We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Capital Hilton

PricelineUS$199*
View Deal
May 7 May 8
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$261*
US$199*
Great Deal
US$204*
US$204*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Capital Hilton
Capital Hilton
Panoramas (22)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,878 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Capital Hilton
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,531: English reviews
New York City, New York
Reviewed 17 November 2015

First, the facts: I called this hotel a little over 24 hours before my scheduled check-in to request a check-out date one day earlier than booked. I called Monday morning, was to check in on Tuesday, and wished to check out Thursday instead of Friday. The reservation employee at the hotel informed me that since my request was within the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael4688
DavidPiscola, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review

Dear mballou4688, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Capital Hilton. Please be confident that we will follow-up on the points you have outlined to avoid recurrence. The time taken along with the effort made to share your comments with us is most appreciated. Feedback from our guests is vitally important in our mission to be the first choice...

Reviewed 14 November 2015

I understand that the Capital Hilton is a nice place, and pulling up with a car stuffed full of a family may seem out of place at this particular location, but the staff doesn't have to show it all over their face. From the bellhop to the front desk, the entire staff had a snobbish demeanor throughout our entire stay....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joshua T
DavidPiscola, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review

Dear Joshua T, Thank You for your heartfelt feedback from your stay in August. I sincerely apologize we weren't able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is uncharacteristic of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try...

Reviewed 14 November 2015 via mobile

The rooms are comfortable, good for working. I had a very good massage at the Mint Spa. $15 just to workout once was silly, though this is waved if you have status at Hilton Honors. Good weeknight bartender who remembers who you are. Basic decent food at bar if you don't feel like going out but nothing special.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ted S
DavidPiscola, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review

Dear Ted S, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're delighted you were able to enjoy our workout facilities and spa during your stay. Our Food & Beverage team appreciates your compliments regarding your Lounge experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, David Piscola General Manager

New York City, New York
Reviewed 14 November 2015

The front desk staff was wonderful! They were very kind when a family emergency occurred and the visit had to be cut short. My only issue was the room was never vacuumed. The dirt on the carpet that was there upon check-in was there on the morning of departure.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SusanNYC2015
DavidPiscola, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review

Dear SusanNYC2015, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I sincerely apologize your guest room did not exceed the standard. This is not typical and is not representative of the service level we normally provide at the Capital Hilton. I appreciate your feedback regarding the front desk staff and their willingness to assist you during that time. Thank You,...

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 13 November 2015

The location of this hotel was great. We were just a couple of blocks from the White House and a bit further down were the monuments. We aren't afraid of walking, but some may prefer to take a car service. Some reviews stated the rooms were noisy, we were in 939 which was an interior room and the only noise...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Courtney M
DavidPiscola, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review

Dear Courtney M, Thank You for the feedback you provided. Please be confident that we will follow-up on the points you have outlined. The time taken along with the effort made to share your comments with us is most appreciated. Feedback from our guests is vitally important in our mission to be the first choice of the world’s travelers. Again,...

Reviewed 12 November 2015

The staff were so nice! Front desk staff was amazing. Wait staff in restaurant were great! Housekeeping was average. Location was great. Convenient to everything. This hotel was very expensive for what it was. We pay over $300 a night. Not a $300 a night hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Prncss1974
DavidPiscola, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review

Dear Prncss1974, Thank you for taking a moment to share your recent experience. I'm delighted you found our staff to be so friendly. They strive to give our guest the best experience. I will share your comments with the team. They will certainly appreciate the shout outs! Thank You, David Piscola General Manager

St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewed 10 November 2015

This hotel is typical of a Hilton facility. Clean rooms, the staff is pleasant and helpful. The location is great if you want to walk around for sightseeing or restaurants. Good variety of restaurants in the area within walking distance. Convenient to metro stops as well if you are doing the tourist thing. The only real negative thing was the...

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Priscilla H
DavidPiscola, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review

Dear Priscilla H, Thank You for choosing to stay with us. I'm pleased you found our location and accommodations to your liking. I do apologize for the street noise you encountered during your stay with us. Should you need any future lodging needs, please contact us. Thank You, David Piscola General Manager

Arlington, Virginia
Reviewed 9 November 2015

Hello, I recently stayed at the Capital Hilton and I have to say I was thoroughly disappointed. On the plus side, the room was nice. However, when I checked in, I immediately encountered an issue. Parking is tricky around the hotel and I was just checking in and then leaving immediately for a dinner appointment. I needed to leave my...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Matt C
DavidPiscola, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review

Dear Matt C, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your stay. I would appreciate it if you could provide your room number or name so that I may more adequately follow up on your concerns. Thank You, David Piscola General Manager

Frederick, Maryland
Reviewed 8 November 2015

The Capital Hilton is ideally located just a few blocks; within walking distance; to the White House. P.J. Clarke's is right across the street and was delightful. The suite that we had was great! I would definetley stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Janet F
DavidPiscola, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review

Dear LGScubadiving, Thank you for taking a moment to share your recent stay. I'm delighted you found our location and accommodations to your liking. We look forward to having you come stay with us again! David Piscola General Manager

Budapest, Hungary
Reviewed 7 November 2015

The hotel is badly in need of refit, not crumbling exactly, but a down-at-heel, seen-better-days atmosphere. I was taken aback to find that the hotel charges for wifi in the rooms, though not in the lobby, hence the people looking at their computers there. What was particularly shocking was that the hotel charged over $450 a night for this. OK,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gaelic I
DavidPiscola, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review

Dear Gaelic I, I appreciate your heartfelt feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I sincerely apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Comments from our guests enable us to continually improve and exceed our standards. The time taken along with the effort made to share your comments with us is most appreciated. Feedback from our guests is vitally important in...

583 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (437)
Viewed
Room/Suite (140)
Viewed
Bathroom (46)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (61)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (147)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (87)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Executive Room (17)
Viewed
King Deluxe Room (17)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
The Hotel (16)
Viewed
Two Double Room (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (18)
May 7 May 8
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#52 of 140 in Washington DC
760 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
#59 of 140 in Washington DC
1,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#26 of 140 in Washington DC
710 reviews
Dupont Circle
Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C.
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#20 of 140 in Washington DC
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
North Gate Grill
North Gate Grill
Cuisines: American
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Capital Hilton

Address: 1001 16th St NW, corner K & 16th Street, Washington DC, DC 20036
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Price Range: RM784 - RM3,390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Capital Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 544
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capital Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#64 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#69 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#70 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Capital Hilton staff and other travellers.
28 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (28)

Questions? Get answers from Capital Hilton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A better room may not have a better view.”
306rajeshs, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Odd # rooms face the outside. MAY have better view.”
heatherw750, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Face the street, highest floor available.”
Ignotus, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Higher level room was great”
Warmtraveller1200, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Avoid 4th floor. Actually, avoid the hotel entirely.”
aaronp404, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$199* /night
View Deal
Hilton.comUS$204
Booking.comUS$204
CancelonUS$261
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates