We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Palapa House

55 Boca Del Rio San Pedro, Belize, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye Belize
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (48)
Room & Suite (30)
Pool & Beach (11)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 6 lodges in San Pedro
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
All eight units have spectacular ocean views at The Palapa House! This new mini-resort on the beach and walking distance to downtown San Pedro, restaurants, night life, shopping and much more. Location, location, location! Every unit has a covered veranda with spectacular views of the sunrise, ocean, pool and beach! Relax in the pool or sip coffee/cocktails at the little beachfront palapa bar. Most resorts need a golf cart to get around; optional at the Palapa House! All mattresses, linens and towels meet North American Four Star Resort standards. This is NOT your typical hotel mattress! Seven of the eight rooms have quiet central air conditioning units and the other a quiet mini split in lieu of noisy hotel AC units. Quiet comfort on the beach is our motto at The Palapa House! Every room has a modern walk in shower and most have cool barn doors for the bathroom and closet. The 1st floor and 3rd floor have exposed beams and the Penthouse has 14’ ceilings. Simply the best value!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Poolside bar
Beach
Diving
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Snorkelling
Windsurfing
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Patio
Walking tours
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Soundproof rooms
Interconnected rooms available
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
56Reviews5Q+A9Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 37
  • 11
  • 5
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Shari C wrote a review Jan 2024
12 contributions1 helpful vote
This location makes it easy to walk to most of the central San Pedro locations. We stayed in Unit 3 on the second floor and the view from the front is very nice. The bathroom had been updated and the overall space is very comfortable albeit with thin walls and a bit rustic in spots. It was great to have a separate living space and comfortable bedroom space and we used the coffee maker, fridge and microwave in the kitchen area. Orlando checked in with us in case we needed anything and Clara was also very accomodating. There's activity with carts and people passing by but the moment you close the sliding doors, it's quiet in your space. It's not a perfect or fancy place but it's extremely comfortable with a great location for a value price.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
RG B wrote a review Dec 2023
Sacramento, California135 contributions88 helpful votes
The Palapa House has clean but small beachfront rooms. A short ride from the water taxi (ferry) landing. No hotel staff on site. All email/text communication but very efficient. Walking distance to San Pedro center and local restaurants. Nothing luxurious here but clean beach accommodations for a reasonable price.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Lynn wrote a review Jan 2023
8 contributions6 helpful votes
We walked in the door and we were hit with a strong smell of mildew. Not good if you have allergies. We were in room 5. The kitchenette only consisted of a microwave and small refrigerator, no real cooking facilities. The sofa bed would not open (broken). My poor friend slept on top of the couch. There was no drinking water provided. Be aware you need to bring your own as tap water is not safe to drink. Now for the positives: we have a nice view of the ocean from our second floor balcony, the shower has a foot wash which can be used to adjust water temperature before engaging the shower, queen size bed.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Mathias P wrote a review Dec 2022
10 contributions11 helpful votes
We stayed for 5 nights at the Palapa House and I definitely wouldn't book another stay there. The staff members are all very kindly and the apartment was clean as we arrived. The location is nearby a couple of bars and restaurants, which is very good. In the kitchen there's neither an oven nor a cooker, hence the kitchen can't be fully used. The entrance to the apartment is through the bedroom, which I didn't like. The bed was very tiny for two people and the mattress was too soft (felt almost like in a waterbed). There's also no cleaning service. The sun chairs at the pool are very old and cheap and you can't relax directly at the beach, only at the pool area, which is not that beautiful. Summarised I wouldn't book the accommodation again, since the price was definitely too high.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Stacey H, Guest Services / Front Office at The Palapa House
Responded 5 Dec 2022
We appreciate any and all feedback and we're happy to hear you liked the location and staff, as well as the cleanliness as that's so important to us. To address your other comments, we do have units with full kitchens, but you booked one without. All our room amenities are clearly written on all booking sites. If you did not read the description, that is unfortunate. We are temporarily using the entrance through the bedrooms while new locks on the front doors are installed and we do apologize for the temporary inconvenience. 2 of our units have king size beds, and the rest have queen size, regular, American size king or queen which again is stated clearly in our room descriptions. One of our most common rave reviews is how comfortable the beds are, but we understand that is down to personal preference. Our reclining pool chairs are also available for use at the beach out front, not just at the pool. We are sorry to hear you didn't have a positive overall experience. We do try hard to make sure each guest has a comfortable, enjoyable stay and we are certainly always looking for areas to improve and will definitely pass those comments on. All the best, The Palapa House Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Santi wrote a review Jun 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Room was run down, the front door was always stuck as if the door was larger than the opening so I had to forcefully open all the time myself because my wife and kids couldn’t. The bathroom door and the bedroom door had a loud squeak and everyone would wake up in the middle of the night if someone had to go to the bathroom. Also there was a large leak in the living room area of the room that got our sofa bed and the floor all wet. I would definitely not recommend this please.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Stacey H, Guest Services / Front Office at The Palapa House
Responded 5 Dec 2022
It is always so disappointing for us when we hear of an issue only after in a review. We work extremely hard to make sure every guest has a memorable and comfortable stay with us. Things do happen, and it is a humid climate which can sometimes cause wood to expand, but that, along with a squeak is a very easy fix, had we only known at the time.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
toneloc3131 wrote a review Feb 2022
North Haven, Connecticut20 contributions7 helpful votes
Loved it. Stayed for 10 Days. It’s a perfect location. Boca Del Rio area is great. You can walk the beach with all the beach restaurants and bars within walking distance. We will 100 percent return. Clara the house keeper is the best person you’d ever meet.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Stacey H, Guest Services / Front Office at The Palapa House
Responded 13 Feb 2022
Thanks so much for the kind words and taking the time to give us your feedback! We try hard to make sure everyone has a great stay, so we're thrilled you enjoyed your trip and hope to see you back in the future. We will also pass this on to Clara as well! All the best.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
xantippy wrote a review Feb 2022
Woodinville, Washington146 contributions90 helpful votes
We rented 2 units; one on the top floor and one on the lowest level. Both were clean and comfortable. The location is also convenient; directly across the street from an awesome dive shop, and walking distance to many restaurants, shops, and a grocery market. The maintenance guy was courteous and prompt in addressing a squeaky door. We paid $25 to have one unit cleaned during the middle of our stay, and the maid was very sweet and did a fantastic job. We would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Renee D wrote a review Jan 2022
Waterford80 contributions76 helpful votes
We loved our stay at the Palapa House. Shane and Stacey were very good and responded to all inquiries right away. Santiago and Clara who help take care of the resort are so friendly and work hard to make sure everything is perfect. The rooms were very nice, beds extremely comfortable and view amazing! The location cannot be beat!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stacey H, Guest Services / Front Office at The Palapa House
Responded 16 Jan 2022
Thank you so much for the kind words! We try very hard to make sure everyone who stays has a great experience, we're so happy to hear that you did! Thank you for trusting us with your vacation. All the best, hope to see you again in the future. The Palapa House Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Melissa T wrote a review Jul 2021
Dunlap, Tennessee72 contributions33 helpful votes
Palapa House is located in a wonderful neighborhood with lots of locals. I enjoyed seeing the neighbors outside each evening laughing and visiting with one another. Clara, the house keeper was the sweetest lady. We met her at check-in and she started us off with a great impression. The room was very clean. We stayed on the third floor, in unit 8. The bed was comfortable and there were plenty of towels. The airport is a short 5 minute golf cart ride. We felt very safe here. The pool is great, but we didn’t use it. Chuck and Robbie’s Dive shop is steps away. They offered a snorkeling tour with a tremendous guide. Check them out.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Stacey H, Guest Services / Front Office at The Palapa House
Responded 6 Jul 2021
Thanks so much for the kind words! We really appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay. We will definitely pass this on to Clara as well. Hope to see you again in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Linda F wrote a review Jun 2021
84 contributions12 helpful votes
The ocean view from the patio is amazing. Reallllly appreciated the location! Great towels. Kitchen well equipped. There was a slight issue of no bedding for sofa bed but they remedied that as soon as notified and left a 6 pack in the fridge to apologize. Couldn’t do better than that for customer service. While I loved the penthouse, that is a lot of stairs to carry luggage. Something to consider. I would return.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: You can get golf cart at a much better rate than the one they recommend.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stacey H, Guest Services / Front Office at The Palapa House
Responded 6 Jul 2021
Thanks so muck Linda! Hope to see you again in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the San Pedro area.
PRICE RANGE
RM 703 - RM 861 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
BelizeBelize CayesAmbergris CayeSan Pedro
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE PALAPA HOUSE: UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 94 Photos (San Pedro, Belize) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Palapa House
Which popular attractions are close to The Palapa House?
Nearby attractions include Hol Chan Marine Reserve (0.4 km), Belizean Arts (0.5 km), and Wayos Beach Bar (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Palapa House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at The Palapa House?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Palapa House?
Guests can enjoy a poolside bar and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at The Palapa House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Palapa House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cool Beans Café, Izzy's Smoothies Snacks & Juice Bar, and Caliente Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Palapa House?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does The Palapa House have airport transportation?
Yes, The Palapa House offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does The Palapa House have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is The Palapa House accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.