We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

American Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
American Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

505 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for American Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 496: English reviews
Rollingbay
Reviewed 3 October 2016

This place needs to be freshened up with paint and new furniture in the sitting room. The overall feeling when entering is gloomy and dirty, it isn't unclean but appears that way. Our room (203) was narrow with dark wainscoting that exaggerated the tight feeling. The bed was extremely uncomfortable as were the pillows, two were just lumps of foam....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Y3740RDpamelaw
AmericanGuestHouse, Manager at American Guest House, responded to this review

We apologize that the size of your room wasn't what you were expecting - all of our rooms are each unique and vary in size. We will definitely look into the uncomfortability, as we are always looking for suggestions. We are known for our wonderful homemade breakfasts and our convenient location - we are glad this was accommodating for you.

london
Reviewed 30 September 2016

We had room 403 which was huge although bathroom is quite small but adequate. It is at the top of three flights of stairs and no lift so you had better be fit. Room was clean and bright and spacious as I said bed was very comfortable. There is a huge fridge in the room so plenty of room to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SimonChristopher23
AmericanGuestHouse, Manager at American Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for leaving us a great review. We are known for our great homemade breakfasts and convenient location - we are glad this this was accommodating for you. Although we don't have an elevator, our Innkeepers are happy to help with luggage. We appreciate your great feedback and hope you stay with...

Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

American Guest House is in a great location, close to transportation and itself a fun, active neighborhood. It was clean, comfortable, historical & oozed charm. Chef Kevin made delicious breakfasts that kept us going all day long. We definitely recommend a stay at the AGH!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Connie S
AmericanGuestHouse, Owner at American Guest House, responded to this review

We are sooo thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at our DC Inn, and we are grateful for the wonderful review. Looking forward to your return.

Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewed 20 September 2016

On a business trip to the hill and stayed 4 nights at the Guest House. The staff were friendly and the room was clean and cozy. The Guest House is located about 1.5 miles away from "the Mall" which puts it well within walking distance of popular attractions. I liked being a bit further away from downtown. The neighborhood is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CDA0731
AmericanGuestHouse, Manager at American Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for writing a wonderful review. We are conveniently located to many of the DC attractions and are close to the Dupont Metro Station - we are glad this was accommodating for you. We are known for our delicious homemade breakfasts that we prepare every morning and we are happy you enjoyed...

Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

The American Guest House is the best B&B ever! I stayed there during a business trip in Aug16 and the accommodations were above reproach. Shannon was there to greet me and assist me with my luggage, while providing various recommendations for dinner and attractions. Kevin was/is an outstanding cook who saw that we had a delectable breakfast every morning; you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kadiof
AmericanGuestHouse, Manager at American Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for this wonderful review - we appreciate it. We are known for our delicious homemade breakfasts and we are glad you enjoyed it. Our staff are happy to help in every way they can - we are pleased to know that you were welcomed and accommodated. We hope you choose to...

North Branford
Reviewed 18 August 2016

The American Guest House is a charming Bed & Breakfast just north of DuPont Circle and close to Embassy Row, Located ina 100+ year old home that has all of the charm and beauty of the old days. The staff and the cook are excellent, the breakfast is great, and the rooms are furnished and finished beautifully. It was nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
AmericanGuestHouse, Manager at American Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your trip and for giving us a wonderful review. We are centrally located to many restaurants, convention centers and the Dupont Metro Station - we're glad this was accommodating for you. We are known for serving made from scratch breakfast every morning, and we are glad that you enjoyed it. We...

