We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mata Rocks Resort

45 Coconut Drive PO Box 47, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye Belize
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (445)
360
Panoramas (13)
Room & Suite (293)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#16 of 28 resorts in San Pedro
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Mata Rocks is a boutique beachfront resort located on Ambergris Caye in San Pedro, Belize. The resort is situated south of the main town, approximately a 15 minute golf cart ride from the airport. The resort features 17 rooms all with ocean views, a pool, a bar and so much more! Here you'll be able to relax, enjoy the beautiful beach, partake in multiple activities and tours, and explore all that San Pedro and Belize have to offer.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Free airport transportation
Massage
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Breakfast available
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Bicycles available
Canoeing
Diving
Snorkelling
Windsurfing
Fishing
Walking tours
Airport transportation
Car hire
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

45 Coconut Drive PO Box 47, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye Belize
Mata Rocks Resort
529Reviews28Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 272
  • 172
  • 52
  • 17
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Jai-Jai G wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
The staff was very friendly and nice, the food at the bar was good depending on what you ordered. And Free Coffee/Water at the outside bar. But.. Don't waste your money. I would never stay at this resort again. The room alone was just not acceptable. The outlets in some places did not work/one little table for both beds, double occupancy. One towel and one roll of toilet paper, that we had to ask for towels and TP every single day. Staff was reluctant to give us fresh beach towels and bath towels on a daily basis. So many cracks in the room. The shower was full of hair when I checked in and the shower drain is lower than the tile, so I tripped in there and told the Manager about it. All they did was clean the hair out of the drain that day. That shower is an accident waiting to happen. Floor in the rooms was not cleaned enough for my standards. And I am in healthcare. We were promised an Ocean View, what we got was a corner end unit, so when you open the door you saw the room outside across from you. The manager said well, if you turn your head right, there's the Ocean. unacceptable. The outside of our room by the pool was dangerously slippery if it rained, that you had to be very careful when walking so as not to slip. The outside bar/huts was really adorable, except for some tables were rusted and several nails sticking out of post or on the dock, that one lady had a nail go thru her foot, so I played Nurse that day since most of us talked and knew what we did for a living. Getting off the dock into our boat excursions was another issue. not a safe dock and very dangerous. We were told it was a swimming area and unfortunately not even close. We had to walk down to another resort to get into the ocean. We were not told about using the free kayaks/paddle boards until the last day and I was livid, since I kayak in my town. This place could really be an adorable boutique hotel if someone had the money and incentive. Sad to say, Hotel -1 Staff 4 I hav enever been so disappointed on a vacation before.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Taylor Ankier, Owner at Mata Rocks Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback with us. We sincerely apologize for the numerous issues you encountered during your stay. Your experience does not meet the standards we strive to uphold, and we deeply regret any inconvenience or disappointment you experienced. We take your comments very seriously and will address each concern with urgency and thoroughness. It is disheartening to hear about the cleanliness issues, maintenance issues, and safety concerns you encountered. Rest assured, we will take immediate steps to rectify these issues and ensure that our rooms and facilities meet the highest standards of cleanliness, maintenance, and safety. We apologize for any miscommunication regarding amenities and activities, such as the availability of free kayaks and paddleboards. We will take steps to ensure that all guests are properly informed about the amenities and activities available to them during their stay. We understand your frustration and disappointment, and we are truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your feedback, as it helps us identify areas for improvement and ensures that we can provide a better experience for future guests. If there's anything else we can do to address your concerns or if you would like to discuss your experience further, please don't hesitate to reach out to us directly. We sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with the exceptional experience that you deserve. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kem B wrote a review Jan 2024
7 contributions2 helpful votes
I chose this hotel based on what they advertise as amenities--stupid me to expect what they advertise is what I should expect! There are so many things to complain about, this review would be a novel so I will provide highlights. I witnessed 2 different parties check in and leave the next day. One party, a couple traveling from Seattle, I was able to speak with as they were leaving the property. They said the lock on their door didn't work was the last straw for them among other concerns. I hope they are able to get their money back. Mata Rocks offer airport transfers on their website. When I tried to arrange pick up, I was told they haven't offered this service in a long time. While on the property I heard at least 3 other guests ask about transport back to the airport and were told the same thing. The rooms are poorly cleaned, there was quite a bit of European hair on my shower walls when I checked in. The housekeepers did not change me sheets for days. I asked that my sheets get changed and Gisellie lied to me and said she changed them. When I pulled the sheets back to get into bed that night, the dried blood spots from when I scratched mosquito bites during my sleep made it quite evident my sheets were never changed. The next morning I asked the front desk person who was doubling as the bartender/waiter to please have my sheets changed, the lying housekeeper had the audacity to tell me it was changed the day before. When I pointed out the dried bloodspots as proof she was a liar, she said nothing more. The other housekeeper Gisellie continued to double-down on her lie. The day they so-called cleaned my room, they took the garbage out the waste basket and decided to place it on the table among my things primarily food items and leave it there. When I returned to my room and saw it, I asked the manager to please come to my room. At this point I was fresh out of patience being that so much had gone wrong. I asked the manager Anita, how much more should I contend with? As per her usual response she apologized and offered me food which I refused. Food on the Island is relatively cheap so not only was it insulting, it did nothing to fix the actual issues I brought to her attention. Claiming she would talk to them, was for my benefit alone, she could care less. I realized, her allegiance is not with me, I was just a stranger passing through and they've already collected my money. Anita and the staff's allegiance is with each other for better or worse! For the remainder of my stay, I opted not to have the housekeepers come back into my room (They weren't cleaning it anyway!). I was emptying the trash daily and going to the reception desk for clean towels. Even something as basic as clean towels and wash cloths was a challenge to get on the premises. The most egregious of insults however, was statements made by Iver. There was a group that checked in on Saturday from Minnesota who were noticeably rambunctious and at times disruptive. Most of them left the following Tuesday. During their stay, Iver had no issues serving them at the bar and taking any tips they offered. He however thought it was appropriate in their absence to complain to another guest about Black-Americans. Iver stated he'd prefer they go somewhere else. Therefore, my review is to also serve as a PSA to Black-American travelers to San Pedro, DO NOT GO TO MATA ROCKS RESORT, IVER DOES NOT WANT YOU THERE! Iver also thought it couth to tell the same guest, tips are best given in cash because when written in on the credit card receipt, it takes a month for him to get it! San Pedro is a nice place to visit but do yourself a favor no matter your race, if accommodations are important to you, Mata Rocks in not a place to stay. If it was rental property in the states, the owners would be classified as Slum Lords. To the couple from Seattle who left the property, if you need a witness statement to dispute your charges based on the conditions at Mata Rocks, please message me.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Taylor Ankier, Owner at Mata Rocks Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing your detailed feedback with us. We sincerely apologize for the numerous issues you encountered during your stay. Your experience does not meet the standards we strive to uphold, and we deeply regret any inconvenience or disappointment you experienced. We take your comments very seriously and will address each concern with urgency and thoroughness. It is disheartening to hear about the cleanliness issues, maintenance issues, and the unacceptable behavior of our staff members. We do not condone any form of discrimination or inappropriate behavior, and we have already taken immediate steps to address this matter and ensure that all staff members adhere to our standards of professionalism and respect for all guests. We understand your frustration and disappointment, and we are truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your feedback, as it helps us identify areas for improvement and ensures that we can provide a better experience for future guests. If there's anything else we can do to address your concerns or if you would like to discuss your experience further, please don't hesitate to reach out to us directly. We sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with the exceptional experience that you deserve. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
worldtravelpros wrote a review Dec 2023
Cleveland, Ohio79 contributions80 helpful votes
We stayed at Mata Rocks 20 years ago and just took a family trip back with our two teen aged children. The good - The staff is still able to arrange amazing tours (swimming with sharks, fishing, cave-tubing) right from the front desk. Our room was sufficient and clean - it even smelled good upon arrival The needs improvement- The beach (similar to most resorts now) has a concrete break wall. This hotel however did not fill in the sand behind the break wall so the view which could be amazing is just not amazing. The overall building maintenance is lacking overall. It seems no one is able to find the broom to sweep the floors in the restaurant area or a rag to wipe down the tables. While we witnessed a pool guy cleaning the pool it remained completely disgusting - even our kids refused to enter the water. It is a small pool which would have been sufficient if it had been maintained. Some paint and pool chemicals are needed. Summary - this place is now well below average but will suffice if you plan on filling your days and evenings off property on excursions and exploring the town….. if you plan on hanging around the hotel you should go elsewhere. This place has the potential to be amazing once again - but the new owners seem less personally engaged than the prior owners and it is showing. I hope to hear of a revival someday!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor - you get a balcony and some enhanced privacy.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Taylor Ankier, Owner at Mata Rocks Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, and for choosing Mata Rocks once again for your family trip. We're glad to hear that you found our staff helpful in arranging tours and that your room was sufficient and clean upon arrival. We apologize for any disappointment you experienced with the condition of our beach, building maintenance, and pool cleanliness. Your comments are valuable to us, and we will address these concerns promptly to ensure that our facilities meet the standards our guests expect. We appreciate your feedback regarding the potential for improvement, and we will take it into consideration as we strive to enhance the overall guest experience. We are committed to providing a comfortable and enjoyable stay for all of our guests, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future to experience the improvements firsthand. Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to see you again soon. If you have any further comments or if there's anything else we can do to improve, please don't hesitate to let us know. Safe travels!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jolanta D wrote a review Aug 2023
24 contributions4 helpful votes
Very comfy beds, fresh pot of coffee at bar every morning. Location was great short drive to town. Great tacos across the street from crazy tacos. The staff of this hotel is amazing. Anita the manager, John and Bartender will go out of their way to help, acomadte and advise.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Taylor Ankier, Owner at Mata Rocks Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Mata Rocks and that you found our beds comfy and appreciated the fresh pot of coffee at the bar every morning. We're also glad to hear that you enjoyed the convenient location, with great dining options nearby. We truly appreciate your kind words about our staff members, including Anita, Javier, and the bartender. Providing exceptional service and ensuring our guests have a memorable experience is always our top priority, and we're delighted to hear that they went above and beyond to assist and accommodate you during your stay. We will be sure to pass along your compliments to our team members, as they will be thrilled to hear that their efforts made a positive impact on your stay. Thank you for choosing Mata Rocks, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future! If there's anything else we can do to make your next visit even more enjoyable, please don't hesitate to let us know. Safe travels, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
SpunkyDurk2 wrote a review Mar 2023
Cincinnati, Ohio1 contribution
Resort - This is a cute little sandy boutique hotel. The staff, Hari, Javi, Anita and Hymi were wonderful and took great care of us in our weeklong stay. They helped us with airport transfer, bookings, food and drink, taught us pickle ball and even bandaged my arm (multiple times). The property was clean but could use a bit of sprucing up. The daily housekeeping service was excellent. ***Read this next part before you book!!!! Shore/Beach - March 2023 is seeing the largest influx of sagassum ever -not just in Ambergris Caye - but around the Caribbean. In Ambergris Caye it is a bloom of literally tons of seaweed that is washing into shore in waves. The sargassum is a solid coating on the water for the first 300 yards out from the beach. As it gathers on the beach, it rots and smells like rotten eggs and shrimp. This makes kayaking, swimming and paddle boarding almost impossible. This is the condition of the shore from north to south all along Ambergris Caye. Crews are using pitchforks to attempt to clear it but they are merely making a dent in the problem. They are literally filling dump trucks and attempting to carry it away but it keeps washing in. It turns the water brown and upsets visibility for snorkeling and diving. As a more broad concern, it is absorbing alot of oxygen from the water and choking out sea life. The West facing "beaches" are not plagued with the seaweed issue. The "beach" in front of the resort was small to begin with but the week before we got there, a storm breached the sea wall (which holds in the sand that makes up the beach) and now half of it is blocked with caution tape. As a side note, if it were not for the sargassum and the caved in beach, I think this would be a delightful beach to hang out on. To get away from the smell, we went diving. The smell is not as bad on a dive boat or if you happen to be hanging out on a dock that is not surrounded by sargassum. Diving - March and April are the windy months so beware of large swells and poor visibility. The week before we arrived, the storms were so bad that dive boats did not go out for a week. Visibility was just OK and swells varied from 4-8 foot waves. We used Belize Pro Dive which is an easy walk from the resort. Johnathan, De Mas and Pedro were great. We did not do as much diving as we planned because my husband contracted a foodborne illness.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Check credible sources to gauge the seaweed issues before you book. The smell and the lack of...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Taylor Ankier, Owner at Mata Rocks Resort
Responded 22 Mar 2023
Thanks for the review! We know that sargassum is a very large issue, we do have a warning go out to all guests now because we understand if you wish to cancel. We apologize for the beach having issues while you were there and that they could not be fixed immediately. It is fixed now and we hope that next time you come to the island your stay will not be interrupted by the seagrass.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ken Y. wrote a review Feb 2023
Calgary, Canada6 contributions2 helpful votes
Yes the hotel is right on the water with magnificent views. Yes you can hop out of bed and go for a run or walk along the shore, and it's just a couple of kms from downtown (far enough from the downtown crowds, but close enough to take a golf cart out for an evening meal in a restaurant downtown). Yes the rooms are clean and comfortable and the wifi and fridge work. Yes the amenities are lovely, with the only pickleball court on the caye, a nice pool, and a pool bar. But it's the people who make this cute little boutique hotel special. Harry and Javier and the rest of the staff did everything they could to make sure we had a thoroughly pleasant stay. We'd buy exotic and unfamiliar fruit from local vendors and Javier would cut it up for us or mix it in cocktails, and explain how Belizeans would normally prepare it. And when there was a mix up with our cart rental, Harry sorted it out with the rental company like a pit-bull, making it right, and doing everything he could to make sure our overall experience was positive. The only downside to our stay were factors beyond the control of the hotel. If you are going to stay at Mata Rocks or any of the other hotels on the west coast of Ambergris Caye, you may (or may not) see sargassum seaweed washing up on the shore. The seaweed did blow in during windy days, but most of it accumulated on the shoreline in front of the property next door, that was closed for renovations, whose owners didn't care to have it removed. The renovations were expected to be completed in March 2023, so for most visitors it won't be a problem. And while Mata Rocks does not have a pristine white sand beach immediately outside (it has a sea wall), we were able to enter the water from the pier and have a great swim in the shallow, warm water. We also saw people fly-fishing from the pier or wading, and the hotel supplies kayaks, and paddle boards! Had a great time kayaking from the hotel to the San Pedro sign downtown and back!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: At the pool bar, ask for the "Javier Special"
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Taylor Ankier, Owner at Mata Rocks Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing your detailed feedback with us! We're delighted to hear that you had a thoroughly pleasant stay at Mata Rocks and that you enjoyed the magnificent views, convenient location, clean and comfortable rooms, and the lovely amenities we offer. We're especially grateful for your kind words about our staff members, including Harry, Javier, and the rest of the team. Providing exceptional service and ensuring our guests have a memorable experience is always our top priority, and we're thrilled to hear that they went above and beyond to make your stay special. We'll be sure to pass along your compliments to them, as they will be thrilled to hear that their efforts made a positive impact on your stay. We appreciate your understanding regarding factors beyond our control, such as the presence of seaweed on the shoreline. However, we're glad to hear that it didn't significantly detract from your overall experience, and that you were still able to enjoy the water activities and amenities we offer. Thank you for choosing Mata Rocks, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future! If there's anything else we can do to make your next visit even more enjoyable, please don't hesitate to let us know. Safe travels, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Beachsing wrote a review Feb 2023
Port Aransas, Texas55 contributions20 helpful votes
Let me start by saying that Mata Rocks is not a true resort in the terms many folks from the US would want. There is no round the clock bar, endless food service and expansive beach. BUT..... What Mata Rocks is includes a comfortable room with all necessary amenities, a nice pool, a lovely palapa that includes a bar and individual palapas on a small stretch of beach. What makes Mata Rocks special are the people working there. I have never seen a harder working employee than Hari. He was a jack at all trades and there for hours upon end. He served the (changing daily) gratis continental breakfast with a smile, worked the front desk, took bags to rooms and always had a smile on his face. There was a variety of guests, from Snow Birds, to families to late 20-somethings and they also have two pickle bar courts, which were a hot commodity. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony were worth the small upgrade in price.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Taylor Ankier, Owner at Mata Rocks Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay at Mata Rocks. We're thrilled to hear that you found our accommodations comfortable and equipped with all necessary amenities, and that you enjoyed our pool and beach area with the lovely palapa and bar. We couldn't agree more that what truly makes Mata Rocks special is our dedicated staff, particularly Hari. We're delighted to hear that he provided exceptional service with a smile, and we'll be sure to pass along your kind words to him and the rest of our team. Providing excellent service and ensuring our guests have a memorable experience is always our top priority, and we're glad to hear that Hari's hard work contributed to your enjoyment of your stay. We're also pleased to hear that you appreciated the diverse range of guests and the availability of our pickleball courts. Thank you for choosing Mata Rocks, and we would be honored to welcome you back in the future! If there's anything else we can do to make your next visit even more enjoyable, please don't hesitate to let us know. Safe travels, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Adam W wrote a review Jan 2023
Ivar ordered a taxi for me the day we were supposed to go back to the airport... Since on that morning the office doesn't open till 7 AM and we had to catch a taxi before 7 AM nobody was in the office to help.. I asked ivar two times make sure the taxi was ordered and he said "on my word taxi will be there at 615am".. Well on that morning the taxi never showed up we had to hitchhike a local resident with golf cart to get to the airport it was very stressful... There is no hotel staff the I'll go home after 7 PM and don't show up until 7 AM the next morning there is no one to call at night time if you have any questions or issues or follows in the room. There is no Wi-Fi in the room itself very terrible
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Taylor Ankier, Owner at Mata Rocks Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and stress you experienced with the taxi situation during your stay. Your feedback is invaluable to us, and we're deeply sorry for any miscommunication or inconvenience caused by the lack of availability of hotel staff during certain hours. We take your comments seriously and will address the issues you've raised with our team to ensure that similar situations do not occur in the future. Providing reliable transportation arrangements and accessibility to assistance at all times are essential aspects of our commitment to guest satisfaction, and we regret that we fell short in this instance. Regarding the Wi-Fi, we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with the connectivity in your room. We are continually working to improve our services, and we will look into ways to enhance the Wi-Fi coverage throughout the property. Please know that your feedback has been heard, and we will take steps to address the issues you've raised to ensure a better experience for our guests in the future. If there's anything else we can do to assist you or if you have any further concerns, please don't hesitate to reach out to us directly. We sincerely appreciate your understanding and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a more seamless and enjoyable stay in the future. Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
patricia s wrote a review Jan 2023
Bern, Switzerland15 contributions6 helpful votes
Pay attention! In mid-October 2022 we made a reservation for one week through booking with the possibility of cancellation free of charge. Days later we cancelled this reservation, but Mata Rocks had already debited 50 % of the credit card immediately. In the terms and conditions it is written that the refund lasts 30 days. After this period we wrote two emails to ask for a refund, When we didn't get any answer, we had to turn to Booking. Thanks to Booking's customer service, we got our refund a few days later! It is regrettable that we had to waste time and money, as we lost 75 dollars with this refund. Where is the seriousness of this place? We had the opportunity to walk around the outside of the hotel and there is no beach, but a concrete wall. Dirty, just doesn't look taken care of.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Taylor Ankier, Owner at Mata Rocks Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with your reservation and refund process. We take your feedback seriously and are disappointed to hear about your negative experience. Rest assured, we strive to uphold the highest standards of professionalism and guest satisfaction. Regarding your reservation, we understand the frustration caused by the delay in processing your refund. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. We will investigate the matter further to ensure that such issues are addressed promptly in the future. As for the condition of the property, we take cleanliness and maintenance very seriously. We will address any areas that require attention to ensure that our guests have a pleasant experience during their stay. We appreciate your feedback and will use it to improve our services. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future for a more enjoyable experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Shlomo F wrote a review Oct 2022
Qiryat Ata, Israel10 contributions5 helpful votes
Stayed at the Mara Rock resort during a business/vacation trip. Had a 100% experience. Wonderfully located, fantastic hospitality and service. Couldn't find anything to write negativity about. I was in a relatively "off season" time, but could still appreciate the cleanliness, attention and service. Highly recommended
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: San Pedro is a nice place to come for a very comfortable, calm vacation. I was lucky enough to...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Taylor Ankier, Owner at Mata Rocks Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive experience with us! We're thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful stay at Mata Rocks during your business/vacation trip and that you enjoyed our location, hospitality, and service. We strive to provide exceptional experiences for all of our guests, regardless of the season, and we're delighted to hear that you found everything to be top-notch during your stay. Your kind words mean the world to us, and we truly appreciate your recommendation. Thank you for choosing Mata Rocks, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future for another fantastic experience. If there's anything else we can do to make your next stay even more enjoyable, please don't hesitate to let us know. Safe travels, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the San Pedro area.
PRICE RANGE
RM 697 - RM 926 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mata rocks hotel san pedro, mata rocks san pedro
LOCATION
BelizeBelize CayesAmbergris CayeSan Pedro
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MATA ROCKS RESORT: UPDATED 2024 Reviews, Price Comparison and 717 Photos (San Pedro, Belize) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Mata Rocks Resort
What are some of the property amenities at Mata Rocks Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Mata Rocks Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Mata Rocks Resort?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, a poolside bar, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Mata Rocks Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mata Rocks Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hidden Treasure Restaurant, The Baker, and Robin's Kitchen.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mata Rocks Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Mata Rocks Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Mata Rocks Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Mata Rocks Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Mata Rocks Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mata Rocks Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does Mata Rocks Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.