We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
09/04/2017 10/04/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Casa De La Iguana

    Barrio Marco, Sanchez Dias | Izabal, Livingston, Rio Dulce 18002, Guatemala
    Save
    Apr 9 Apr 10
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    Traveller (31)
    Room & Suite (5)
    Hotel & Grounds (4)
    Overview

    • Excellent45%
    • Very good20%
    • Average11%
    • Poor11%
    • Terrible11%
    Travellers talk about
    “happy hour” (15 reviews)
    “every night” (23 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Restaurant
    Bar/Lounge
    All hotel details
    {"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    All reviews drinking games happy hour every night great fun onward travel rusty iguanas party parties hostel tours vibe
    Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

    I stayed in Casa de la Iguana for two nights and had a great time! Chris, the owner, and his staff really make you feel welcome and there is a really relaxed vibe. When I asked Chris for info on hiking in the area he...More

    Helpful?
    Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

    The place looks pretty cool upon first arrival. The people are nice and welcoming. However after our first night, we had to leave. The lady explained to us that we are in a jungle and you must remove every last piece of food in your...More

    Helpful?
    Response from Chris R, Owner at Casa De La Iguana

    Arrrrggggg!!! I was so hoping giving you a free night would have avoided getting another review like this, because we are almost finished making all the changes you suggest. Thank you for your review and thanks for the kind words about the staff and Casa...More

    Reviewed 9 February 2017

    had a ravishing time whilst at the Iguana... Hot Girls - Cold Beer - Hot Guys - Great Entertainment - Friendly Staff Everyone gets laid - Perfect Tours - Beautiful Town The owner Rusty is really handsome and a great dancer if your lucky he...More

    Helpful?
    Response from Chris R, Manager at Casa De La Iguana

    Well; thank you so much, Tom. We truly appreciate the kind words and are delighted that you had a memorable stay! We hope you have a fantastic life, win the lottery and have beautiful babies.

    Reviewed 2 February 2017

    We only stayed one night. The staff were really friendly and welcoming. The dorms were comfortable. I don't know if there's loud music every night but we were kept awake by just a small group of people playing loud music until 3 am. I don't...More

    Helpful?
    Response from Chris R, Owner at Casa De La Iguana

    Thanks so much for your review. I am really sorry about the noise. We do have a reputation for fun and frivolity that is justified, but the reality is that the majority of our guests are not crazy party people and we do have policies...More

    Reviewed 2 February 2017

    Casa De la Iguana has an awesome staff who really try to make you feel welcome. The prices are in line with most hostel prices in the area. 10 US for a dorm room. The venue is nice and the little bar on site is...More

    Helpful?
    Response from Chris R, Owner at Casa De La Iguana

    We are forever in your debt for the kind words! We are very happy you had a great time. We remember you as being incredibly good looking and wise beyond your years, so five stars makes us happy above words. Safe travels!

    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Laundry Service
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Photos
    Traveller (31)
    Room & Suite (5)
    Hotel & Grounds (4)
    Family and Play Areas (3)
    Nearby
    Nearby Restaurants
    Casa Nostra
    127 reviews
    .12 km away
    Restaurante Margoth
    27 reviews
    .66 km away
    Happy Fish Travel
    146 reviews
    .52 km away
    Los Tres Garifunas
    19 reviews
    .64 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Seven Altars
    226 reviews
    5.60 km away
    PG Tours
    39 reviews
    31.51 km away
    IXCACAO Maya Belizean Chocolate
    193 reviews
    38.52 km away
    Nim Li Punit (Big Hat)
    55 reviews
    55.37 km away
    Questions & AnswersAsk a question
    Margarito H
    Necesito ocn urgencia el numero de teléfono a donde llamar.
    24 March 2015|
    Answer Show all 2 answers
    Response from wiicho9 | Reviewed this property |
    perdon 79470064
    0
    Votes
    Google Translation
    Room Tips
    "Dont choose the hammocks.... Simple"
    dylanullyot, 1 month agoRead review
    "Come expecting to have fun and you'll find it, Spend a couple of days or longer - there's a lot to..."
    Stuart H, 4 months agoRead review
    "best owner, best tour, enjoyable nighttime, beautiful location"
    smurf229, 7 months agoRead review
    "All the rooms are in tree houses! It's great!"
    Eliesha N, over a year agoRead review
    "2nd floor rooms may be a better bet"
    jason w, over a year agoRead review
    "Stay far away from the bar if you need to sleep early."
    queencolleen82, over a year agoRead review
    "If you're tall, I do not recommend sleeping in a hammock. The only big hammock available for use is..."
    Jonathan N, over a year agoRead review
    "Bungalows are the way to go if you can afford it!"
    Chris B, over a year agoRead review
    "You might as well ask for the hammocks as long as it doesn't rain. Then, choose a bed."
    Chrislikesithere, over a year agoRead review
    "I found it very easy to make friends and meet new people in one of the dorm rooms here, but there are plenty..."
    Andrew G, over a year agoRead review
    Similar nearby hotels
    The Round House Hostel
    Tortugal River Lodge