We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

American Guest House

Save
Traveller (63)
Room & Suite (42)
Dining (16)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent70%
  • Very good25%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“chef kevin”(26 reviews)
“dupont circle”(76 reviews)
“adams morgan”(28 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Free Parking
Pool
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Additional information
Offers from American Guest House
Offers & Announcements: Direct Summer Special
Offers from American Guest House
Offers & Announcements: Direct Summer Special
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (529)
There are newer reviews for American Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
517 results
Traveller rating
357
133
23
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
357
133
23
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschef kevindupont circleadams morganother guestsb bsyogurthome away from homechain hotelscomfortable beda wonderful place to stayten minute walkfive nightssmall roomwould definitely stay here againexcellent locationfew blocksagh
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
31 - 35 of 517 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We were recommended The American Guest House by a friend and were so happy we were. Our room was so spacious with a canopy bed, 2 comfortable easy chairs, writing desk and 3 luggage racks.the breakfast each morning were so delicious and very generous. We...More

Thank JAL57
Response from AmericanGuestHouse, Manager at American Guest HouseResponded 18 October 2016

Thank you so very much for the stellar review. We are so glad you had a wonderful stay. Our guests are wonderful and we are always grateful when they choose to stay at our DC Inn.

Reviewed 3 October 2016

This place needs to be freshened up with paint and new furniture in the sitting room. The overall feeling when entering is gloomy and dirty, it isn't unclean but appears that way. Our room (203) was narrow with dark wainscoting that exaggerated the tight feeling....More

1  Thank Y3740RDpamelaw
Response from AmericanGuestHouse, Manager at American Guest HouseResponded 6 October 2016

We apologize that the size of your room wasn't what you were expecting - all of our rooms are each unique and vary in size. We will definitely look into the uncomfortability, as we are always looking for suggestions. We are known for our wonderful...More

Reviewed 30 September 2016

We had room 403 which was huge although bathroom is quite small but adequate. It is at the top of three flights of stairs and no lift so you had better be fit. Room was clean and bright and spacious as I said bed was...More

1  Thank SimonChristopher23
Response from AmericanGuestHouse, Manager at American Guest HouseResponded 6 October 2016

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for leaving us a great review. We are known for our great homemade breakfasts and convenient location - we are glad this this was accommodating for you. Although we don't have an elevator, our Innkeepers are...More

Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

American Guest House is in a great location, close to transportation and itself a fun, active neighborhood. It was clean, comfortable, historical & oozed charm. Chef Kevin made delicious breakfasts that kept us going all day long. We definitely recommend a stay at the AGH!

Thank Connie S
Response from AmericanGuestHouse, Owner at American Guest HouseResponded 23 September 2016

We are sooo thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at our DC Inn, and we are grateful for the wonderful review. Looking forward to your return.

Reviewed 20 September 2016

On a business trip to the hill and stayed 4 nights at the Guest House. The staff were friendly and the room was clean and cozy. The Guest House is located about 1.5 miles away from "the Mall" which puts it well within walking distance...More

Thank CDA0731
Response from AmericanGuestHouse, Manager at American Guest HouseResponded 21 September 2016

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for writing a wonderful review. We are conveniently located to many of the DC attractions and are close to the Dupont Metro Station - we are glad this was accommodating for you. We are known for...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Washington DC
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Details
Price range
US$194 - US$315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$194 - US$315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (63)
Room & Suite (42)
Dining (16)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
cfrare
26 April 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from AmericanGuestHouse | Property representative |
Nora, Mintwood Place, Buca di Beppo, Ruth's Chris Steak House...they are too many to list. Only two blocks away you will find 4 blocks of restaurants and bars.
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Some rooms are intended for one guest others for two. Read the descriptions or call to have the staff help..."
Read review
"Consider carefully if you cannot walk up stairs"
Read review
"There isn't an elevator, but staff will help you take luggage to your room if you ask."
Read review
"Room 301 was great! It faced the street but was pretty quiet. I did have an in-room air conditioner, but I..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing