We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all B&B in Picton

Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast

156 reviews
Save
Traveller (25)
Room & Suite (16)
Dining (7)
Overview
  • Excellent96%
  • Very good4%
  • Average0%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“glass of wine”(21 reviews)
“b b”(45 reviews)
“janet ian”(7 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Rooms
Kitchenette
Pool
3.5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (156)Write a Review
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
137
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
137
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsglass of wineb bjanet ianother gueststravel tipslocal knowledgecorn fritterssouth islandgreat hostsbed and breakfaston arrivalnew zealandwelcome drinkperfect hospitalitycoffee machinea great stayexcellent breakfast
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 143 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Janet and Ian are perfect B&B hosts! So friendly and knowledgeable but also great at offering you privacy. The rooms have everything you need. They are so clean and welcoming. We used this rainy night to relax, watch TV in our room, and sleep in...More

Thank hansesar
Response from Janet and Ian D, Owner at Anchor Down Bed & BreakfastResponded 4 days ago

Hahahaha. Thank you for your review. We are thrilled you loved Ian's breakfast and we enjoyed your comments a lot. Maybe your friends won't :). Our B&B will always have a welcome room for you should you ever return. We wish you safe travels and...More

Reviewed 25 November 2017

A truly enjoyable stay...unfortunately for only one night. My wife and I were met at the ferry by Janet, and driven to her home, with village highlights pointed out along the way. While enjoying a glass of local wine, we chatted and got to know...More

Thank Ggitz
Response from Janet and Ian D, Owner at Anchor Down Bed & BreakfastResponded 26 November 2017

Oh wow. Thank you for this lovely review. We enjoyed having you to stay. We hope the trip to Christchurch was great and you were able to appreciate the beautiful scenery along the way. Your NZ trip was very short so we do look forward...More

Reviewed 15 November 2017

Ian & Janet are awesome! They turn an already lovely guesthouse into an exceptional guesthouse. We were met off the ferry by Janet who took us through Picton and pointed out various recommended walks (Short & long), good restaurants and bars. The guesthouse is only...More

Thank GunnerSurrey
Response from Janet and Ian D, Owner at Anchor Down Bed & BreakfastResponded 16 November 2017

Hello there GunnerSurrey. Thank you so much for your fabulous review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We have thought about your trip and the great experiences you will be having...hope the weather turned out OK too. We think you will be back...More

Reviewed 29 October 2017

Ian and Janet were so welcoming and helpful, accommodating our early check-in. Room was spacious, quiet and comfortable. Access to garden was delightful. Location is wonderful--just close enough to downtown to be able to access all Picton's attractions yet away from the downtown congestion. Wine...More

Thank jamesmQ5685RF
Response from Janet and Ian D, Owner at Anchor Down Bed & BreakfastResponded 1 November 2017

Wow Jim and Mary we are blushing so much, at your wonderful review. We very much enjoyed your company too. Thank you for mentioning Ian's lovely peaches. Lucky you came when you did as they are almost gone!! We shall have to plant a tree...More

Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

What a gem this bed and breakfast is! Three Aussie couples enjoyed the hospitality of Ian and Janet and the comfort of their ensuited rooms for two nights. Janet made some great suggestions as to what to visit in the Picton/Blenheim area and her advice...More

Thank Robert B
Response from Janet and Ian D, Owner at Anchor Down Bed & BreakfastResponded 3 October 2017

Hi Robert B. (Bob). Thanks for your fantastic review. We love that you enjoyed your stay and we certainly look forward to seeing you all again. We hope you are having an amazing time in Golden Bay and that you found Rosie Glow Chocolates! kind...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345629
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Room amenities
Refrigerator in room
Details
Price range
US$85 - US$120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$85 - US$120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (25)
Room & Suite (16)
Dining (7)
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Bathroom (2)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Room Tips
"Our group had all three ground floor rooms and they were all lovely."
Read review
"King room is the best choice from our experience,"
Read review
"All rooms are very quiet."
Read review
"our room overlooked the short driveway,but was quiet. we slept very well."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite