Caribbean Villas Hotel

Traveller (884)
360
Panoramas (16)
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Fri, 8 Dec
Get rewarded with One Key
RM 640
Fully refundable before Fri, 8 Dec
RM 640
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#44 of 146 hotels in Ambergris Caye
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Caribbean Villas Hotel on Ambergris Caye has comfortable suites/rooms with Caribbean views, beautiful grounds, a large sandy beach all within sight of the reef. Whether you want a romantic vacation or a getaway from the crowds, a spell of renewal or a stepping stone to adventure, we can cater to your needs. With an onsite Dive Shop on our dock to arrange Scuba and Snorkeling excursions there is no lack of activities for adventure seekers. Or just relax with an oceanfront massage from their onsite masseuse. Our full-time concierge is available to book any mainland tours including Reef & Deep Sea fishing, Jungle Zip-lining, Cave-tubing and Maya Ruin tours. Golf Cart rentals are also available on site. Guests also have access to two fresh water pools, and the on-site restaurant which serves Caribbean and Belizean cuisine.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Poolside bar
Diving
Snorkelling
Fishing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Pedicure
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
966Reviews36Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 514
  • 300
  • 94
  • 34
  • 24
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Jan L wrote a review Mar 2023
Kalispell, Montana13 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel's Favourite
I’ve just returned from a multiple week trip to San Pedro and Caribbean Villas Hotel. Having visited the property many times over the years, this was my first time staying there. My first night arriving in San Pedro was later in the evening so I chose to spend one night at CVH before heading way north for a week with friends. That night was in the original section of the hotel. As soon as I arrived there was staff to help with luggage and greet me. Front desk agent was Jameli and I can’t say enough about how professional and helpful she was the full time I was there. Always smiling and willing to help with whatever I needed. Nigel is the other reception agent, and he is just as pleasant and helpful I was meeting friends in the restaurant soon after arrival and was happy to be able to drop my things and start my vacation!
Dinner that night was delicious! In fact, every meal I had was good. My favorites were chicken piccata, curry and chicken tenders. Oh, and the cobb salad. Not necessarily in that order. Bar and restaurant are a huge plus when staying at CVH. Coffee is out at 7 so you can get a cup and just enjoy the start of the day. And of course, having Miss Charlene of BC’s fame is a bonus! Iris, Chris and Moniquita (Monica but she is tiny) are the best! Always smiling and professional.
On arrival that night, and arrivals and departures for friends, Jerry carried luggage up and down, and securely attached it to my cart for a long bumpy ride north. He is a gem! He was right there whenever I needed the heavy lifting for both my arrivals, and a friend arriving and leaving. Unfortunately, he was off duty when I left for home, but I hope he knows how much I appreciated his help. My final departure day, Abner was there to lug my stuff with a huge smile.
On to the room. I was in 2A. It is second floor ocean front. The view was my favorite part. I sat on the balcony every morning with coffee and every evening with a cocktail. The room itself was just what I needed. I don’t want fancy and stuffy, just clean, and comfortable. This was spotless, cute light fixtures, great shower with plenty of hot water and water pressure. Twin beds for the first week when I had a friend staying and they immediately swapped it out for a king the morning of her departure. Both were very comfy. Coffee pot and small fridge were handy. Water jugs to refill reusable water bottles right at the landing. Housekeeping was every other day and very professional.
The grounds and pools are maintained daily and are beautiful! The entire property is raked every single morning. The sargassum is a problem in the entire Caribbean right now, nothing can be done immediately but there are lots of folks trying to come up with a solution. Caribbean Villas is raking and digging it up daily. Three to four guys all day long. It makes a huge difference. Not all properties are being as diligent at keeping up with it.
As a woman traveling alone for the most part, and with a female friend part of the time, I have to say the staff at Caribbean Villas made us feel very safe and comfortable. There was always someone to contact if needed. A staff member even walked a food delivery person to the door to be sure it was all ok as it was after dark.
I would like to thank Beth Hart, GM for CVH for an incredible stay. Great work and I can’t wait to get back!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
liondog58 wrote a review Jan 2020
San Pedro, Belize8 contributions1 helpful vote
We recently came back from our vacation to Belize .
We stayed at Caribbean Villas Hotel .
The location was perfect ! We were right on the beach with beautiful sunrise views each morning. The beach was clean and had lounge chairs and tables for our use .
Our room was clean and had everything we needed..fridge, coffee maker, toiletries, a great porch to sit and relax on , etc
We were a short walk to town along the beach, yet far enough away to be in peaceful and relaxing surroundings.
The staff couldn’t have been more helpful and kind to us and helped us plan our snorkel trips and recommended many things to do and see.
(I recommend a visit to the Belize Chocolate Company if you like delicious chocolate!)
We ate at the restaurant which was competitively priced and generous in their portions .
The bartenders were great and a lot of fun to chat with.
We definitely got our money’s worth plus more and would recommend Caribbean Villas Hotel for great value for your money.
In fact, we are already planning a return visit!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Theresa wrote a review Nov 2021
5 contributions4 helpful votes
This is a quaint pretty hotel that yes - has a lot of potential. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. Yes, there was not a phone in the room however the office staff was available and quick to assist. Thanksgiving Day we ate breakfast on the beach and I was pleasantly surprised at the amount of food. We were definitely not disappointed! The drinks were on point as well. Marilyn was able to book us a last minute snorkeling tour that day which was amazing. That evening we had Thanksgiving dinner at the on site restaurant.

Like stated before, this property has a lot of potential. There are renovations being done to the dive shop and bar both located on the pier. Adding jet ski rentals would be great. The pier also has a great location for a wedding ceremony. ✔ Definitely considering this hotel as our wedding site.

Some things to consider while staying at this resort:

Expect a local atmosphere. This is not like other "cookie cutter" tropical resorts. You will come in contact with locals, ex pats and transplants who are happy to share their love for this beautiful island. Yes, there was karaoke which was fun.

Expect mosquitoes. Management does a good job with trying to spray at least twice daily however let's face it, you're in the Caribbean. Mosquitoes are the norm. Pack plenty if insect repellent. Purchase insect spray from the nearby store and spray your room prior to leaving out for the day. You can also purchase insect repellent coils. Light them and place on your porch or patio to keep those winged vampires at bay.

Expect delays when ordering food. Relax, kick back with a fruity adult beverage and remember you're on island time and on vacation for a reason. Enjoy it!

Yes, we will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Caribbean Villas Hotel, General Manager at Caribbean Villas Hotel
Responded 16 Jan 2022
Good Day Theresa, We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Do plan your wedding here, it will be one of fairytales for sure. We hope to see you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tak11937 wrote a review Jan 2020
Bristol, Rhode Island69 contributions18 helpful votes
We knew going in that this wasn’t a 5 star resort so we kept that in mind. The location is perfect... 15 minute walk to the center of town a a few nice beaches just south of the resort. We were lucky to have a suite in the concrete built villas rather than the newer wooden construct. The fixtures in the bathroom were old and rusty and the water pressure was at a trickle. No phones to contact the front desk. The pools were nice but cold and you can expect a bunch of... local... or staff member kids hanging around in the afternoons blasting music form their phones and splashing around so not the most relaxing environment. The on-site restaurant was overpriced and the food wasn’t very good. The cleaning staff were on point except they took our bottle returns which we expected to cash in for our refund. Front desk were helpful at times but not extremely friendly and Mr Happy wasn’t so happy to be asked why the power was out. He acted defensive instead of apologetic and was more happy doing karaoke. Overall you get what you pay for and the price is right. I would return but I hope some improvements are made.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chris M wrote a review Mar 2020
Brooklin, Canada3 contributions4 helpful votes
My visit to Caribbean Villas was not as pleasant as it should've been. I reserved three nights through Booking.com and, usually when reserving a hotel through them, they only charge you for the first night. Unfortunately, I had to cut my stay short due to an emergency.

During check out, was told I was billed for all three nights, per Booking.com policies. I checked the site's policies and showed the owner where it clearly stated that the hotel is responsible for all billing and has final say on cancellation. The owner was rude and abrupt, saying it wasnt up to them and I'm responsible for all three nights at full price. I offered to pay a penalty for the last minute cancellation, but was rudely told they couldn't help and that they were "too busy" to deal with the situation .

Although the property was well situated, well manicured and the rooms clean, I was obviously upset I had to cut my vacation short and that they had no inclination to deal fairly with my situation.

I give the property 8.5/10 for looks but the owner and reception staff were subpar and force me to never want to deal with this hotel again. They're relying too much on the allure of the property but not service. Staff = 1/10
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from caribbeanvillash, General Manager at Caribbean Villas Hotel
Responded 13 Mar 2020
Thank you for the positive feedback on the appearance of the property. I'm very sorry that you could not complete the time that you had planned to stay with us. I hope that the reason for your emergency departure has been resolved. When you came to the office to cancel the remainder of your stay, we asked you confirm the change directly with Booking.com. This is standard practice because you arranged your stay with that company. I am the manager that was on the call with my member of staff. You clearly did not agree with that response - but it was the required solution. There was nothing else that I could do to assist you at that time. Payment and cancellation policies on Booking.com vary from one hotel property to another, so always check the individual hotel policies when you make a booking. Our payment policy is that if the reservation is received within 30 days of arrival, the full payment is charged. I will be sending you a private message via the Booking.com extranet shortly. Beth Hart
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Erinbird wrote a review Jan 2020
15 contributions4 helpful votes
The worst of it. The hotel room is old, dark and very basic. It came with a safe that didn't work and a mini fridge. We had to buy a large jug of water from the lobby for $5 usd . There was no hot water. The elevator did not work and there was large brown splats of some unknown substance in the stairwell. The sushi bar is closed. The water park has seen better years. Oh and the karaoke is loud and awful. OMG
Fortunately, we did not spend a lot of time in our room and when we did we were out on the balcony. We only had one meal in the restaurant so I cannot comment about the food. We went to a nearby store and brought food and drinks to our room and mostly ate at street vendors (Cant recommend Robin's jerk chicken enough!! ) or other nearby restaurants. We took advantage of the free bike rentals and explored the island. The bartenders are all friendly, happy and make perfect cocktails. All the staff does their best to make you feel welcome. They will go out of their way to help and accommodate you when they can. I never felt unsafe or hard done by during my stay. I had a relaxing and wonderful holiday.
All in all I would reccommend this resort and San Pedro to my friends, with the warning that this is not a 4 star or even 3 star resort.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lizette wrote a review Mar 2020
4 contributions3 helpful votes
We stayed here for 3 nights! We loved the location and the fact that it was right in front of the beach! The beach is well maintained, I saw someone cleaning the seaweed every morning. We also booked our snorkeling trip to the marine reserve and the shark alley through them for a good price. We did rent a golf cart the 3 days that we stayed there so I'm not sure if it's good walking distance from the town. The room was cleaned everyday and we had no complaints. they also have a huge slide that was opened everyday we were there and they even have a short zipline to get in the water and a bar right by it! We really enjoyed our stay here and would totally recommend it to my friends and family!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Stay in the 4th Floor! Better view of the beach!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rachael P wrote a review Jul 2022
7 contributions
This is our third time staying at Caribbean Villas. We love the balance of having what we need without compromising the local feel. The owners and employees work hard and take pride In this establishment and it shows. They have standard hotel rooms and villas with full kitchens. There is something for everyone. The property has two pools, a bar/restaurant that is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Each room is steps away from the Caribbean Sea. There are lounge chairs and hammocks for relaxing, along with pool and corn hole. If you are looking for a beach get away that won’t break the bank and gives you a taste of what it’s like living on the island, then stay at the Caribbean Villas.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jean H wrote a review Jan 2020
woodstock, United States6 contributions8 helpful votes
We never felt safe and made calls to front desk to get towels, a maintenance person to fix the safe, twice. We waited 20 minutes for appetizers in restaurant and we were the only patrons! Coffee shop did not open at 7am but rather 7:30 ish and the barista was in slow motion. I stayed at Girl Scout camps that had better facilities. Total dump, don't believe the picture or reviews. We stayed one night and moved to the Phoenix Resort. Total delight.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jeremy Nussbaum wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
We booked this hotel through Expedia and it worked out perfectly for us. The staff is extremely nice and accommodating, and there are many bars and restaurants just a short golf cart ride away. The Amber Bar and Grill on site is also very convenient, with good food and occasional live music! We came to San Pedro as a scuba trip, and our scuba agency was easily able to pick us up by boat from the dock at Caribbean Villas. No complaints at all, would definitely recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Caribbean Villas Hotel, General Manager at Caribbean Villas Hotel
Responded 25 Jun 2021
Thank you very much for your review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Aritha R asked a question Oct 2022
Charlotte, North Carolina2 contributions
Hello! Is this resort all inclusive?
Answer from Madeline S
2 contributions1 helpful vote
No, it is not an all inclusive and I don't believe there are many, if any, on the island of San Pedro. However, they have an awesome restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch & dinner and the food is delicious! There's also a full bar .
Show all answers
Michaela Fryer wrote a tip 18 Nov
Tustin, California4 contributions2 helpful votes
"We were able to walk pretty much everywhere. We even walked to the airport."
Read full review
Lisa M wrote a tip Oct 2023
4 contributions
"Registration staff set up both a golf cart rental and taxi to get back to the ferry for us. "
Read full review
GFTraveling wrote a tip Jun 2022
Fort Collins, Colorado212 contributions100 helpful votes
"Request top floor room"
Read full review
Lizette wrote a tip Mar 2020
4 contributions3 helpful votes
"Stay in the 4th Floor! Better view of the beach!"
Read full review
annarchynyc wrote a tip Feb 2020
New York City, New York493 contributions139 helpful votes
"Request rooms behind the bar/restaurant and not the building to the north. Or just book somewhere else."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the San Pedro area.
PRICE RANGE
RM 659 - RM 790 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
caribbean hotel san pedro, caribbean san pedro
LOCATION
BelizeBelize CayesAmbergris CayeSan Pedro
NUMBER OF ROOMS
55
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Caribbean Villas Hotel Reviews, Belize/San Pedro

Frequently Asked Questions about Caribbean Villas Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Caribbean Villas Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Black & White Cultural Entertainment Center (0.2 km), Roadkill Bar (0.4 km), and BlackSails Beach-Crawl Belize (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Caribbean Villas Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Caribbean Villas Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Caribbean Villas Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Caribbean Villas Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Caribbean Villas Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Coconut Cafe, The Baker, and PepperOni's Pizza.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Caribbean Villas Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Caribbean Villas Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Caribbean Villas Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does Caribbean Villas Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.