64 in Bratislava
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Hostel Possonium

Address: Shancova 20, Bratislava 811 04, Slovakia
Region: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava > Staré Mesto
Price Range: RM53 - RM276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Possonium 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Possonium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hostel Possonium staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room that faces the garden and not the main street”
 of 5 bubbles 354jos_r, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Select a room that's facing backyard if you wanna sleep better at night”
 of 5 bubbles 723michalz, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“long walk to town but nice hostel”
 of 5 bubbles Chrisb199122, 21 May 2016 | Read review
“The bar both out the back and downstairs are good to mingle”
 of 5 bubbles jkmcauslan, 13 Apr 2016 | Read review
“We chose "Sweden" a 4 person room.”
 of 5 bubbles 244seanh, 31 Mar 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay