We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all 5 hotels in Akaroa

La Rochelle Motel

223 reviews
Save
Traveller (23)
Room & Suite (18)
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Overview
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good33%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“small patio”(5 reviews)
“native trees”(3 reviews)
“room was clean”(10 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Kitchenette
Wheelchair Access
Laundry Service
Self-Serve Laundry
4.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (223)Write a Review
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveller rating
127
72
10
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
127
72
10
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall pationative treesroom was cleanupstairs roomnice strolllovely settingbalcony overlookingbabbling brooklovely place to stayeasy walkstream runningshops restaurantsstayed for nightscomfortable staythe main streetfriendly hostsground floor
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 213 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2017

Excellent location just a short walk to the park, shops, cafes and restaurants. I had a quiet upstairs room with a small balcony overlooking a stream. Very relaxing. My thanks to Alex and Jane for a very comfy stay. Would have no hesitation in staying...More

Thank BillyB088y
Response from LaRochelleMotel, Manager at La Rochelle MotelResponded 5 November 2017

Hi BillyB088y, Thanks for choosing to stay with us recently and for the kind words. We are always pleased to hear when someone has had a comfortable stay with us and that you wouldn't hesitate to return. We are having some amazing weather this month...More

Hotel's Favourite
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed for one night on a road trip around North Canterbury and Akaroa was first stop on our list. Found this motel on TripAdvisor, phoned and booked. Super quiet upstairs room with lots of natives outside the balcony and the sound of native birds was...More

Thank Antarisha
Response from LaRochelleMotel, Manager at La Rochelle MotelResponded 25 October 2017

Hi Antarisha, Thanks for such a positive recommendation and also for choosing to book directly with us. The native garden and bird life are what helps set our property apart of other motels throughout NZ. It is always nice to have the babble of the...More

Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

We had the immense pleasure of four nights in an upstairs room, which included a spa bath, queen bed, kitchenette and balcony. From the balcony the sounds and sights were delightful and it was easy to forget you were so near to the main road...More

Thank Ezra710
Response from LaRochelleMotel, Manager at La Rochelle MotelResponded 12 October 2017

Hi Gavin, Thanks for the kind words. We definitely consider ourselves lucky to have such a relaxing place to wake up everyday. The variety of bird life around the property and the stream are always soothing to listen to. It appears you also got a...More

Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

Arrived late Thursday night and were shown to Room 7. Comfortable, spacious and great value. Our hosts Alex & Jane are really nice people and offered ideas for what to do in Akaroa even though we had stayed in Akaroa before. Small selection of books...More

Thank Asko K
Response from LaRochelleMotel, Manager at La Rochelle MotelResponded 1 October 2017

Hi Asko, Thank you for giving us such a positive recommendation. It's always nice to hear when someone has enjoyed their stay with us in Akaroa. We hope you get a chance to visit for longer next time. Kind regards Alex & Jane

Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

My husband and I decided to escape our adult children for a couple of nights as we hadn't stayed in akaroa since the earthquakes over the hill we went. La rochelle is situated at the start of the main street and the perfect combination of...More

Thank Cathy S
Response from LaRochelleMotel, Manager at La Rochelle MotelResponded 18 August 2017

Hi Cathy, Thanks for taking time to review La Rochelle Motel. It had been a while since you were last in Akaroa so is nice to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us. Hopefully you you got back home feeling re-energised and have...More

PreviousNext
12345643
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (23)
Room & Suite (18)
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Bathroom (2)
About
Awards & Recognition
GreenPartner
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Laundry Service
Self-Serve Laundry
Babysitting
Room amenities
Refrigerator in room
Microwave
Details
Price range
US$97 - US$119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$97 - US$119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite