We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bella's Backpackers

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Bella\\
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

211 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 188: English reviews
Start your review of Bella's Backpackers
 Click to rate
Quepos
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed in the private room, which is important to say because it seems like the dorms where nice. After receiving a rude response from the company I have decided to write this review. Service: - Had to wait for the receptionist to arrive on property. -When she came she was kind and changed the stained sheets that were still...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank acomisiak
639nicole, Manager at Bella's Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello I'm sorry that your stay at Bella's Backpackers wasn't a pleasurable experience. I want you to know that in certain seasons (dec- feb) we do have flying cockroaches & im am sorry that you had to experience that. The private room you stayed in is our smallest private room with louver style windows as walls. If they are left...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had alot of fun here. Easy to meet other people. We had a private room which came with an ocean view, saw some amazing sunsets. Lockers are available, enough power sockets, the wifi was okay. Cold salty shower so be warned. The place is kept pretty clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Fort Collins, Colorado
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I absolutely love this island as well as this hostel. Jeff and Nicole were absolutely amazing and became my friends in 5 minutes. The beds were comfortable and I was so glad it was a calm and relaxing place where you could sit and have a beer with fellow travelers, unlike the hostel across the way. Winston is a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rhone v
St. John's, Canada
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Had a great stay. There was a beautiful room at the top of the tower I wanted, but it was a long trip to the bathroom. We ended up in the private room the the cabin attached to another dorm. Great place, great people. It's really close to Dirty McNasty's so if you are looking for quiet, bring earplugs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A P
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

Love this hostel. Love the couple who run it. I came for a day with no real plans and ended up staying for almost 2 weeks and would have spent my entire month in Belize here if I hadn't had prior plans. Amazingly chill. I camped for half of the time and stayed in a dorm bed the other half...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank presleylaakea
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Reviewed 9 January 2017

On our 3-week backpacking trip, we only stayed here 1 night. It was a nice property and good value if you are looking for a true hostel experience, but it was extremely hot and hard to sleep through the night. The rooms were small and even the private rooms were not very private (you have to walk through other rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelAmericas
Tampere, Finland
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We stayed at the hostel for two nights with our friends in order to discover the island. Caye Caulker is so small that basically all the hostels have a good location considering the beach and main restaurants, and from Bella's everything was in a walking distance. Hostel was clean and the atmosphere was chilled, but the facilities didn't offer anything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katasjoholm
Pitt Meadows, Canada
Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile

We stopped in to see their availability. Their 'private room' was way up a bunch of steps through 2 or 3 other rooms and was a small attic space. The bed was a foam mattress on the ground. All of that is fine if its super cheap but it was 60BZD! The bathroom was way back down all the steps....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Xtine85
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Reviewed 16 November 2016

Stay here if you're looking for a true laidback backpackers atmosphere. Do not stay here for anything else than that. The beds in the private rooms are better than dorms and worth the extra couple BZD's.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bas W
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

Pros: +Room and bathroom was clean +Free use of kayaks +Good location Cons: -Low security, there never seemed to be anyone working there -Kitchen poorly equipped -Dock and the back garden of the hostel was full of rubbish, including nappies and rusty metal A small amount of effort and a touch of paint could make this place really nice but...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Theo G

77 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.0 km away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
167 reviews
0.0 km away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#12 of 19 in Caye Caulker
250 reviews
0.0 km away
Bella's Backpackers
Bella's Backpackers
#6 of 20 in San Ignacio
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Juan In A Million Caye Caulker Guest House
0.0 km away
Sandbar Beachfront Hostel & Restaurant
0.0 km away
Blue Wave Guest House
Blue Wave Guest House
#11 of 32 in Caye Caulker
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bella's is a large wooden family-run house, clean, safe place to stay on the water with beautiful sunsets and free canoes for the guests adventuring pleasure. We have kitchen, cable TV, internet, tour bookings, fishing trips, and other Belize information, as well as refreshments and nice people. Rooms, private cabanas, one apartment, camping, and small dorm sleeps 7, private/shared bath. It would be our pleasure to show you some sweet Belizean hospitality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bella's Backpackers

Address: Crocodile Street, Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Price Range: RM88 - RM175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Bella`s Hotel Caye Caulker
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bella's Backpackers staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Bella's Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay here. If you have to, choose the dorms.”
acomisiak, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Stay in the boat”
rh0nev, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't pay more for the private rooms - the best value is a bunk in the shared rooms.”
  • Private room at Bella's
travelAmericas, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The private rooms have way better mattresses.”
BasW130, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“AC rooms downstairs”
helenag66, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5