Springfield, Missouri
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Small room, tiny bathroom. Typical of B and Bs in a city. No real feel of a B and B out in the country. Clean, but things like burned out light bulbs here and there. Food was fine, and provided a generous breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sbrooks31
AmericanGuestHouse, Manager at American Guest House, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear your concerns. The rooms are small, but cozy. We advertise what each room feels and looks like on our website, so that guests are aware of our accommodations. Your comfort is our top priority, so if you felt they were not gracious at your arrival please know we will address this. We want to make...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 28 July 2016

I stayed at this place a week ago [July 17-20th], in room 201. This was my first time staying at a bed & breakfast place. First, i should say that the location is great! Easy and safe to walk to tons of restaurants and bars. The room was nice and cozy, you definitely feel like if you were in your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jfalvarez
AmericanGuestHouse, Manager at American Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for staying at our Washington DC Inn. We are so happy you picked us. We are close to many great restaurants, and our rooms are inviting. We work hard to make your check-in and check-out easy and fast.

Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewed 18 July 2016

The staff was friendly and helpful. The location felt safe and was on the quiet side of Dupont Circle. The building was charming and the shower had wonderful water pressure... always a plus for an older building. The fact that there is no parking stinks if you need parking. We needed a rental car since we were traveling to other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank B P
AmericanGuestHouse, General Manager at American Guest House, responded to this review

Thank You for the review. It is greatly appreciated! Our DC Inn is located in Kalorama, next to Dupont Circle, one of the best and safest areas in DC. This is a very upscale residential area located about a mile northwest of the White House. According to local news, the Obamas will be residing in our neighborhood for a couple...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 July 2016

We stayed here in June for just one night. We wish it could have been longer it was good to stay somewhere that is not part of a big chain. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room 202 was beautifully furnished, the bed was very comfortable, in fact I cannot recommend it highly enough. The breakfast was amazing,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angieupton
AmericanGuestHouse, Manager at American Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at our Washington DC B&B. We are glad you picked us for your travel accommodation and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Staff are very friendly and enjoy helping the guests with their needs. Come again!

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Normandy Hotel
#25 of 140 in Washington DC
864 reviews
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#63 of 140 in Washington DC
6,130 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#35 of 140 in Washington DC
2,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row
#46 of 140 in Washington DC
1,095 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#52 of 140 in Washington DC
1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
American Guest House is a well appointed 12 bedroom with en suite bathrooms Washington DC Bed and Breakfast located in a historic 1893 Venetian Gothic building near the Washington Hilton Hotel. Within 10 minutes walk to Dupont Circle Metro, and within a 10 to 15-minute walk to Wardman Park and Omni Shoreham Hotels, well known DC Convention Hotels. We are located near Dupont Circle in the historic Kalorama neighborhood, now neighbors with Trump. This DC Bed and breakfast is located near about 1 mile to White House (about 25 minutes by foot), about 1 mile from the National Zoo and 2 miles from the Smithsonian Museums and Monuments. Our neighborhood is a trendy, upscale, safe and beautiful DC area in the heart of the city. Great area to stroll around and enjoy the beautiful old mansions. Within walking distance, you'll find several of Washington DC's best restaurants, as well as the Phillips Art Gallery, Embassy Row, specialty shops, and even Rock Creek Park with its beautiful cycling and hiking trails. Culture is plentiful in DC with its majestic theaters, shows, ethnically diverse dining options, and beuatiful monuments. ... more   less 

Additional Information about American Guest House

Address: 2005 Columbia Rd NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-1310
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Adams Morgan , Dupont Circle
Price Range: RM1,086 - RM2,610 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — American Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your American Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Guest House Hotel Washington Dc
American Guest House b&b
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from American Guest House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from American Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pay attention to the floor your room is on, the stairs are a challenge with luggage.”
 of 5 bubbles JohnF771, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“There are rooms for single and double occupancy. All are lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles TravelingChef123, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you are over 60 and/or have a bad back, try getting a lower floor so you don't hurt yourself struggling with luggage on the stairs”
 of 5 bubbles Rob07052, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“No elevator and rooms were in 2nd and 3rd floor so keep that in mind.”
 of 5 bubbles Paca1946, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you are not fit, do not choose a room on the 3rd floor as there is no lift but this adds to the charm.”
 of 5 bubbles JAL57, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5