We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
29/10/2017 30/10/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Best Western Plus Altoona Inn

    300 34th Ave NW, Altoona, IA 50009-2639
    +1 855-786-6590
    Hotel website
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    29/10/2017 30/10/2017
    US$99
    US$99
    US$99
    Traveller (17)
    Room & Suite (9)
    Dining (2)
    Overview
    • Excellent50%
    • Very good24%
    • Average17%
    • Poor5%
    • Terrible4%
    Travellers talk about
    “cookies” (28 reviews)
    “front desk” (40 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Air Conditioning
    Pool
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Suites
    Fitness centre
    Wheelchair Access
    Business Centre
    Laundry Service
    Housekeeping
    Self-Serve Laundry
    2.5 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Offers from Best Western Plus Altoona Inn
    Special Offer: BOOK DIRECT AND SAVE
    Hotel deals
    Deals
    29 Oct30 Oct
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Check booking site for details
      US$99
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      US$99
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      US$99
      View Deal
    View all 20 deals
    Write a Review
    Reviews (365)
    There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Altoona Inn
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    11 - 15 of 364 reviews

    Reviewed 5 September 2017

    Facility not maintained. Telephone did not work. Carpet ripped. Dingy interior. Cigarette butts all around hotel. Staff indifferent to guests. Would never stay there again! Worst BW plus facility we have used.More

    Review collected in partnership with Best Western
    Thank dgigliotti
    Response from BWManagers, General Manager at Best Western Plus Altoona InnResponded 11 September 2017

    dgigliotti- Thank you for taking time to write a review. We do appreciate all feedback from guests. We want all of our guests to have a great stay and I do apologize we didn't meet your expectations. We would like to earn your business back....More

    Reviewed 30 August 2017

    This is the first time that I have stayed at a Best Western in quite some time. I am very surprised at the quality of the room, the rate and the staff of this hotel. I highly recommend this location if you are in Altoona....More

    Review collected in partnership with Best Western
    Thank lisabrowninsurance
    Response from BWManagers, General Manager at Best Western Plus Altoona InnResponded 11 September 2017

    lisabrowninsurance- Thank you for this great review. I love hearing great things about the staff!!! Thank you for the recommendation and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!!! Have a great day!!!! Robyn Smith- General Manager

    Reviewed 29 August 2017

    We stayed at this hotel for two days. It was not worth the money. The floor was wet for some reason, so we had to wear socks. The socks got dirty. The room was small. The toilet was placed too close to the sink and...More

    Thank Honolulu-Dave
    Response from BWManagers, General Manager at Best Western Plus Altoona InnResponded 11 September 2017

    Honolulu-Dave Thank you for taking time to write your review. We appreciate all feedback from all of our guests. I apologize you did not have a good stay. We would love to earn your business back. Please contact me directly at the hotel, I would...More

    Reviewed 28 August 2017

    This hotel is very clean and has a friendly staff! It is nicely located near many places of entertainment! Adventureland, Bass Pro Shops, and Prairie Meadows Casino & Race Track. Nice complimentary breakfast too! Very good value for the price!More

    Review collected in partnership with Best Western
    Thank beckyg780
    Response from BWManagers, General Manager at Best Western Plus Altoona InnResponded 11 September 2017

    beckyg780- Thank you for the great review!!!! I am glad you were able to enjoy the great breakfast and hopefully you were able to enjoy some of the places here in Altoona. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Have a wonderful day....More

    Reviewed 27 August 2017

    Hotel was decent, staff was extremely nice. Wifi internet connection was a bit slow, but that's ok. Free shuttle to Prairie Meadows was great! Only bad thing was there were lots of kids running up and down the hallway at 7am - 9am. Luckily it...More

    Review collected in partnership with Best Western
    Thank Pang Stacy T
    Response from BWManagers, General Manager at Best Western Plus Altoona InnResponded 11 September 2017

    Pang Stacy T- Thank you for your review. We do appreciate all feedback from our guests. We hope to see you again when you are in the Altoona area. Have a great day!!!! Robyn Smith- General Manager.

    Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altoona - Des Moines
    120 reviews
    #5 of 10 hotels in Altoona
     
    Comfort Inn
    2 reviews
    #8 of 10 hotels in Altoona
     
    Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines Altoona
    25 reviews
    #4 of 10 hotels in Altoona
     
    Hampton Inn & Suites Altoona - Des Moines
    92 reviews
    #1 of 10 hotels in Altoona
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    GreenLeadersBronze level
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Pool
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Breakfast included
    • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    • Self-Serve Laundry
    • Business Centre with Internet Access
    • Laundry Service
    • Room amenities
    • Air Conditioning
    • Microwave
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
    • Heated pool
    • Indoor pool
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$81 - US$146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Suites ,
    • Family Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 85
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Best Western, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Altoona Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • United States >
    • Iowa >
    • Altoona
    • Also Known As
    • Best Western Altoona Hotel Altoona ,
    • Heartland Hotel Altoona
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (17)
    Room & Suite (9)
    Dining (2)
    Pool & Beach (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (12)
    Bathroom (1)
    Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
    Nearby
    Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines Altoona
    25 reviews
    .92 km away
     
    Hampton Inn & Suites Altoona - Des Moines
    92 reviews
    3.30 km away
     
    Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altoona - Des Moines
    120 reviews
    3.48 km away
     
    Comfort Inn
    2 reviews
    1.62 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Johnny's Italian Steakhouse - Altoona
    126 reviews
    1.09 km away
    Jethro n' Jake's Smokehouse Steaks
    277 reviews
    1.08 km away
    Perkins Restaurant and Bakery
    47 reviews
    1.16 km away
    Bigfoot Bacon & Brew
    11 reviews
    .88 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Adventureland
    565 reviews
    .86 km away
    Copper Creek 9
    10 reviews
    5.85 km away
    Prairie Meadows
    210 reviews
    1.26 km away
    Iowa State Fairgrounds
    725 reviews
    7.56 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    764kat
    15 May 2016|
    AnswerShow all 3 answers
    Response from Moe J | Reviewed this property |
    No pets
    0
    Votes
    hurricane95
    31 July 2014|
    AnswerShow all 4 answers
    Response from BestWesternHotels | Property representative |
    Hi, our breakfast hours are 6:00 am - 9:00 am on weekdays and 6:00 am - 10:00 am on weekends. Thank you.
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "Go somewhere else."
    Read review
    "Room 101 was nice size,but bathroom needs attention."
    Read review
    "Contact the hotel itself to get a good rate."
    Read review
    "quiet rooms on upper levels or corner suites available"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing