We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

795 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
See the most recent reviews
Showing 738: English reviews
harare, Zimbabwe
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Its one of the most unforgettable stays. The hotel has a very relaxing environment. The staff is always ready to assist when ever need arises. I come from a landlocked country and was impressed by the location of the hotel from the sea. I spend hours gazing out into the ocean. I will definitely take my daughter to Dar esalaam...

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Zwashe B
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, as your “home away from home”, we really appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you enjoyed your...

Reviewed 23 August 2016

It's a Hilton so can use your Hhonors benefits. It's got a great view (if you get a sea-view room). It has a very nice pool and the beers are cold. The location is great depending on where you plan to go given the traffic challenges. Mostly it is in a safe area, it's ok but nothing special.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Riaan_uk
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, as your “home away from home”, we really appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you enjoyed your...

dublin
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

I booked into doubletree because it's close to close to where friends stay in dar. The traffic is terrible everywhere except the peninsula I think. I arrived very late , 3am but the front desk staff were great. All awake and ready to help with a speedy check in. My room was big, clean and well furnished. Breakfast times are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marguerite_2011_1
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, as your “home away from home”, we really appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you enjoyed your...

Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

This is a great hotel for business or pleasure. The rooms are really big. The staff is always friendly. Great to sit at the water in the evening for a sundowner. (when the tide is in). This is my goto hotel in Dar es Salaam.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John v
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, as your “home away from home”, we really appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you enjoyed your...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 22 August 2016

I have stayed here a number of times out of necessity or our associates booking me there but will not do so again. The rooms are humid, smelly and dark. If you are unfortunate enough you will land up in a room where staff are permanently passing by your window necessitating that you keep your curtains closed thereby adding to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cruz1968
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, we appreciate the time you have taken to review the hotel following your recent stay with us. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay and...

Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

Its a mediocre Business Hotel. The facilities like the pool and gym are at acceptable levels. The staff by the pool and services are nice. The rooms by the pool side are old , humid with poor lighting. Noisy air conditioners. Insensitive managerial staff , clueless about the needs and requirements of their Clientele. Definitely NOT coming back. Prasanna Karthikeyan....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Prasanna K
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, we appreciate the time you have taken to review the hotel following your recent stay with us. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay and...

Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

Here for two weeks on business. The room is large and comfortable. The hot water is hit or miss. Wi-if is good. Nice outdoor seating area down by the water. Free breakfast - large variety and great coffee. A little tired of the restaurant food, although they do have nightly buffet-style special dinners out in the veranda (eg, Italian night,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank La_Lori1
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, as your “home away from home”, we really appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you enjoyed your...

Brookly
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

Friendly staff, accommodating and very well kept property. A little bit far from the city center but, easy and to the point hotel. Service can be slow, but still professional and friendly. The kitchen staff was very flexible. The wifi in the rooms was very strong and the beds were comfortable. Rooms were large and clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank afiya w
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, as your “home away from home”, we really appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you enjoyed your...

doha
Reviewed 14 August 2016

We missed our international flight, so we booked the hotel from Dar Es Salam airport. Though it is an international Airport there is no dedicated hotel reservation counter at the Airport and the help desk which is outside the arrival terminal was also not helpful at all. Finally we approached a car rental company who assisted us to contact the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jacob t
Ian M, Owner at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, as your “home away from home”, we really appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you enjoyed your...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 13 August 2016

The front desk folks made a great first impression, being so welcoming and gracious. They offered us the warm cookies - unfortunately, they were burned and rather tasteless. Our room was very comfortable and spacious, and the maids kept it clean (was surprised they did not have a tip envelope in the room for them). Loved the shower. We also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mocomama
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, as your “home away from home”, we really appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you enjoyed your...

371 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (325)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (77)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (50)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (137)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
8.5 km away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#5 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
279 reviews
7.2 km away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
5.1 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#4 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
454 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Slipway
Hotel Slipway
#11 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
284 reviews
9.7 km away
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Re...
#10 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Highlights •Located 4.3 Miles from the City Center •Oceanfront property with bay views •Swimming pool and jetty •Three onsite restaurants •5 Meeting Rooms .What to do around here Select the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Dar es Salaam and be close to shops, restaurants and boating. Our hotel offers beautiful bay views and tropical, lush gardens. Enjoy staying in the most affluent area of Dar es Salaam when choosing our hotel. We are within walking distance of restaurants, shops and clubs. Spend a day on the beach. Go snorkeling, fishing and diving. Tee off at the Gymkhana Golf Course, only three miles away from the hotel. Take a 20-minute flight to Mikumi Wildlife Reserve. Visit the Dar es Salaam Yacht Club and go sailing. Visit the Slipway Arts and Crafts Center only two minutes away from the hotel. This popular recreation area offers bookshops, open-air restaurants and pubs. Be sure to visit the Village Museum, Sea Cliff Village and Shoppers Plaza. ... more   less 

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay

Address: Slipway Road Msasani Peninsular, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Price Range: RM744 - RM1,112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Dar Es Salaam-Oysterbay Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#9 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Western side rooms are the best as they face the Indian Ocean and beaches”
 of 5 bubbles 466japhetk, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Do not take rooms on the 5th floor. the hotel has meeting rooms on the 6th floor which can be quite busy.”
 of 5 bubbles sood_varun85, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Due to the construction happening next door you may wish to consider asking for rooms with ocean view rather than streetview.”
 of 5 bubbles o2bnkd, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Sea view rooms are a bonus”
 of 5 bubbles NDawbneyFisher, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Higher is better. Hilton Honors members get best dibs.”
  • Great view from the room this stay.
 of 5 bubbles rmc1971, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5