We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

State Plaza Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
Panoramas (4)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,612 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for State Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,354: English reviews
Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewed 23 October 2014

We stayed at this hotel because we could get a one bedroom suite with a closed door and a pull out couch in the living room as we were taking our 11 year old granddaughter along. It advertised a full kitchen, but be sure to check what that means if it is important. We were able to do a little...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elaine M
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Elaine M, We were so happy to have read your review. It is great to know that our convenient location and our spacious rooms helped in making your stay enjoyable. We look forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back to the nation’s capital! Best Regards, Declan Kealy General Manager

Niagara Falls, Canada
Reviewed 22 October 2014

We found this property staffed by friendly knowledgable people . The rooms are well maintained and very clean . Parking was available but limited . We could walk to all the major venues. Restaraunts were close by

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John P
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John P, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our knowledgeable associates and the cleanliness of our rooms. We hope to see you again soon in the near future! Best Regards, Declan Kealy General Manager

Lititz, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 19 October 2014

This hotel is great if you want a place to stay that's close to all of the DC sights including the White House. I agree with a previous reviewer that said "why change the yellow tile - it's in perfect condition." This hotel embraces its retro look and adds a friendly, helpful staff, clean rooms, on-site parking garage plus a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Brian D
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brian D, We are so happy to have read your review. I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed our décor, large rooms and helpful associates, as they work very hard to ensure our guests are comfortable and happy. We look forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back! Best Regards, Declan Kealy General Manager

Wichita, KS
Reviewed 16 October 2014

My husband and I chose to stay at the State Plaza Hotel 5 years after we first stayed there. We love the location and the kitchen is very handy. This time we were upgraded to a junior suite. It was very nice to have a full living room, kitchen, and bedroom. Our bed was incredibly comfortable, the bathroom bright and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roseraeann
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Roseraeann, Thank you so much for your review. I am so happy to hear that you chose to stay with us for a second time. It is great to hear that our spacious rooms and convenient location helped to make this stay as memorable as your last. We hope to see you again on your next trip to the...

Oslo
Reviewed 14 October 2014 via mobile

This hotel was a good surprise. We got a newly refurbished room. The room had a full kitchen as well, so a great room if you're staying for a while. There's free wi-fi, which is great. The minus is that it takes about 10-15min to walk to nearest metro station and it is a little far from Georgetown and Dupont...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank OsloKrisa
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Oslokrisa, Thank you for posting your review. I am happy to hear that you were able to enjoy one of our newly renovated rooms, as we are very excited with our new look. We hope to see you again in the near future! Best Regards, Declan Kealy General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2014

Chose this hotel just from the reviews on this website, and we were not disappointed. Stayed there September 2014. About 5 or 6 blocks from the White House, and so close to all other major sites, this was a superb base. Rooms are comfortable, lovely big, comfy beds, clean, and most have their own basic though fully equipped kitchen, with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Salsaloz
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Salsaloz, Thank you for such a glowing review. I am delighted to hear of all the attractions you were able to visit due to the close proximity of our hotel to the National mall. It is also great to hear that you enjoyed our spacious rooms and each of our amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!...

Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewed 8 October 2014

This location is excellent as it is well placed to explore the Mall and downtown DC. It is also only a few minutes from Washington National airport. The staff was very welcoming and helpful. The facilities are disappointing. The rooms are spacious as the building used to be used as apartments. The faint smell of smoke throughout the building was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank light122376
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Light122376, We appreciate you taking the time to leave us with your feedback. I am happy to hear that due to our extremely accessible location, you were able to explore downtown D.C. with ease. I would, however, like to apologize for the unpleasant experience you encountered. We pride ourselves on being a non-smoking hotel and we are currently revisiting...

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 7 October 2014

We stayed at the State Plaza for one night on a recent trip. The hotel absolutely needs to be updated (boring paint and decor, old drapes, slight smell of stale smoke, etc) but the bed was comfortable, the shower was hot, and the location was great for walking around the mall at night. It was close to some fantastic restaurants...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kate P
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kate P, We appreciate you taking the time to leave your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location, and our friendly associates. In light of your concerns regarding our décor, I am pleased to inform you that we are in the process of renovating our hotel and we are very proud of the new...

Indio, California
Reviewed 4 October 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at the SP Hotel for business. The first trip was almost a month and the second two weeks. I can't say enough about the staff, for both trips Heather was so extremely helpful in ensuring my accommodations were just right; Charlotte at the restaurant was very concerned about providing excellent customer service...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 1Just_4_Travel
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 1Just_4_Travel, Thank you for such a glowing review. I am delighted to hear that you are one of our returning guests and due to our excellent service, spacious rooms and our accommodating employees you will be coming back to stay with us for a third time. It is such a pleasure to read all of your wonderful comments and...

Lexington, Kentucky, United States
Reviewed 3 October 2014

Recently my wife and I celebrated our 43rd anniversary with a short trip to Washington, D.C. It was our first trip there and what a super surprise the State Plaza Hotel was! They offer multi-room suites with full kitchens. About a 1/2 mile of the White House and Lincoln Memorial - so you can imagine how close everything else is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pete J
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pete J, We are so happy to have read your review. It is great to know that our convenient location, large sized rooms and most importantly our great service helped in making your stay enjoyable. We look forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back to our nation’s capital! Best Regards, Declan Kealy General Manager

673 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (433)
Viewed
Room/Suite (171)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Other (176)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (229)
Viewed
Amenities (68)
Viewed
Deluxe King Suite (79)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#50 of 140 in Washington DC
448 reviews
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#26 of 140 in Washington DC
697 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Lombardy
Hotel Lombardy
#41 of 140 in Washington DC
2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
University Inn Washington DC
University Inn Washington DC
#47 of 140 in Washington DC
1,236 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about State Plaza Hotel

Address: 2117 E St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Price Range: RM798 - RM1,905 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — State Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your State Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
State Plaza Washington Dc
Hotel State Plaza
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#47 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#59 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from State Plaza Hotel staff and other travellers.
30 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (30)

Questions? Get answers from State Plaza Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are TWO towers and getting from one to the other is a pain--if you can get in the south tower, it's closer to the National Mall.”
 of 5 bubbles 785lindad, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms seem to have thin walls”
 of 5 bubbles janewP4224OA, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We went during winter; prices were half of what they charge in spring.”
 of 5 bubbles ColeD909, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Our room on the 8th floor down the hall from the elevator was quiet, spacious and sunny.”
 of 5 bubbles meegarian, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Kitchenette is definitely a great option for families”
 of 5 bubbles rossv539, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5