We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

Hamilton Cove Villas

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

141 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hamilton Cove Villas
See the most recent reviews
Showing 141: English reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We reserved # 245. It was filthy, stained furniture , broken window treatments, TV on floor, and no cell service. The rental company was worse! Hamilton Cove Real Estate is awful!! I would NEVER deal with them again. Bart is rude, arrogant and hard to deal with. Thankfully we were able to get all of our money back. I was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Krubien
CIVR, Manager at Hamilton Cove Villas, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear your experiences at Hamilton Cove did not exceed your expectations. Catalina Island Vacation Rentals represents several dozen properties in Hamilton Cove, although we do not manage the property you stayed in. We hope that you will give the Villas at Hamilton Cove another chance and give us a call the next time you come to Catalina...

Crystal Lake, Illinois
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The unit was beautiful and previous reviews complained of stairs but I didn't think there were that many. Right in the heart of the complex it was a perfect location. The amount you pay for a vacation rental, I expect some necessities in the kitchen. Pots and pans were stainless and the average renter is not likely an expert in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RyanErin2014
CIVR, General Manager at Hamilton Cove Villas, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write about your stay. We're sorry that you found the cooking set up difficult. I don't believe we've run into this issue in the past. It sounds like you did have fun, regardless. Please do come and stay with us again, CIVR Management

St. Helena, California
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The reason for a very good rating and not a excellent rating all due to dirty silverware and wine glasses with lipstick remaining in the cupboards and in the drawer. The rules are very specific that when you leave the condo you are to leave it clean with all the silverware etc put away. Obviously the cleaning service was there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia T
CIVR, Manager at Hamilton Cove Villas, responded to this review

Dear Julia, I read your review and am not sure if you stayed in one of our properties, or not. Catalina Island Vacation Rentals (CIVR) manages a large number of Vacation Home Villas in Hamilton Cove. CIVR is open 7 days a week and we do have a 24 hour emergency line. You are correct, in that we do ask...

kmod75
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed 4 nights/5 days at Hamilton Cove in late June. The property itself is very nice and very well maintained. Every day the maintenance people were out painting, cutting the lawn, raking, etc….very clean place. Onsite there is a pool, beach access, tennis courts, workout room and put-put golf course. Security guards were very perceptive, which made us feel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kmod75
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 12 June 2014

ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL!!! Of course Catalina, but 2-27 was AMAZING!!! (I've stayed in Hamilton Cove many times before and let's just say, some units REALLY need to updated !!! and some should even be fumigated) >>>THIS PLACE has been beautifully remodeled....the kitchen & bathrooms were like something in a magazine! I think the private bedroom downstairs w/ the balcony was my...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cha C
CIVR, Manager at Hamilton Cove Villas, responded to this review

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hamilton Cove and that Villa 2-27 fit your needs so well. At Catalina Island Vacation Rentals we work hard to make sure that we find the right property for our guests and we are thrilled that worked out so well for you. We will be sure to let...

Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Reviewed 7 April 2014

After spending last week in Hamilton Cove, I can see why there are so many mixed reviews on this site. Your experience will depend entirely on your unit. Building number 18 is brand new and gorgeous from top to bottom. If you do your research, look at the photos, and pay a reasonable price, you will not be disappointed. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Connie R
CIVR, Manager at Hamilton Cove Villas, responded to this review

Hi Connie, We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay in Hamilton Cove 18-75 and appreciate you giving Catalina Island Vacation Rentals the opportunity to help make your Catalina vacation wonderful. We will definitely pass along your compliments to the homeowners and let them know you enjoyed the property and your vacation thoroughly! We look forward to seeing you again real...

San Jose, California
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Delayed review, but better late than never. We stayed at Hamilton Cove September 2013. The trip was perfect. Our stay was right when all the big crowds have left for the summer. The unit was beyond beautiful. Newly renovated and beautifully decorated. Traveling with 5 adults and a 1 1/2 year old. Once we set up some chairs to keep...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
CIVR, Manager at Hamilton Cove Villas, responded to this review

Hi Heather, We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay in Hamilton Cove 4-12 and appreciate you giving Catalina Island Vacation Rentals the opportunity to help make your Catalina vacation wonderful. We look forward to seeing you again real soon! Catalina Island Vacation Rentals Management

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I had heard this was the place to stay, but after spending a long weekend on Catalina, I have to say that Hamilton Cove is the LAST place you want to stay. We were two families in 2-33, which was a trip back into the late 70s/early 80s. Decor was very dingy and outdated. I've actually never seen a micro...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Newtzlaw
CIVR, Manager at Hamilton Cove Villas, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We were concerned after reading your comments, so we paid a visit to Villa 233 at Hamilton cove. I have to admit that the microwave is an older model, but works fine. You did fail to mention that these owners have recently purchased a new dining set, the L-shaped sofa/sofa sleeper is fairly new, the extra living room...

San Clemente, California
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This property was nicely decorated and spacious enough for 2 adults and 2 children under 12. The condo was not as clean as one would expect (in this price range). -Dishes were dirty -Hairs in kitchen and bedroom linens -Bay windows were not cleaned (this is your ocean view) The kitchen was not stocked with ANY basics, except for pots/pans/dirty...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank redgreen13
Fortuna, California
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The view is good, but so are many other units, for the same price, that provide so many more amenities than Unit 11-52. The golf cart has no enclosure, there is only one television in the living room and none in either bedrooms, there is no internet, and although the management company will suggest using Wi-Fi from units close by,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Debi C

132 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (121)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 km away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
1,029 reviews
0.1 km away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
576 reviews
0.1 km away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#9 of 20 in Avalon
454 reviews
0.2 km away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#8 of 20 in Avalon
231 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Catalina Island Vacation Rentals offers a wide selection of vacation lodging on Catalina Island with nearly 200 privately owned properties, ranging from our beautiful villas at Hamilton Cove to quaint cottages, houses and condos in the charming resort village of Avalon, California. CIVR now offer two beautiful casas in Two Harbors, located on Catalina’s remote West End. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hamilton Cove Villas

Address: 119 Sumner Avenue, Suite B, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Price Range: RM666 - RM4,443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 37
Also Known As:
Hamilton Cove Avalon
Hamilton Cove Hotel Avalon
Hamilton Cove Villas Catalina Island/Avalon, CA
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hamilton Cove Villas staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Pensacola, Florida
Santa Ana, California
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hamilton Cove Villas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“make sure it comes with a golfcart”
 of 5 bubbles kidtras, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Every room has a view. Make sure you get a golf cart.”
 of 5 bubbles or_current_resident, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“2-28 is up high with a great view. 52 steps to that room does not have a fireplace like others did”
 of 5 bubbles 859annj, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Unit 17-84 is great for families”
 of 5 bubbles NancyG123, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Never stay in unit 10-65, you will be so disappointed. :(”
  • Guest bathroom mat
  • Master sheets
  • Master bath mold
  • Master pillow case
 of 5 bubbles alexe718, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5