We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Portage

Save
Share
2923 Kenepuru Road, Picton 7282 New Zealand
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
US$100
View deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (196)
Room & Suite (47)
Pool & Beach (17)

About

#9 of 18 hotels in Picton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Base yourself at THE PORTAGE and experience the best Marlborough has to offer. We are an ideal 2 or 3 night stay so that you can enjoy winery tours in and around Blenheim and Picton, cruising the Marlborough Sounds, walking New Zealand's famous Queen Charlotte Track, wildlife eco tours, or sea kayaking , fishing and sailing on Kenepuru Sound. Let us know your favourite adventure activity when you book and we'll arrange it for you. Food options range from quality restaurant dining featuring seafood to a cafe overlooking the spectacular Sounds view. Located 10 minutes walk from the acclaimed Queen Charlotte Track, THE PORTAGE offers a selection of accommodation from our premium Kowhai suites to two story villas and hillside sea view rooms as well as a few budget rooms. THE PORTAGE RESORT HOTEL's central location in Marlborough makes it easy to reach from all over New Zealand. Access is easy - its only 15 minutes from Picton by boat or 1.25 hours by road. Blenheim Airport has multiple flights from the major cities of Auckland, Wellington or Christchurch, every day. THE PORTAGE is your Marlborough accommodation base to explore the magic of the Marlborough Sounds on the south island of New Zealand.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Paid wifi
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Fishing
Shuttle bus service
Meeting rooms
Parking
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Complimentary tea
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Private balcony
Seating area
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more
548Reviews1Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 164
  • 148
  • 110
  • 80
  • 46
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Kiwis64 wrote a review 13 Jul
Takaka, New Zealand
We had the smorgasbord (no choice) and it was very disappointing and expensive. The food was bland and poor quality ingredients. And the restaurant didn’t cater well for vegetarians. The wedges were good though. The staff were friendly and hard working.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from THC Portage , Owner at The Portage
Responded 3 days ago
Kia ora Kiwis64, We are disappointed to hear that you found our dinner buffet to not be to your satisfaction. While we certainly respect your feedback, we're surprised as our guests were racing about the quality and value for money we offer for the $39 buffet spread we offer. We are pleased to hear that you found the team to be friendly and hardworking. Warm Regards, Joshua Thomas General Manager
Read more
Carolyn S wrote a review 3 Jul
Christchurch, New Zealand
Great view from accommodation, the bathroom was in need of up-dating and there was NO TV in the room. Needed bowls for cereal and cutlery if self catering. The reception and bar needed a coat of paint and one evening we were there for a meal it was freezing in the dining area with no fire on (4 ladies sat with their thick jackets on) the staff were lovely - especially Manpreet and Justin. Think its a great place to spend a relaxing few days away- just needs a few "touch ups".
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from THC Portage , Owner at The Portage
Responded 3 days ago
Kia ora Carolyn, We are glad to hear that you found the team to be helpful and friendly. We will be sure to keep your feedback in mind when we undertake refurbishment work in the future. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back on your next visit to the Marlborough Sounds. Warm Regards, Joshua Thomas General Manager
Read more
Janice Anderson wrote a review 2 Jul
Thank you so much for having us, we book last minute for an overnight stay and the reception was so kind and helpful, we dined in for dinner and the food was superb, we had the lamb shanks and goat curry and the meat was so delicate and tasty. We had our baby daughter with us and they were so accommodating with her high chair and then giving us milk free of charge for her night bottle. The views are spectacular and we're so happy we picked to come here, thank you again team!! 🙏❤
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from THC Portage , Owner at The Portage
Responded 3 days ago
Kia ora, Thank you for your 5 Star review! We are delighted to hear that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your stay. We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit. Warm Regards, Joshua Thomas General Manager
Read more
dolly070759 wrote a review Jun 2021
Nelson, New Zealand
Room clean and comfortable. Buffet on the Friday excellent and the al a carte on the Saturday very well presented and cooked. Overall had a lovely mini break and felt I'd been away for a week. The staff were exceptional.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from THC Portage , Owner at The Portage
Responded 3 days ago
Kia ora dolly070759, We are delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your recent stay at The Portage. Thanks for taking the time to share your review. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to our piece of paradise. Warm Regards, Joshua Thomas General Manager
Read more
MilmineM wrote a review Jun 2021
Auckland, New Zealand
After spending several nights at lovely resorts along the QC track, The Portage felt like a more standard hotel. The rooms were clean and well appointed but just a little ordinary. Friday night only offered a buffet (which was not replenished in the time we were in the dining room) unless you were a local in which case fish and chips were on offer!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$76 - US$151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the portage hotel picton, portage hotel picton
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Peppers Portage
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandMarlborough RegionPicton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
41
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Portage
Which popular attractions are close to The Portage?
Nearby attractions include Lochmara Lodge Marlborough Sounds Wildlife Recovery Centre (4.3 km), Karaka Point Walk (6.6 km), and Lochmara Lodge Arts Centre (4.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Portage?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Portage?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at The Portage?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Portage?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lochmara Cafe, Jolly Roger Restaurant & Bar, and The Portage.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Portage?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Portage?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Portage?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to The Portage?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Edwin Fox Maritime Museum (10.0 km).
Does The Portage have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.