We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

PAUSE Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
PAUSE Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

214 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 199: English reviews
Start your review of PAUSE Hostel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

I found this place very lovely and the view is amazing! The rooms are quite comfortable but you have to be careful not to get sand up in the rooms and in your bed, since there's a beach behind the hostel! The amenities (toilets, showers) are clean and there's a small kitchen all equipped to your disposition. When I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth J
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is more an animal shelther that happens to have rooms for rent. Atmosphere is average. No hot water and rooms get pretty warm and smells. Was afriad my clothes would of cat piss for the rest of the trip. Volunteers also seems to just hang out and do their own thing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yanye
Belize City, Belize
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

This is my seventh trip here to Pause Hostel and I always wish I could stay longer. This place is truly paradise. And a cat lovers dream come true. The location has everything including its own private beach with spectacular sunsets and sunrises. Kayacking,water sports or doing nothing for those who just wish to chill or vacation. Those who love...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eddigregg135
Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

The people were nice and good location but read the reviews first. We had to cancel our second night because the place smelled like cat pee. There's 30 cats on the premises, and they were crying all morning. Super annoying. Cat rescue and hostel don't go together 🤢

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicky A
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

Sometimes I dream about moving somewhere different out of the states even if for a while and this is kind of what I imagine. Nice deck out on the ocean, hammocks, kayaks, amazing sunsets, lovely animals. I was never really a cat person(more of a dog person)but I left a cat lover. They only have like 5 dogs and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William A
Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

The place reeks of cat piss( not in the dorm, thank god) and if you do stay here take it 1 night at a time because they will NOT give you any money back at all. I think almost all the cats there need veterinary assistance and have been brought here from the local shelter to die. You can't wear...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tristannuttall
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 23 January 2017

The staff was very friendly and the location is beautiful and away from the main street (5-10 min easy walk). You can go swimming right off the pier. I have a slight allergy to cats and they didn't bother me at all - they didn't go in our room - it wasn't an issue. I stayed with 2 friends in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nick C
Reviewed 9 January 2017

This was the worst hostel I have ever stayed at. Right as you walk through the front gate there are hundreds of fleas biting your legs. The volunteer that checked us in had no idea what she was doing, was sweaty and kept holding on to the sheets we were supposed to put on our beds. She told us to...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Sara C
pawsanctuary, Manager at PAUSE Hostel, responded to this review

HONESTY IS THE BEST POLICY!! Why don't you speak the truth, you sneaked right behind our backs without paying and because I reported you to hostel world now you want to look like the victim here. Caye caulker has many type of accommodations, for every type of traveler, about your 100% insurance policy is not for sneaking out with out...

Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Great staff, kitchen and location is epic espically for sunset and marine life that passes by but its dirty kip ha id happly stay again though... at least u will have some stories for your fellow pirates... view from back in pictures 😍

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
pawsanctuary, Manager at PAUSE Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback it was a pleasure to have you here as a guest

San Diego, California
Reviewed 28 December 2016

Undoubtedly the best spot on Caye Caulker for those who are visiting on a budget and want a community of friends to enjoy. The entire place is built on community, love, respect, and lots of fun. There are lots of friendly (rescue) cats and dogs roaming the property, which itself is a tiny little slice of paradise right on the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AviAviAvi

203 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (185)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.3 km away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
163 reviews
0.2 km away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#12 of 19 in Caye Caulker
249 reviews
0.3 km away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
235 reviews
0.0 km away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
85 reviews
0.9 km away
Weezie's Ocean Front Hotel and Garden Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Pause Accommodation offers guests a unique Caye Caulker vacation experience removed from the bustle of the main tourist areas. This charming, waterfront property offers a variety of different accommodations with something to suit an array of travel preferences. Our Garden Suite has a double bed, kitchenette with fridge and microwave, fan and private shower overlooking the garden. We also have A private Cabana which sits right on the water's edge, sleeps 2, with shared outside bathroom, a 10 bed & 4 bed dorm with shared bath & kitchen & a 6 bed dorm with private bath. We offer bike rentals & free kayaks, wifi & loads of coconuts for all our guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about PAUSE Hostel

Address: 1 Pasero Street, Caye Caulker, Belize (Formerly Pause Accommodation)
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Price Range: RM53 - RM151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from PAUSE Hostel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from PAUSE Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“6-person dorm has a private bath, others require a sometimes-rainy 30 second walk to get to.”
 of 5 bubbles AviAviAvi, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“6 bed deluxe room worth it”
 of 5 bubbles 818timothyw, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The Double private cabin has mangrove water views.”
 of 5 bubbles pamlacey66, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“Majority of space in dorm rooms with bunk beds. 2 private suites/garden(perfect for a small family) & Sweet Pea Pod (couple).”
 of 5 bubbles colleens635, 9 May 2016 | Read review
“I would suggest the 6 bed dorm for a bit more privacy and one fan per bed”
 of 5 bubbles 812lindad, 26 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5