We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
28/01/2018 29/01/2018
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Onuku Farm Hostel

    89 Hamilton's Rd, Akaroa 7452, New Zealand
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    28/01/2018 29/01/2018
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in AkaroaSee available hotels in Akaroa
    Traveller (77)
    Room & Suite (6)
    Dining (2)
    Overview
    • Excellent67%
    • Very good20%
    • Average7%
    • Poor2%
    • Terrible4%
    Travellers talk about
    “tonga hut” (5 reviews)
    “amazing views” (7 reviews)
    “dolphin tour” (3 reviews)
    Free Internet
    Free Parking
    Kitchenette
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a ReviewReviews (92)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 75 reviews

    Reviewed 5 days ago

    When in Akaroa do yourself a favor and spend at least one night at Onuku Farm Hostel. The hostel offers various room options and we booked the Tonga hut for two nights. But the star gazers huts looked really awesome too. Do yourself a second...More

    Thank Britt C
    Response from OnukuHostel, Manager at Onuku Farm HostelResponded 4 days ago

    Hi Britt! Thanks so much for your review and kind words. You were such a pleasure to have as a guest, and we wish all *3* of you safe and happy travels. You're welcome back to kayak with dolphins anytime!

    Reviewed 1 week ago

    I feel sorry, but for me, it was overrated. My partner and I stayed 1 night at the Stargazer cabin, it was ok, unfortunately we had the lights from the caravan near by dazzling during many hours of the night in our cabin spoiling the...More

    Thank ane_port
    Response from OnukuHostel, Manager at Onuku Farm HostelResponded 4 days ago

    Hi Ane! Thanks for your review and for the positive feedback! As to the negative parts of your stay, we unfortunately cannot change the layout of the property or control the usage of lights from other guests, but we will in the future direct our...More

    Reviewed 12 December 2017

    We spent 4 nights in the Farm House and had a fabulous time, very rustic which adds to its wonderful charm, but fully functional in all respects. Amazing views and fantastic walks , BBQ 's provided for your evening meals and a big comfortable lounge...More

    Thank Ken Y
    Response from OnukuHostel, Manager at Onuku Farm HostelResponded 1 week ago

    Dear Ken and family, Thank you so much for your kind review! It was such a pleasure to have you, and you're welcome back anytime. You were the perfect guests! Warm Regards from Leslie and Rhod!

    Reviewed 20 October 2017

    Okay let me tell you. Location- bit far out of town but sometimes that is what you want! It is no worries if you have a car (12 minute drive) but if you don't it is also not really a problem because you can get...More

    Thank kymlfoley
    Response from OnukuHostel, Manager at Onuku Farm HostelResponded 22 October 2017

    Kym, you were such a pleasure to have as a guest and you are welcome back any time. We greatly appreciate your comments, and we will take your criticisms to heart and grow from them! As one of our first guests (we are new managers...More

    Reviewed 10 August 2017

    We stayed at the farms campground for one night in summer. When you don't mind farm animals running around and don't need fancy toilets and shower this place is perfect for you. Wifi worked fine even 50 m away from the kitchen. Everything is nice...More

    Thank Beblibla
    Response from OnukuHostel, Manager at Onuku Farm HostelResponded 4 days ago

    Hello! Thanks so much for your review - we appreciate the feedback and always hope to improve. May you have sunny skies and warm winds for the rest of your travels!

    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Internet
    • Free Parking
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$22 - US$25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Kitchenette
    • Number of rooms
    • 10
    • Location
    • New Zealand >
    • South Island >
    • Canterbury Region >
    • Akaroa
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (77)
    Room & Suite (6)
    Dining (2)
    Hotel & Grounds (69)
    Nearby
    Nearby HotelsSee all 5 hotels in Akaroa
    Akaroa Village inn
    133 reviews
    3.95 km away
    Akaroa Criterion Motel
    296 reviews
    4.53 km away
    Tresori Motor Lodge
    125 reviews
    4.93 km away
    La Rochelle Motel
    223 reviews
    4.98 km away
    Nearby Restaurants
    The Little Bistro
    767 reviews
    4.79 km away
    Bully Hayes Restaurant & Bar
    881 reviews
    4.08 km away
    The Brasserie Kitchen And Bar
    531 reviews
    4.71 km away
    Murphy's On The Corner
    91 reviews
    3.91 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    The Giant's House
    819 reviews
    4.33 km away
    Banks Peninsula
    984 reviews
    4.08 km away
    Akaroa Lighthouse
    110 reviews
    3.58 km away
    Akaroa Museum
    145 reviews
    4.52 km away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from Onuku Farm Hostel staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Submit
    Room Tips
    "Book in advance for the farm house rooms or camp site plots"
    Read review
    "go the female dorm!"
    Read review
    "The tonga hut is very cool, the only downside is it's outside the range of the wifi."
    Read review
    "So many options, huts, camping, dorm or private rooms. You can't go wrong!"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing