We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Riad Africa

Show Prices
#84 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Riad Africa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

363 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 279: English reviews
Start your review of Riad Africa
 Click to rate
Shropshire
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Taxi booked- didn't turn up at airport. Manager insisted that we had booked dinner when, in booking via Booking.com, we obviously hadn't. Very very expensive. Turned into British prices whereas rooms are available for just 50 dirhams or less elsewhere. Barrowman wanted even more having been paid 100 dirhams for arrival trip. To top it all off we get an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JamesShropshire
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 7 nights (4 + 3) in two different rooms with a three day break in between at the excellent sister hotel "The Kasbar Africa" in the High Atlas Mountains. Both stays at Riad Africa were on the ground floor. Our first room, the "Biwindi" was comfortable and the bed was spotlessly clean and very comfy. The room was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Oldbiker911
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Perfect location, really central. Very calm but in the middle of everything. Great rooftop area. Food great. Service spot on. Only slight down side was that the hot water seemed to run out quite quickly.. and the shower was a bit weak but would definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jill W
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our trip was delayed from the U.S. due to weather. Ryad Africa had booked us for two days and purchased train tickets to Fes. Mohamed was wonderful and ended up going to the train station twice to get our train tickets sorted. Once before we ever arrived. Mohamed sent someone to pick us up at the airport. (prearrange this via...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marciabarham
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a wonderful 6 night stay at Riad Africa. The staff were attentive and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. Mohammed, Abdul and Fatima (probably spelt wrong but great cooking) all helped make our stay so special. The rooms were very clean and room Timbucktoo was very spacious. The main shower was not brilliant but there was an excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KentDee
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived late at Riad Africa after French Traffic controllers strike so very pleased to find our booked dinner still available - it was delicious and very welcome. We found the location perfect near to a lot of sights etc and only a 20/30 dirhams (£2-£3) Taxi ride from anything not walkable. Very quiet at night despite being in the thick...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 311norman
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

By a great stroke of luck, the first Riad we were booked into was full and we luckily ended up at Riad Africa. I say luckily, as it really was the perfect place to be if you want a "local" type experience in the Medina (old city) in Marrakesh. Fantastic location, close to a city gate (important as there are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jane S
Tom W, Owner at Riad Africa, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely 5 star review and recommendation, Jane - delighted that you found us, and that you really enjoyed your stay at Riad Africa! Many guests echo your thoughts on the authenticity of the riad, and our ideal location within the medina - close to the Djemaa el Fna and souks, but calm and peaceful when you...

Hampshire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've visited Morocco half a dozen or so times and stayed in a variety of riads and hotels. Riad Africa more than surpassed my hopes and expectations. My room (Lalibela I think) was amazing, the attention to detail in the decor was incredible. Despite being in the middle of the medina and only a few mins from Djemma El Fna,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlfieNoakes
africanick, Owner at Riad Africa, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review - myself and our team really enjoyed your company both at Riad Africa and Kasbah Africa. Look forward to seeing you again on your next visit!

Neath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I'm sure Tim was sleeping off the excesses of the night before when we arrived at midday, he had to be woken up, his appearance & attitude were not professional, the rest of the staff were delightful . The breakfast was good & the rooms clean

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fabatfifty2014
africanick, Owner at Riad Africa, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased you enjoyed our hardworking local team and breakfast but are disappointed that Tim failed to charm you as he does with so many other guests. Tim is unique and is very knowledgeable about Marrakech. During February he kept an eye on day to day ops to make sure...

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Mildew and musty. As in a coffin. Harmful to health. No hot water. Never again in the riad africa. These holidays were bad. We now have to recover from this holiday. The manager did not give us any money back. After 2 nights we left. 5 nights he rented the room without paying a part back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jeanpierreleutwyler
africanick, Owner at Riad Africa, responded to this review

Thanks for writing a review although we are disappointed your chose to use Trip Advisor as a 'blackmail' tool in an attempt to obtain a refund on a non-refundable pre-paid booking made via Booking dot com. Your review is very misleading, spiteful and completely fabricated. Actually you booked a standard safari room but upon arrival were immediately offered a free...

300 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (225)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Other (122)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (75)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (53)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 km away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#32 of 508 in Marrakech
456 reviews
0.2 km away
Riad Suliman
Riad Suliman
#90 of 508 in Marrakech
383 reviews
1.9 km away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#44 of 508 in Marrakech
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#57 of 508 in Marrakech
905 reviews
1.2 km away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#71 of 508 in Marrakech
321 reviews
1.2 km away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Beautiful refurbished first category guesthouse hotel in heart of Marrakech medina with large dipping pool and tropical roof garden. English-Dutch owned and locally managed. Riad Africa is very centrally located in a safe and peaceful residential neighbourhood in the Riad Zitoun Lakdim area of the Medina. Riad Africa has 16 spacious bedrooms and suites themed after Africa's most evocative and fabled destinations. Each room is equipped with air-conditioning, iPod docks, bath robes/slippers, a hair-dryer and personal safe. High speed wireless internet access is available throughout the riad. Guests can cool off in and relax around one of the largest plunge pools in the medina. A tranquil palm-filled courtyard, a comfortable dining room/salon, a massage room, heated plunge pool, juice bar and private roof garden/terrace offer a choice of public areas in which to unwind. A range of health and beauty treatments are available including a massage/treatment room and nearby hammam. Offering easy access (just a 2 minute walk from the taxi stand and bank) it takes just 5 minutes to walk to the bustling Djemaa el Fna square along the popular/easy to navigate Riad Zitoun Lakdim street. An excellent choice of local restaurants, cafes and shops is located within a 5 minute radius on foot, including the highly rated and atmospheric Kosybar. Other attractions located close by the riad include the Mellah, Kasbah and Dar Si Said Museum. Popular with couples, groups of friends and families with older children. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Riad Africa

Address: 94 - 95 Derb Sakka | Riad Zitoun Lakdim, Medina, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Price Range: RM346 - RM691 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Africa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Riad Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#64 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#74 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Riad Africa staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
5 months ago
Bradford, United Kingdom
over a year ago
9 days ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Riad Africa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our two ground floor rooms were fine, we didn't look upstairs, but suspect the rooms would be similar.”
 of 5 bubbles Oldbiker911, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“No city noise at all. First floor rooms maybe quietest, though we were never disturbed in our room on ground floor.”
 of 5 bubbles JaneS962, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Mildew and musty. As in a coffin.”
 of 5 bubbles jeanpierreleutwyler, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Talk to the management about the rooms in advance, they will tell you which rooms are the quietest and most private.”
 of 5 bubbles WWWLondon_England, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“first floor rooms have recently been refurbished.”
 of 5 bubbles buggymoo, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5