We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

AmericInn Ames

Show Prices
#10 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
AmericInn Ames
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

267 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 267: English reviews
Peoria, Illinois
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Got a pretty good deal on this hotel via Priceline. Included free breakfast, not bad, and had indoor pool/hot tub for the kids. The layout of the place (think "L" shape with lobby on the end) means if your room is not on the first or second floor near lobby, you will have a long walk to get to your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tara T
Peachtree City, Georgia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed overnight and enjoyed out stay. We had a prepaid room for under $90. We used the pool table ($1) in the pool area but did not use the pool. It looked to be well cared for. Room was fine. Sink in bedroom is behind a wall from the room and not in bathroom with the tub/toilet. Not an...

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarkPTC95
Saint Paul
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Clean room, nice lobby environment, decent breakfast (better than some similar chains). But, hot tub not functional, locals using pool took up the bathroom for close to an hour, and when I expressed dissatisfaction with these problems, front desk told me that on another day, I would not have had these problems. Good grief-- I was there on THAT day....

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jillwK3898EQ
AmericInnAmes, Guest Relations Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review

Valued Guest, We apologize for your dissatisfaction during your recent stay with us. We have been improving our property with new amenities, thus causing some minor inconveniences for our guests. We do apologize. I do hope you would be willing to give our property another chance. I can assure you that if you choose to stay with us again, we...

Minneapolis
Reviewed 12 December 2016

Made a reservation on AmericInn web site. Received reply e-mail with confirmation number. Arrived at hotel, no record of reservation. Showed my confirmation e-mail. Would not check me in until they investigated. Stood at counter for 25 minutes waiting, finally got a room key. Went to room, keys did not work. Walked back to front desk, reset keys which worked...

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
 Report
Helpful?
Thank I9864NEthomasm
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review

Dear Thomas M., I am so sorry that your arrival process took so long. Recently, the CRS System has been down and we have been receiving reservations through fax. This could have caused the issue you experienced. For the safety and benefit to our guests we want to ensure that you will not be charged twice for two reservations. I...

Madison Lake, Minnesota, United States
Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

I recently attended a conference in Ames for business. It's an annual event. In my earlier years, I had stayed in a nearby hotel. Let's just say there is a reason I continue to stay at this AmericInn. They consistently provide a pleasant experience. Warm, inviting and friendly attitude. Clean, quiet and spacious rooms with many amenities including snacks during...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review

Mark, Thank you so much for this glowing review! I am so glad that you have chosen AmericInn and always find your stay wonderful! We look forward to serving you again during your next trip to Ames! Thank you! Rachel Assistant Manager

Trenton
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Very happy with our experience at Ames, IA Americinn. Friendly staff and extremely helpful at front desk. Warm inviting lobby with complimentary snacks and drinks throughout the day and evening. Breakfast provided options such as eggs, sausage, waffles, pastries, bagels, yogurt, cereals, and fruit. Would recommend to anyone. Wifi was fast and beds comfortable.

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jacquelinep414
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review

Dear Jacqueline, Thank you so much for this glowing review! I am so glad to hear that our new evening snacks and drinks are a big hit! Thank you for letting others know about our wide variety of breakfast options, fast wi-fi, and comfortable beds! We can wait to be able to serve you again next time you stay in...

Ames
Reviewed 21 November 2016

We continually return to AmericInn in Ames, IA during the Iowa Music Festival for Opus Honor Choir and the High School Music Festival with our middle school and high school students. The staff remembers us and treats us like family. I have also stayed without my students and have received the same warm welcome!

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jackiehB5558VW
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review

Dear Jackie H., Thank you so much for letting others know about your yearly stay with us! All-State Music Festival brings such a great and talented group of kids and their families! We look forward to seeing you next year! Rachel Buttery Assistant Manager

Macomb, Illinois
Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

Lovely check in area. Nice staff. Single woman traveling and I felt safe when I returned to the room at 1am. I had a King bed. Comfy. Pillows good (always a big deal to me). Very Clean throughout. Bathroom clean. With sink area separate from toilet and shower. Quiet and spacious room decorated nicely. Refrigerator, microwave. I thought it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greenbean1000
AmericInnAmes, Guest Relations Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review

Valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review! I am glad that we can provide a safe and comfortable atmosphere for our guests. Next time, you will have to try breakfast! It never disappoints! Thanks again! Morgan

Reviewed 27 October 2016

This was our second stay at AmericInn in Ames. We have stayed at other places while visiting our son at ISU but AmericInn has equaled or exceeded other hotels and it is less money. Rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, and the hotel has stayed up to date in decor and furnishing. Will stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review

Lisa S., Thank you so much for this great review! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us while you were visiting your son at ISU! We have even more changes coming! We can't wait to serve you again next time! Thanks! Rachel Assistant Manager

Reviewed 27 September 2016

Great hotel that is finishing up on some renovations. Room was extremely quite allowing for a great night's sleep. Breakfast area was well stocked and very clean. I will definitely stay there again when I am back in Ames.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shawn M
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review

Dear Shawn M., Thank you so much for this glowing review! We really appreciate your feedback. I am so glad to hear that you had a nice, comfortable, and quiet stay. We look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to Ames! Rachel Assistant Manager

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ames hotels
0.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
2.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
0.3 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites
0.2 km away
Red Roof Inn Ames
Red Roof Inn Ames
#9 of 20 in Ames
324 reviews
0.3 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to AmericInn Ames, Iowa the ideal place to stay whether traveling for business or pleasure. Our staff would love the opportunity to serve your lodging needs in our comfortable, conveniently located hotel in Ames, home of the Iowa State University Cyclones. We welcome every guest with a warm smile, great service, an inviting, indoor pool, free, hot, home-style AmericInn Perk breakfast and a quiet night’s sleep! Relax in our spacious lobby with cozy brick fireplace. We offer a variety of room types ranging from two-queen beds to a comfortable single king bed. We also have a variety of one or two room suites featuring a whirlpool and fireplace.The AmericInn Ames is conveniently located near all the attractions and excitement in the area and is sure to be the perfect fit for you and your family. ... more   less 

Additional Information about AmericInn Ames

Address: 2507 SE 16th Street, Ames, IA 50010
Region: United States > Iowa > Ames
Price Range: RM454 - RM543 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Ames 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your AmericInn Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Ames
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Ames
#7 Family Hotel in Ames
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from AmericInn Ames staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from AmericInn Ames staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get one near lobby or plan a long walk”
 of 5 bubbles 861tarat, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Traveling with a group on motorcycles.Hotel met our request for a ground floor room looking out at the parking lot”
 of 5 bubbles carolez512, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Find one without a cricket”
 of 5 bubbles CheewyBrooke, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We occupied 2 rooms on the second floor in the middle of the hallway and could not complain about anything”
 of 5 bubbles R8305ZPlindak, 11 May 2016 | Read review
“For a little more money the one on ground floor, I believe it was 108.”
 of 5 bubbles HappyinIOWA50010, 6 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay