We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

PAUSE Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
PAUSE Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

207 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 192: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was the worst hostel I have ever stayed at. Right as you walk through the front gate there are hundreds of fleas biting your legs. The volunteer that checked us in had no idea what she was doing, was sweaty and kept holding on to the sheets we were supposed to put on our beds. She told us to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sara C
pawsanctuary, Manager at PAUSE Hostel, responded to this review

HONESTY IS THE BEST POLICY!! Why don't you speak the truth, you sneaked right behind our backs without paying and because I reported you to hostel world now you want to look like the victim here. Caye caulker has many type of accommodations, for every type of traveler, about your 100% insurance policy is not for sneaking out with out...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great staff, kitchen and location is epic espically for sunset and marine life that passes by but its dirty kip ha id happly stay again though... at least u will have some stories for your fellow pirates... view from back in pictures 😍

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
pawsanctuary, Manager at PAUSE Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback it was a pleasure to have you here as a guest

San Diego, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Undoubtedly the best spot on Caye Caulker for those who are visiting on a budget and want a community of friends to enjoy. The entire place is built on community, love, respect, and lots of fun. There are lots of friendly (rescue) cats and dogs roaming the property, which itself is a tiny little slice of paradise right on the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AviAviAvi
Munich, Germany
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

I totally recommend Pause Hostel. They started this place to make some money to take good care and feed street cats that the owner found. Don't worry, the cats are not out all at a time and the area is big so it is comfortable having them around. The atmosphere is great there. A lot of people there volunteer there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Winni073
Montpellier, France
Reviewed 26 November 2016

I had a great time in Pause : the hostel is small, with just a 10 bed dorm and 2 or 3 cabins, which is great. The dorm is very big, each bed has a fan and a electric plug and there's small lockers for everyone. The wifi is decent, the kitchen has all you need to cook. The toilets...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nat R
Reviewed 18 November 2016

This place is an incredible value! I had a bed in the 6 bed deluxe unit, which has its own bathroom. The bathroom and floors are clean enough, as you must leave your shoes off in the room. You'll get used to walking barefoot on the floors. There are drawers that can be locked with your own padlock, but they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Timothy W
Vancouver, British Columbia
Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

After a 24 hour trip to caye caulker I was exhausted and extremely hot. I got to this hostel and immediately did not like it. I liked the cat refuge part of it but everything else was awful. I got into my dorm and they gave me sheets for my bed, I start making it and it's so dirty then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 279brookea
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

The animals are the priority here. Our 6 bed dorm was pretty clean, loads of space and good fans, given sheets to make our own bed. Shower powerful but cold ('cause Belize) otherwise clean. Kitchen only has one working gas ring but otherwise well equipped - would be difficult to cook and use fridge space when busy. Kayaks and hammocks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie W
Mady C, Owner at PAUSE Hostel, responded to this review

hi, thanks for your review, we appreciate your feedback. We run a very unique place here, where animals as well as our customers are respected. Its not just a place for animals and its not just a place for people either, its a place where animal lovers stay, so people who really love animals will enjoy staying here.we provide free...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 15 September 2016

I hesitate to write a negative review because I really want to support the cause of Pause. But I guess if my review can somehow help Pause to improve, it will be worth it. So I hope Pause management is reading this. I will first describe the events that took place:  I booked a dorm bed for 5 nights...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charles N
Mady C, Owner at PAUSE Hostel, responded to this review

Hi thanks for your feed back as it help us improve our services however as you can recall i personally sprayed the dorm and there were no roaches to be seen, i also explained that this is something that happens in places with hot climate & that the electrical plant goes off from time to time and affects our water...

Reviewed 13 September 2016

I have travelled a lot and met a lot of diferent hostels. I allways go for the cheapest price so I am used to not expect much. I have never wrote a negative reviw so far but I feel like I need to in this case. This hostel shouldn´t be open to public. When we arrived, my bed was full...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rita S
Mady C, Owner at PAUSE Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, this is a situation that affects many if not all of the hostels on the island , from time to time, however in August a hurricane came through & opened the walls of the hostel which we repaired but because it also distroyed the habitat of these rodents they are finding their way into the rooms which we repaired...

199 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (181)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (83)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.3 km away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
151 reviews
0.3 km away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#9 of 19 in Caye Caulker
240 reviews
0.4 km away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#7 of 19 in Caye Caulker
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#12 of 19 in Caye Caulker
238 reviews
0.0 km away
Blue Wave Guest House
Blue Wave Guest House
#11 of 30 in Caye Caulker
98 reviews
0.9 km away
Weezie's Ocean Front Hotel and Garden Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Pause Accommodation offers guests a unique Caye Caulker vacation experience removed from the bustle of the main tourist areas. This charming, waterfront property offers a variety of different accommodations with something to suit an array of travel preferences. Our Garden Suite has a double bed, kitchenette with fridge and microwave, fan and private shower overlooking the garden. We also have A private Cabana which sits right on the water's edge, sleeps 2, with shared outside bathroom, a 10 bed & 4 bed dorm with shared bath & kitchen & a 6 bed dorm with private bath. We offer bike rentals & free kayaks, wifi & loads of coconuts for all our guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about PAUSE Hostel

Address: 1 Pasero Street, Caye Caulker, Belize (Formerly Pause Accommodation)
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Price Range: RM54 - RM335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your PAUSE Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from PAUSE Hostel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from PAUSE Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“6-person dorm has a private bath, others require a sometimes-rainy 30 second walk to get to.”
 of 5 bubbles AviAviAvi, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“6 bed deluxe room worth it”
 of 5 bubbles 818timothyw, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The Double private cabin has mangrove water views.”
 of 5 bubbles pamlacey66, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“Majority of space in dorm rooms with bunk beds. 2 private suites/garden(perfect for a small family) & Sweet Pea Pod (couple).”
 of 5 bubbles colleens635, 9 May 2016 | Read review
“I would suggest the 6 bed dorm for a bit more privacy and one fan per bed”
 of 5 bubbles 812lindad, 26 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay