We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Mac Rae

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Hotel Mac Rae
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

214 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mac Rae
See the most recent reviews
Showing 214: English reviews
Ventura
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Understand what you are booking and you'll be very happy. Mac Rae is an older hotel right in the center of the strip. The staff was very pleasant, the place was clean, the bed comfortable! The rooms are smaller, so what? We were there to run a marathon and enjoy the night life, not stay in our room. Our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brenda L
Bakersfield, California
Reviewed 15 March 2017

I have stayed at the Hotel Mac Rae for the past 5 years and have found it to be a very pleasant hotel. The rooms are clean and the hotel is very is well kept. If you are looking for a four star you won't find that, but if you are looking for a wonderful place to stay with lots...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clthompson0520
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 12 March 2017

We spent one night here, two bay view rooms. Check in was quick and efficient. Staff friendly. Continental breakfast was good. The selection was typical, but I think the quality of the baked goods was better than average and actually quite tasty. Our queen room was quite small, but big enough. The furnishings are dated but clean and well-kept, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TammyPatterson
HotelMacRae, General Manager at Hotel Mac Rae, responded to this review

Dear Tammy, Thank you for taking the time to submit this review. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and that your found the rooms to be clean and the staff friendly. I agree that the ocean view rooms offer great people watching. We look forward to your next visit! Karen Biery, 4th generation "Mac Rae", General Manager

Palm Desert, California
Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

This hotels website photos are terribly misleading. The rooms are dirty. The bathroom is beyond disgusting with filthy grout and mold in the shower. The courtyard was filled with cigarette debris from some guests that were chain smoking and allowed to be so loud from midnight until 4am with no regard for other guests who were trying to sleep. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lori M
HotelMacRae, General Manager at Hotel Mac Rae, responded to this review

As you can see from our other reviews, this just does not represent our hotel or our staff correctly. I am sorry this is your interpretation of your visit to our hotel and I hope that you have a more pleasant experience at one of the several other hotels on the island during your next visit. Karen Biery, 4th generation...

Sw Grand Mound,
Reviewed 10 January 2017

LOVE where this is located. In the heart of it all! The facilities here were just OK. There is a lot of updating needed, but you would find this is true for all of the facilities on the island in this price range. (We have stayed on the island 4 times now) The customer service was good! I even left...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jocelynn515
HotelMacRae, General Manager at Hotel Mac Rae, responded to this review

Dear Jocelynn, Congratulations on your run and thank you for this review. I am glad that we were able to provide you with our "island" customer service. I will share your comments with my staff. I appreciate them very much myself. Karen Biery, 4th generation "Mac Rae", General Manager

Yucaipa, California
Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile

We celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary In Avalon/Catalina Island and we chose to stay at a The Hotel Mac Rae. We researched many of the local hotels and decided upon The Hotel Mac Rae . From our first call to reserve our room with Sean it was a pleasure.Very polite and courteous to describe our room and amenities. When we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank waynefromcali
HotelMacRae, General Manager at Hotel Mac Rae, responded to this review

Dear Wayne, Thank you for sharing your appreciation of our hotel and staff! I am pleased that you enjoyed your fresh ocean view room and amenities. Please choose us again for your next visit to Avalon and we would be happy to take care of friends that you send our way as well. All the best! Karen Biery, 4th generation...

Reviewed 20 December 2016

Though the hotel is older, the rooms are well kept and clean. The hotel is right by the beach and 5 minute walk from the fairy. Complimentary light breakfast (sweets and coffee) is served in the morning. WiFi is also complimentary. But what really makes this hotel a gem is the people that work there. Excellent customer service going out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lilly R
HotelMacRae, General Manager at Hotel Mac Rae, responded to this review

Dear Lilly, Thank you for taking the time to compliment my wonderful staff. I will share your kind comments with them. I look forward to offering you a wonderful hotel package for your next visit to Avalon! Karen Biery, 4th generation "Mac Rae", General Manger

Bellevue, Washington
Reviewed 3 November 2016

I get much better value for 1/3 of the price at a Comfort Inn. The room was small. The air conditioning initially didn't work. The so called continental breakfast consisted of coffee, OJ and some stale pastries, with no plates or utensils. Having to leave an ID when checking out a beach towel is an annoying detail - they have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
HotelMacRae, General Manager at Hotel Mac Rae, responded to this review

Dear Michael, I am sorry that you were unhappy with your visit. Our hotel was built by my great-grandfather in 1920 and we have updated the rooms, but kept the same general design. Our continental breakfast offers fresh coffee, tea, orange juice and muffins and pastries delivered fresh each morning. We offer 4 ocean view rooms that are upstairs with...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 19 October 2016

We love you Hotel Mac Rae! Everything was taken care of and easy. Check-in was a breeze, so was check-out. The room was clean and well taken care of. We loved the property, steps from the beach. Couldn't believe we could walk out of our room, and down a few steps to the Pacific. I had 3 great swims right...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank eliz659
HotelMacRae, General Manager at Hotel Mac Rae, responded to this review

A fellow Scotsmen. Wonderful! Thank you for taking the time to share this kind review. I am glad that you enjoyed our hotel and our location. We look forward to your future return visits! Karen Biery, 4th generation "Mac Rae", General Manger

Long Beach, California
Reviewed 18 October 2016

While the amenities are dated, that does lend to the coziness of our stay. The courtyard was a nice place to relax. Don't plan on the continental breakfast as a meal as it was only mini muffins and a mini pastry with coffee or OJ.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jphl63
HotelMacRae, General Manager at Hotel Mac Rae, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our Hotel Mac Rae for your visit to Avalon. We are pleased that you enjoyed our cozy hotel and were able to relax on your stay. We look forward to your next visit. Karen Biery, 4th generation "Mac Rae", General Manager

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 km away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
475 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#15 of 20 in Avalon
348 reviews
0.1 km away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
476 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#12 of 20 in Avalon
185 reviews
0.2 km away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#13 of 20 in Avalon
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 4th generation Mac Rae family invites you to our centrally located beachfront hotel. Our hotel features panoramic ocean view rooms, continental breakfast, an open-air courtyard, complimentary beach towels and DVDs, after check-out shower facilities and luggage storage. All rooms are non-smoking and offer air conditioning, wireless internet, cable TV/DVD, and hair dryers. Come and enjoy our relaxing, quaint Mediterranean atmosphere right on the beach, in the very heart of Avalon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Mac Rae

Address: 409 Crescent Ave., PO Box 246, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Price Range: RM626 - RM1,340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Mac Rae Hotel
Mac Rae Avalon
Hotel Mac Rae Catalina Island/Avalon, CA
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Mac Rae staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Mac Rae staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The front rooms have the best view, but are also the noisiest.”
xicanodan, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ocean front is worth it.”
RobinW730, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ocean view...but that is just my choice”
philips5112017, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I got double twin, it's very comfortable and clean.”
venky2017, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Specify if you would like a room with a view because they are limited.”
Deni51, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5