We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Atwater

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Atwater
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

476 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 473: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Atwater
 Click to rate
Menifee, California
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Liam (pretty sure that was his name) was great! He Always made it a point to chat and give us his insight on our plans for the day when we came downstairs, the room was a tad bit too small (and they said they had no available rooms for upgrade for that night) but it did the job. The hike...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angela p
Concord, California
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Hotel Atwater is right in the heart of Avalon just a short walk to the water or the many restaurants and bars. The staff were knowledgeable, friendly and available 24hr. The rooms are clean but dated. Our Economy Queen room was small but not cramped. The bathroom and shower were very small. I expect some larger folks would have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank biodean
South Pasadena, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

For our first trip to Catalina (Wife's Birthday), we chose the Atwater Hotel. First, you can't beat the location. It's pretty much in the middle of everything. Shopping was only steps away, as was food. The place is clean, but old. The room we had was on the third floor. There is NO ELEVATOR, so if you have trouble with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Don R
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First time staying overnight in Avalon. Not sure what to expect - hadn't been to Avalon in over 40 years. We arrived on the ferry in the morning but we knew our room wouldn't be ready until the late afternoon. That was no problem because we just dropped off our luggage at the ferry terminal and it would be taken...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melvin W
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review

Dear Melvin, Thank you for choosing the Hotel Atwater for your family getaway. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Andrew Allen General Manager

Mountain Center, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were able to walk everywhere we needed to go from this location. The hotel was old and the rooms were small but it was clean, neat and adequate for a short stay. We didn't spend much time in our room as we were out being tourists. The price was reasonable and the staff was very nice and friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PamelaPotter
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review

Dear Pamela, Thank you for choosing the Hotel Atwater. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Andrew Allen General Manager

Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

First time on the island and this hotel was in near everything. We didnt get a rental. We were on foot our whole stay. Perfect spot. If i go back to visit i will definitely book in this hotel again. Staff was friendly and knowledgeable.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank maria H
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review

Dear Maria, Thank you for choosing the Hotel Atwater. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Andrew Allen General Manager

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 16 February 2017

We checked into Hotel Atwater for our anniversary and were given a beautiful 3rd floor room with a lovely view. (Room 312). We went out to grab some lunch, by the time we got back to the room, we were surprised with an amazing basket filled with wine, sandwiches, salad, water and the best cheesecake! Gary at reception took the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank michellevlavianos
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review

Dear Michelle, Thank you for choosing the Hotel Atwater for your anniversary celebration. I'm glad we were able to make your stay a special one. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Sincerely, Andrew Allen General Manager

Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed two nights here in February of 2017. The hotel staff was attentive and very friendly. They made small talk with us whenever we entered or exited the hotel and always asked if we needed anything. The room itself was very clean and the king size bed was quite comfortable. The hotel is almost 100 years old and it...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Brian P
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review

Dear Brian, Thank you for choosing the Hotel Atwater. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Andrew Allen General Manager

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 2 February 2017

First off - the staff was super friendly from when we checked in, to the late night staff, and ending with the morning staff. I can only remember Shea's name, but I wish I could remember the other gentleman (late night staff) and lady (morning staff) who helped us out! The place is cute and semi-updated without losing the historic...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Candice C
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review

Dear Candice, Thank you for choosing the Hotel Atwater. We appreciate your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Andrew Allen General Manager

Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2017

We chose the Atwater as part of a hotel and ferry package, based on its price and location. It was certainly close to the harbour, easy to find and in the very centre of Avalon. It provides simple accommodation but the white painted woodchip dominated room decor was rather too downmarket compared to other hotels in the town. Good points:...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Corb2000
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review

Dear Corb, Thank you for choosing Hotel Atwater. We appreciate your comments and will certainly take them into consideration. We will be doing a full remodel in the fall and invite you ti experience our property again. Sincerely, Andrew Allen General Manager

111 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 km away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,054 reviews
0.2 km away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
475 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#15 of 20 in Avalon
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
593 reviews
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.1 km away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#12 of 20 in Avalon
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just 1/2 a block from the beach, the historic Hotel Atwater was built in the 1920's and offers a wide variety of room types from Economy Rooms, Standard Rooms to Suites. This hotel fits any budget and is perfect for active couples, families, scuba divers and large groups. Offerings include: Complimentary baggage service from the ferry, Suites and Standard Rooms feature air conditioning / heating, iron and ironing boards, Suites and Standard Rooms feature hair dryers, basic-cable TV - free HBO and Showtime, senior, military and group discounts, complimentary storage room for dive gear, mountain bikes and luggage. Outdoor rinse-off showers for divers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Atwater

Address: 125 Sumner Street, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Price Range: RM535 - RM1,183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Atwater 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Atwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atwater Hotel Avalon
Hotel Atwater Catalina Island/Avalon, CA
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Atwater staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
over a year ago
Los Angeles, California
6 months ago
El Cajon, California
6 months ago

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Atwater staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The third floor, facing the harbor, has the best views (not really spectacular), but it is a hike up the stairs.”
  • The view from our third floor window
214donr, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Double queen room, spacious bathroom, spacious room, clean, tidy, light room, nice views, airconditioned, good choice! Room 312 on 3rd floor”
  • Welcome card with roomkey card and Ben's Cafe voucher
michellevlavianos, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in the family suite, which slept our family of five.”
943candicec, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We upgraded and had a good view”
USAwalkers, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms near the entrance on Sumner have street and bar noise, choose a room in the center of the property.”
459jamesp459, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5