We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Atwater

Save
Share
Traveller (84)
Room & Suite (54)
Dining (4)
Overview
125 Sumner Street, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704 See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Multilingual Staff
Free Parking
Pool
3 Star accommodation
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (536)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Atwater
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
532 results
Traveller rating
175
221
90
27
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
175
221
90
27
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno elevatorthird flooran older hotelbasic amenitiescatalina islandyour luggagerooms are smalllocation is greatcentral locationbed was comfortablefront desk staffbeach towelsfloor roomice machinemiddle of towndefinitely stay here againflights of stairs
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
161 - 165 of 532 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

My birthday surprise! An old hotel that has received some upgrades, but not a lot, so it was reasonably priced. Got into the room and tried to relax, but could really hear the noise from the street outside. Finally figured out that the old windows...More

1  Thank JanisTravels
Response from CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel AtwaterResponded 9 January 2016

Dear JanisTravels, Thanks for choosing the Hotel Atwater. I'm sorry to hear about some of the disappointing points of your stay. I appreciate your feedback and we will work to remedy those situations. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely, Roberto...More

Reviewed 2 December 2015

Nice and helpful service at the front desk. Bathroom too , too small. Very clean. The bed was quite confortable. There was not elevator and you need to carry your own lugagge. Our room was very quiet .

1  Thank kingofmars2015
Response from CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel AtwaterResponded 22 December 2015

Dear Kingofmars, Thanks for choosing the Hotel Atwater. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely, Roberto Perico General Manager

Reviewed 30 November 2015

I booked this hotel because of the nice profile picture it has. The lobby was like that, very modern and nice. But there were no elevators, so you have to carry all your luggages to second or third floor. The inner was not as beautiful...More

Thank Eleanor L
Response from CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel AtwaterResponded 22 December 2015

Dear Eleanor, Thanks for staying with us at the Hotel Atwater. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely, Roberto Perico General Manager

Reviewed 30 November 2015

First, I totally understand this is an older hotel so there are small bathrooms, old windows (with drafts coming through and we were there in winter), no elevator. In saying that I feel they really skimped on all in room amenities which they can control...More

4  Thank Jpants2003
Response from CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel AtwaterResponded 22 December 2015

Dear Jpants, I'm sorry to hear that your stay did not meet with your expectations. We truly appreciate your feedback. Our hotel was built in the 1920s. The reason why we do not offer small electrical appliances in the rooms like hairdryers, coffee makers, refrigerators...More

Reviewed 27 November 2015

I have stayed here several times and for Thanksgiving $97/night was a good deal. The rooms are adequate but sparse (I had one small picture for the entire room). The windows had old blinds and nothing else. Some drapes or even a valance would have...More

1  Thank LoveTrippin2
Response from CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel AtwaterResponded 22 December 2015

Dear LoveTrippin, Thanks for your feedback regarding your stay at the Hotel Atwater. Guest opinions are very important to us. We will take your comments into consideration. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely, Roberto Perico General Manager

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Details
Price range
US$99 - US$200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$99 - US$200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (84)
Room & Suite (54)
Dining (4)
Pool & Beach (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
kfarris8
25 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from navachick | Reviewed this property |
Unfortunately no deck at the Atwater, but countless places to sit and look at the water and have a drink. One of our favorite places was Descano Beach, they have a great outdoor bar and you can take your drink out on the... More
2
Votes
Kanan W
29 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Ed T | Reviewed this property |
There's a sand volleyball court and a hardtop basketball court east of the main beach near the ferry terminal. There are several tennis courts at the Catalina Country Club in Avalon. I don't know the protocol for access to... More
0
Votes
InviteExperiences
10 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from CatalinaICO | Property representative |
Yes, you can. Email social at scico.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Doesn't have elevators, so if that's one of the important aspects of choosing hotels, then lower..."
Read review
"Location only good thing it has to offer."
Read review
"Less expensive then many of hotels in the same area."
Read review
"No elevators, so 3rd floor rooms could be physically challenging"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing