We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Akwaaba DC

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Akwaaba DC
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

449 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 433: English reviews
Start your review of Akwaaba DC
 Click to rate
Oakland, California
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My first Bed & Bath experience and it was a memorable one. The rooms were fantastic. I love that the furnishings blended with the era of the house. The innkeeper Kim was wonderful. She made you feel right at home and was very friendly. She was very easy to talk to and made you feel as if she was no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank c00kie2017
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 week ago

Loved staying staying in the Poetry Room. It has recently been remolded & is very roomy. If you have lots of luggage or not physically able to climb 4 flights of stars I suggest you good one of the rooms on a lower floor.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dlrsclay60
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Bed and breakfast was everything I could have asked or thought about. This was my 1st and Akwaaba was the best choice ever! When in DC area or any area with Akwaaba, my wife and I will be staying there. Much better than a traditional hotel, wonderful breakfast that accommodates all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LaToya K
Fort Valley, Georgia
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was there for 5 nights in the Poetry Room. Couldn't have asked for anything to be better. Staff friendly and helpful. The building was beautiful; full of history. Was able to peek into most of the other rooms; all decorated differently and themed after an African American author. Enjoyed DuPont Circle very much; there was a bus stop 2...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank garnettl2015
Princeton, Massachusetts
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked short notice and was happy to find an inn in DuPont Circle. That's about it. The booking agent was friendly but explained there would be no innkeeper after 7pm. That was ok with us until we entered the inn and climbed 4 flights with our bags. Very old and not updated at all. No Fire Escape, broken toilet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia G
bnbaccomDC, General Manager at Akwaaba DC, responded to this review

We always appreciate hearing comments and concerns from all our guests. It was particularly unfortunate to read this review, as we feel we offer a great value in one of the best neighborhoods of Washington DC. Our guests enjoy a choice of 8 guest rooms, each with a private bath. The guest rooms are located on the 2nd, 3rd and...

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I loved the house, our room, the food and Nani. We even met the lovely owner as we were loading our car to leave for home. We've been to a handful of B&Bs (2 in D.C.) over the last year and this is definitely one of the top B&Bs. Stay here you won't regret it.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CCapito0118
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Despite the bad weather slowing our arrival, Kim saw to it that we were made warm and comfortable right away. The remainder of our stay only got better. The staff, including Kim, Nani and Myra, made our time there memorable. Thanks!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DrMichelle2015
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Inn Keepers Kim, and Nani, and House Keeper Myra, provided the most excellent service I have ever had at any B & B. Breakfast was outstanding. It was served beautifully and tasted amazing. My room was huge...the size of a small apartment. I slept very well in the queen size bed. When I needed directions, Nani provided them for me,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michelle M
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewed 3 March 2017

My sister, mom and I make it a point to spend a full weekend together at least one time per year. This year was extra special because I had my own daughter late 2016. The 4 of us stayed at Akwaaba DC the weekend of February 17, 2017 and had a fabulous time! The Poetry room was amazing (if you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Latoya A
Somerset, New Jersey
Reviewed 21 February 2017

Perfect location, excellent accommodations. The property is a huge size, we stayed in the Langston Hughes room which had enormous room, king bed and a independent balcony. The entire B&B is decorated wonderfully and nostalgic. The hosts were magnificent as were the breakfast meals. And you're in walking distance from not only everything in Dupont Circle but Georgetown as well...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kirreck

121 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (94)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
1,063 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
1,176 reviews
Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
#5 of 140 in Washington DC
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
1,350 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#35 of 140 in Washington DC
2,922 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Akwaaba DC is located in Dupont Circle at the heart of the Nation's Capitol. This 1890's historic townhouse is within walking distance of the White House, and the many fine restaurants, and shops of Dupont Circle. Access to the Smithsonian and National Monuments is a short ride on the Metro just 4 blocks (less than a 10 minute walk). Choose from 7 guest rooms, each with private bath or an apartment with accommodations for 6. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Akwaaba DC

Address: 1708 16th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-3104
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Price Range: RM779 - RM1,232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Akwaaba Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Akwaaba DC staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
New York City, New York
2 months ago
Atlanta, Georgia
over a year ago
Michigan, USA

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Akwaaba DC staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Be aware that this is an old building and there is no elevator.”
c00kie2017, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Contact the innkeeper or booking agent to discuss which room would fit your needs.”
dlrsclay60, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms nice, but four floors and no elevator, if you have issues with stairs.”
garnettl2015, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If climbing stairs is a problem, don't book rooms on the upper floors!”
DrMichelle2015, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing the front of the building are the largest.”
H6298ZPmichellem, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5