We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Roof Inn Ames

Booking.comUS$60*
View Deal
#10 of 20 Hotels in Ames
GreenLeadersSilver level
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Red Roof Inn Ames
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

338 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 337: English reviews
Start your review of Red Roof Inn Ames
 Click to rate
Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

But they are caring for it well .. Devon at the desk was courteous, well spoken, efficient and helpful with questions about the area .. room was clean and smelled pleasant ..spacious bathroom with nice soft towels .. shower was super hot with adjustments to get the massage spray ... large tv with lots of channels .. free HOT breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SpyderKumo
Iowa City, Iowa
Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was good and clean. I really appreciated the pet friendly nature of the property. Breakfast was more than adequate. Overall, a nice place to stay for getting our dog to the ISU vet clinic. The only issue I noticed was that the window in our room wouldn't open, so we ended up running the AC instead of getting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iowa_traveller52240
Santa Monica, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed there a month before...wasn't bad. I ignored the pizza behind the door left by the previous occupants. This time it was spectacularly awful. Only had to make three trips to the front desk for the key card to work, two calls from the front desk to confirm who I was, what room I was in, how long I was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank James R
Redondo Beach, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for a long weekend for Iowa State's graduation (Thurs-Mon). The room was okay, but the "window" was ridiculous. This space should never have been used as a hotel room. The "window" looked out onto a wall with garbage thrown on the ground. And this is where the AC unit was drawing in "fresh" air for the room. Needless...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mauskraus
Wichita, Kansas
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had three rooms there the week of 4/27 on business, the other facilities were filled and wanted outrageous prices for Ames. The entire place must be 30 years old with very little updating. We had to change one of the rooms because it stunk. The price was cheap....you get what you pay for

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Van B
RedRoofAmesMgmt, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ames, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for the 3 star review. I am sorry for the inconvenience you have experienced. The property was recently went under a new ownership so we will be doing full renovation to the property in the near future so hopefully by the time you return to ames we should be done. I hope we can have the...

Michigan
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very nice hotel and a good value. Rooms are clean and fresh, pets are welcome which is important to us. Full breakfast is included. What's not to like? Would stay again if in the area. That's all I've got.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank motox1
RedRoofAmesMgmt, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ames, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank You for the 5 star review ***** We are pleased to hear your stay with us was an enjoyable one. Very nice hotel and good value, clean and fresh rooms, pets welcomed and full hot breakfast are the kind of comments we love to hear. We are pleased to accommodate your future stay.

Mount Prospect, Illinois
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I made my reservation (4 rooms for 4 nights) 11 months in advance of my son's graduation form Iowa State. The policy clearly stated the reservation could be changed and/or cancelled. Not knowing the details of his graduation so far in advance I booked this reservation for a couple extra days surrounding the anticipated dates...(incorrectly) believing they could be changed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julie F
RedRoofAmesMgmt, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ames, responded to this review

Dear Julie Thank You for the review. I am sorry for the inconvenience, but due to the reservation made through a third party we are not able to modify the changes you are requesting if the reservation was made directly through the hotel then we can make changes.

Reviewed 27 March 2017

I stayed for about 2 weeks and my room was clean and well stocked with towels. The internet was slow and only got worse the longer I stayed. I had the room cleaned a few times but they could have done a better job. All in all I would probably choose another Hotel on my next visit as The internet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steve a
RedRoofAmesMgmt, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ames, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank You for the review!!! I am sorry for not meeting your expectations, as we recently transitioned to new ownership we will be renovating the property and upgrading the internet as well hopefully next time you visit Ames we should have all of it done. We hope to have the opportunity to accommodate your future stay.

Reviewed 20 March 2017

Cleanliness is the main reason for this rating. The floors looked like they hadn't been vacuumed in weeks. There were stains on the furniture. The staff was friendly and the price was reasonable, but not enough to compensate for the room condition.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 507lynettee
RedRoofAmesMgmt, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ames, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for the review!!! I am sorry for not meeting your expectations. As we recently had change of ownership we will be doing renovations to the property so hopefully next time you do visit Ames we should be renovated. I hope we can have the opportunity to accommodate your stay.

Plano, TX
Reviewed 28 February 2017

Stayed for two nights. Staff was accomodating and pleasant. Rooms and hotel were very clean; pool was beautiful and well maintained. Breakfast area was very pleasant and light. Linens were great and the bathroom was large. Good value for Ames!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gmatofour
RedRoofAmesMgmt, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ames, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank You for the 4 star review!!! I am pleased to hear your stay with us at Red Roof Inn Ames was a accommodating and pleasant. Clean and well maintained property, pleasant and light breakfast, large bathroom, great linens and good value are the kind of comments we love to hear. We will be pleased to accommodate your...

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ames hotels
0.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ames
0.4 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames
0.3 km away
Econo Lodge Ames
Econo Lodge Ames
#14 of 20 in Ames
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
5.0 km away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
5.2 km away
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Red Roof Inn Ames, Iowa home to Iowa State University. Located just off of US-30 our hotel provides easy access to all of Ames attractions whether you are traveling for business or pleasure. Nearby businesses include Syngenta Seeds, Amcore Rigid Plastics, Barilla America Inc, Monsanto Co., USDA, Danfoss and Danaher Oil. Our hotel is also close to Pfizer, Workiva, DuPont, John Deere, Dow Chemical and the Mary Greeley Medical Center. Not traveling for business? Not a problem. Our guests enjoy events at the Jack Trice Stadium, Hilton Coliseum, and the Boone & Scenic Valley Railroad & James H. Andrew Railroad Museum. Start your stay off right with a complimentary continental breakfast (6am-10am) and coffeehouse style coffee and tea in the lobby, then get your workout in, in our fitness center or indoor pool. Traveling for business? Take advantage of our business center or host your next meeting in our conference room. The Red Roof Inn Ames offers guests comfortable, pet-friendly, family friendly rooms equipped with free WiFi, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, in-room coffee and a desk. Select rooms will also offer a microwave & refrigerator. A coin laundry is also available for your convenience. One well-behaved family pet is welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Ames

Address: 1400 S Dayton Pl, Ames, IA 50010-6436 (Formerly Hampton Inn Ames)
Region: United States > Iowa > Ames
Price Range: RM272 - RM766 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof Inn Ames 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Red Roof Inn, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Red Roof Inn Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ames
Ames Hampton Inn
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ames
#7 Business Hotel in Ames
#8 Family Hotel in Ames
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Red Roof Inn Ames staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“do not book the red roof inn”
G3797ILjamesr, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Try to get on the east side away from the parking lot.”
Sophie452, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“2nd floor best is top floor”
kingcareking, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Wifi not good here.”
ClaireBR45, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We stayed on the 2nd floor, it was quiet”
  • Bed was comfortable, the pillows not so much.
  • Under mattress ... very clean =D
  • Clean with basic toiletries
dianesE9295MK, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$60* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$120
Hotels.comUS$120
Expedia.comUS$120
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates