We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Posada Belen Museo Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Posada Belen Museo Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

304 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Posada Belen Museo Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 253: English reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2016

We stayed at this posada on the first and last nights of our trip. Staff there are very courteous and friendly. We appreciated the owners' travel suggestion to not miss Tikal. We were very happy that we visited Tikal as recommended by our host. We decided to modify our stay by reducing our initial stay from 2 nights to 1...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank busdepollo
posadabelen, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Posada Belen Museo Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guests, it was a pleasure to meet and serve you at Posada Belen Museo Inn. We want to thank you very much the time you took for writing and sharing your experiences while your recent stay. First than everything, we are so glad you decided to visit Tikal, it´s one of the main sites. About the refund of the...

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 28 August 2016

I only stayed in Guatemala City for one night before a flight, but I was happy with the economical price and sorting interior gardens of this hotel. The room was private with hot water and wifi strong enough to download a movie for my flight. The gardens are gorgeous, and i enjoyed sitting in a hammock and reading a book...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan S
posadabelen, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Posada Belen Museo Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we want to thank you the time that you took to write such a nice review of Hotel Posada Belen Museo Inn at the Historical Center of Guatemala City, of your recent stay of one night. We are so glad that you have liked the Hotel and were satisfied with our services and had feel at home and...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Posada Belen was a nice place to rest after the rush from the city, very nice rooms, accommodations and lovely service and staff. The pricing was a lot lower than we expected and the food was great!! Definitely recommend for anyone staying in Guatemala City for a couple of days and needs some time to relax and seamer down. Loved...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rick A
posadabelen, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Posada Belen Museo Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, for us, it was a pleasure to serve you at Hotel Posada Belen Museo Inn, at the Historical Center of Guatemala City. We want to thank you very much the time that you took to write the nice and descriptive review about your stay at the Hotel, while in Guatemala. We appreciate it, because it will help other...

Stuart, Florida
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Francesca has arranged the most fantastic trips for the 6 of us for the last 3 years. We usually always do the same tour starting in Antiqua for New Years eve celebration, then off to Chichicastenango for the market days and then down to lake Atitlan for visit to the surrounding villages, back for a night at Posada Belen, then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hemmersp
posadabelen, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Posada Belen Museo Inn, responded to this review

Dear Paul & Anne, we really want to thank you, for taking your time in writing the nice review about your three last trips down to Guatemala, where we had the opportunity to organize them and also could have the opportunity to meet you and serve you. We are so glad to know that you were satisfied with our services,...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 1 August 2016

The staff were great, the hotel is quaint, but this may not work for you if you need any amenities. The rooms are a bit stuffy--so if it's a warm time, be warned there is no way to get air into the rooms. And if you arrive after dark the only way to get food is order in from fast...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kellermaryrose
posadabelen, Director de Recepción at Posada Belen Museo Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we want to thank you the comments about your stay at Hotel Posada Belen Museo Inn, in July. It helps us to improve our services. Due that the house was built in 1873, and we are at the Historical Center of Guatemala City, there are things that we can´t change because it´s not allowed to change as make...

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 24 July 2016

This small hotel is not fancy and elegant but has a lot of charm and local color. The staff members were super friendly and helpful, and my stay was very pleasant. It is within easy walking distance of the main square, but at night taking a cab is recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zug55
posadabelen, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Posada Belen Museo Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, it was a pleasure to serve you. We thank you very much for your comments about the Hotel. We are glad that your stay was very pleasant. Hope we can serve you again!!! Best regards.

Concord, California
Reviewed 8 July 2016

After spending the previous week in remote jungle locations, Posada Belen was a welcome relief with warm water showers, rustic, yet beautiful and clean rooms, and a wonderful staff. They will bend over backwards to make you feel welcome. The first night we arrived, the taxi driver didn't have change for the taxi ride. I was going to eat the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank dodgerdog925
posadabelen, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Posada Belen Museo Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we want to thank you, your nice comments during your stay at Hotel Posada Belen Museo Inn. We are glad that you were welcome and could have warm shower after your previous week in the jungle locations, and the staff was helpful. We hope we can serve you again. It was a pleasure to serve you.

Portales, New Mexico
Reviewed 20 April 2016

I went to Guatemala last summer for some cultural classes and stepping in this hotel was a nice beginning. There were Mayan styled statues and stone slabs with Mayan letters. The couches in the lounging area had crocodile skins, the rooms had some nice art hung in them, the wooden wardrobes had a classical look about them, and I loved...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anabel M
Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala
Reviewed 10 April 2016

Hotel Posada Belen is a cozy,small homely clean hotel in "Centro Histórico". The owner is exceedingly kind and accommodating. The hotel is very quiet, ideal for rest in the middle of the city's buzzle. The place is full of small corners, chairs for rest, pieces of Mayan culture, and in the bedrooms/bathrooms you find the extra essential that other places...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheContentSojourner
Grosse Ile, Michigan
Reviewed 7 April 2016

I want to start of saying how disheartened I am reading the 1 and 2 star reviews. Occasionally you will always have the people who expect American all star treatment from a third world country and are too posh to understand that this is Guatemala... not Hollywood. That being said, for being Guatemala, I could not have possibly felt safer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anngilyn D

345 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (300)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (65)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (21)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
0:15
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (119)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Ajau
Hotel Ajau
#34 of 47 in Guatemala City
58 reviews
4.3 km away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#3 of 47 in Guatemala City
1,309 reviews
0.8 km away
Pan American Hotel
Pan American Hotel
#19 of 47 in Guatemala City
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Sevilla
Hotel Sevilla
#28 of 47 in Guatemala City
17 reviews
5.0 km away
Dai Nonni Hotel
Dai Nonni Hotel
#12 of 47 in Guatemala City
186 reviews
4.9 km away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#5 of 47 in Guatemala City
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Posada Belen is located in a fine colonial style home built in 1873 converted into an intimate Museum Inn, centrally located in a quiet street of the historical center of Guatemala City about 3 miles north from the airport (10-15 Minutes), run by the same family since opened in 1972 to international tourism. Posada Belen was slowly transformed from a colonial style home into a very special inn. Highly recommended in most important travel guides and by former guests/friends, with over 300 authentic registered Mayan artifacts on display as well as unique antique handicrafts plus many primitive paintings makes Posada Belen a true Museum, but most of all we are a clean, safe, centrally located, quiet, moderately priced, with good beds, great food, friendly relaxed atmosphere, and authentic HOME to start, end or organize your journey in Guatemala. We are conveniently located to visit any of the museums in Guatemala city, walk to the relief map, national palace, central market (lowest prices in the country for handcrafts), visit the pre classic Mayan ruins and museum of Kaminal Juyu, dozens of monumental churches , We are blocks away from the bus stations to Tikal, Xela, Antigua, Coban, Chiquimula, Rio Dulce. Etc. Shuttles are also available from the inn door. Guided walking City tour is available, Guatemala city is important if you really want to understand our culture and its history. We will be happy to help you with your itinerary and up to date travel and safety information. The Posada Belen is especially safe for women traveling alone. We have a pick up service available at any hour of day or night to all persons who will like to have a friendly and safe welcome into Guatemala's airport for about the same price as a taxi (depending on the arrival time from $10 to $15), we know we are not for everybody, our clients are usually smart people with lots of travel experience, who are looking for comfortably way to enjoy true Guatemalan culture and also likes to stay in a place with character. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Posada Belen Museo Inn

Address: 13 Calle a 10-30 | Historic Center, Guatemala City 01001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Price Range: RM194 - RM255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Posada Belen Museo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Posada Belen Museo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Belen Museo Hotel
Hotel Posada Belen Museo
Posada Belen Museo Inn Guatemala/Guatemala City
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Green Hotel in Guatemala City
#4 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Posada Belen Museo Inn staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Posada Belen Museo Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had room 5: rooms at either end of the main hallway would be quieter.”
valentin05, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“first one to the right as you walk in has weak wifi”
  • our bedroom
Sharonbader, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a spacious bathroom”
robertam761, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are equally pleasant , clean and quiet with lots of hot water.”
thomasrI9958KG, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“room 2, awesome view of the city”
457ricka, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5