We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

413 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 372: English reviews
Start your review of Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park
 Click to rate
Davos Dorf, Graubunden, Switzerland
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Charmy and friendly welcome, helpful staff, breathtaking view over the Akaroa Harbour, short walk to the village, clean amenties, grass sites. Can recommend a stay for a few days, although the road to come here is very windy and hilly but beautiful

 Report
Helpful?
Thank markusstoffel
akaroa757, Guest Relations Manager at Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi markusstoffel Great that you found our park so charming and accommodating, thank you for the review and recommendation, we hope you are able to visit again.

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

Unable to find any reasonably priced accommodation in Akaroa at short notice we reluctantly booked a small family cabin. We were very pleasantly surprised. Apart from no ensuite, we knew this on booking, the cabin was warm and cosy and well setup with fridge, heater, electric kettle, cups, tea and coffee etc. We supplied our own linen but this was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eileen J
akaroa757, Guest Relations Manager at Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi Eileen J, Thank you for your kind comments, and it is nice to know that you were happy in a cabin in our holiday park, because it sounds like you are more used to hotel type accommodation. Just for the view alone it is worth the stay.

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 2 nights, the room was clean and comfortable. We didn't have the best of weather and it didn't stop us from exploring. It may be a good idea to have pull down blinds on the balcony so it's possible to sit in enclement weather outside. Although our room was comfortable there were a couple of things-attention to detail-no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mira L
akaroa757, Guest Relations Manager at Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi Mira L, Thank you for the review, and apologise for not having everything up to scratch in your unit on the day. We have had the missing power lead replaced and passed on to the cleaners the need to double check that there are sufficient tea bags/drinking chocolate etc on hand.

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

stayed one night at non powered site, booking was easy, people friendly, facilities good. enjoyable stay. kitchen ok, some more room in TV viewing room , waqs a little cramped for 8 people when we visited.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kp8004
akaroa757, Guest Relations Manager at Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi kp8004, Thank you for the review and nice to know you found everything satisfactory. Re tv rooms, there are two of them. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic views looking down to Akaroa . Staying in Studio with great facilities. Site has small swimming pool .BBQ (tokens required )children's playground and trampoline. Various tent pitches and camper van sites . You can walk down into Akaroa in about 10 Mins but beware the climb back up is very steep. Very friendly and helpful staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julie4240
akaroa757, Guest Relations Manager at Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi julie4240, Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and the views, and yes, the staff do get good comments re their friendliness and helpfulness. Thank you for the review.

United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great view of the Harbour. Self-contained cabins are very basic. NO free wifi. This accommodation is not cheap....and cannot be described as luxury by any stretch of the imagination. Bit like being in a static caravan. Adequate might be a good description. There is a laundry in the campers ablutions which requires 2x $2 coins. It is within walking distance...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank veekayhay
akaroa757, Guest Relations Manager at Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi veekayhay, Sorry you did not find our cabin luxurious, but they are as described, quality four star cabins priced accordingly, not self contained motel units which would cost considerably more. Re wifi, yes we do offer it free as advertised, possibly you did not realise this, you would have needed to get the password from the office.

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

For a 10 Ten park I was a quite disappointed how this park stacked up to other Top 10 Parks. The Kitchen facilities really do need to be brought up to a good working standard. Both toasters only toasted on side, cookers and kitchen hobs old and not in the best condition. The area to wash dishes was limited with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda A
akaroa757, Guest Relations Manager at Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi Amanda A, Thank you for taking the time to review our park, and sorry it did not meet with your expectations on this occasion. The toasters issue will have been sorted, toasters do get damaged from time to time, but the cook tops were replaced recently, and there were some brand new induction cook tops installed some weeks ago....

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Was plesantly surprised at both the price and amenities available. We had been staying in other Top10's on this trip and were happy to have a small fridge available in our room and also a small TV. we had not had this before. Beautiful spot overlooking Akaroa Harbour. Pool looked clean and staff were friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shannon L
akaroa757, Guest Relations Manager at Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi Shannon L, We do get good comments about the fact our cabins have a fabulous view, a fridge, jug and flat screen tv, facilities that a lot of park cabins do not have. Thank you for the review.

Emirate of Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Overall, an okay experience - was okay for one night, bed was comfy, I stayed in a standard room which was a bed with basic appliances. The shared bathroom was actually shared with the whole resort which wasn't really clear in the description. A nice walk to central Akaroa which is amazing - would recommend for 1-2 night stay. Very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
akaroa757, Guest Relations Manager at Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi Lisa W, Thank you for your review, and the chance to mention that our cabins, along with probably all cabins in a holiday park, do not have en suite ablution facilities, which is why they are called park cabins. However we do have self contained motel type units that have en suites for a few dollar more per night.

Cranebrook, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband, 2 kids and I stayed here for 1 night in our camper. Great views down to Akaroa, nice big spaces to park in, the kids loved the playground! Facilities were clean and tidy. Staff were friendly. My only downside is it is a long walk uphill to reception from the powered sites haha!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KerynO84
akaroa757, Guest Relations Manager at Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi KerynO84, Great that you enjoyed your stay, and sorry that you found your site some distance from the office, possibly we could have found a closer site if asked. Unfortunately to get a view like we have we need to be on a hillside, meaning it will be an uphill walk at some point.

125 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (125)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (57)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
1.6 km away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
58 reviews
0.9 km away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
1.0 km away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#2 of 6 in Akaroa
207 reviews
0.9 km away
Bon Accord
Bon Accord
#21 of 24 in Akaroa
48 reviews
1.5 km away
L'Abri
L'Abri
#2 of 24 in Akaroa
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A four star TOP 10 holiday park in a premier location above the village. Full park facilities, including self contained studio and one bedroom park motels, plus cabins. Children's playground, trampoline, swimming pool and paddling pool. All weather van sites and grass tent sites amongst shady trees. Great views of Akaroa harbour and village from most units and sites, on a quiet road yet only 300 meters from main street and beach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park

Address: 96 Morgans Road, Akaroa 7542, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Price Range: RM234 - RM409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cabin we had was great it overlooked the harbour. Parking was a bit tight but managed ok in the end.”
 of 5 bubbles , 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Great views over Akaroa harbour”
 of 5 bubbles sophiemd2017, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you know where you want to camp do as as we got put exactly where we asked!!”
  • the view from our site
 of 5 bubbles TheBlackFamily18, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Check the site map.”
  • Grand vista.
 of 5 bubbles , 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you want a site close to amenities mention it when booking.”
 of 5 bubbles louise4487, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5