We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

797 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
See the most recent reviews
Showing 740: English reviews
doha
Reviewed 14 August 2016

We missed our international flight, so we booked the hotel from Dar Es Salam airport. Though it is an international Airport there is no dedicated hotel reservation counter at the Airport and the help desk which is outside the arrival terminal was also not helpful at all. Finally we approached a car rental company who assisted us to contact the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jacob t
Ian M, Owner at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, as your “home away from home”, we really appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you enjoyed your...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 13 August 2016

The front desk folks made a great first impression, being so welcoming and gracious. They offered us the warm cookies - unfortunately, they were burned and rather tasteless. Our room was very comfortable and spacious, and the maids kept it clean (was surprised they did not have a tip envelope in the room for them). Loved the shower. We also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mocomama
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, as your “home away from home”, we really appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you enjoyed your...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

A complete and no complaint hotel. I stayed there in August 2016 and in May 2014 and have not been disappointed in anyway both times. I was lucky to get rooms in the first floor where only rooms on the hotel have a large balcony attached to. Otherwise, smokers would have to accept a room in the annex. My preference...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, as your “home away from home”, we really appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you enjoyed your...

Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewed 8 August 2016

The service is great. The rooms are large, bathrooms are nice. But the breakfast is really lame --awful coffee, poor selection fruit --canned peaches, really? And most inexcusable there is exactly one electrical outlet in the room. For an upscale business hotel that is unacceptable. I had to go buy an extension cord. And the room is freezing cold. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Syd88_12
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, we appreciate the time you have taken to review the hotel following your recent stay with us. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are disappointed that we did not meet all your expectations during your recent stay...

Reviewed 5 August 2016

My wife and I recently stayed here as a part of a larger wedding group. The service here is absolutely fantastic. Arriving back from Zanzibar, we had to have some of our bags delivered from the Doubletree and meet us at the airport before our flight home. The front desk seamlessly organized this and everything went very smoothly. The location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Justin C
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, as your “home away from home”, we really appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you enjoyed your...

Reston, Virginia
Reviewed 2 August 2016

This is a great hotel, very clean, great location, super helpful staff. The pool area is wonderful to relax. Hotel is next to a varied shopping area called Slipway where you can shop, eat or get good ice cream.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 480zahrar
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, as your “home away from home”, we really appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you enjoyed your...

Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

The rooms are a bit basic, the A/C a bit noisy and there is a swampy smell from the bathrooms. But, the staff are wonderful, the pool area is nice and the food is very good (much better than my previous stay 3 years ago). It is also a good location and there are plenty of good restaurants nearby. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cairomac
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, we appreciate the time you have taken to review the hotel following your recent stay with us. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are disappointed that we did not meet all your expectations during your recent stay...

Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

I had great expectations for this hotel before I came, especially hearing that this was the best hotel back in the day. Don't get me wrong, it's clean and the staff are very courteous, however it felt dated. Firstly, the power ports in between the beds were not working as well as the furniture such as the lounge chair being...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neel J
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, we appreciate the time you have taken to review the hotel following your recent stay with us. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are disappointed that we did not meet all your expectations during your recent stay...

Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Pro: The staff members are extremely helpful and friendly; The garden is very nice; the buffet dinner is also not to bad; Con: Booking for pick-up taxi from the hotel was not correctly noted, which resulted in late pickup from the airport; breakfast was not so good - it does not have enough fresh fruit from Tanzania provided even; security...

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dong G
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, we appreciate the time you have taken to review the hotel following your recent stay with us. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are disappointed that we did meet all your expectations during your recent stay and...

Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Best stay I have had in 5 visits to Dar Es Salaam. The other 4 times I stayed at different Hotels and will most definitely book at Hilton again should I return. Accommodation in Dar Es Salaam is not cheap in general and i will pay the extra to stay at the Hilton.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, as your “home away from home”, we really appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you enjoyed your...

371 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (325)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (77)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (50)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (137)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
8.5 km away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#5 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
280 reviews
7.2 km away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
5.1 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#4 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
456 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Slipway
Hotel Slipway
#14 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
286 reviews
9.7 km away
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Re...
#10 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Highlights •Located 4.3 Miles from the City Center •Oceanfront property with bay views •Swimming pool and jetty •Three onsite restaurants •5 Meeting Rooms .What to do around here Select the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Dar es Salaam and be close to shops, restaurants and boating. Our hotel offers beautiful bay views and tropical, lush gardens. Enjoy staying in the most affluent area of Dar es Salaam when choosing our hotel. We are within walking distance of restaurants, shops and clubs. Spend a day on the beach. Go snorkeling, fishing and diving. Tee off at the Gymkhana Golf Course, only three miles away from the hotel. Take a 20-minute flight to Mikumi Wildlife Reserve. Visit the Dar es Salaam Yacht Club and go sailing. Visit the Slipway Arts and Crafts Center only two minutes away from the hotel. This popular recreation area offers bookshops, open-air restaurants and pubs. Be sure to visit the Village Museum, Sea Cliff Village and Shoppers Plaza. ... more   less 

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay

Address: Slipway Road Msasani Peninsular, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Price Range: RM742 - RM1,103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Jovago.com, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelsClick so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Dar Es Salaam-Oysterbay Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#9 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for the rooms at the back of the hotel which have an ocean/ pool area view.”
 of 5 bubbles Eva_hawa, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Western side rooms are the best as they face the Indian Ocean and beaches”
 of 5 bubbles 466japhetk, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Do not take rooms on the 5th floor. the hotel has meeting rooms on the 6th floor which can be quite busy.”
 of 5 bubbles sood_varun85, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Due to the construction happening next door you may wish to consider asking for rooms with ocean view rather than streetview.”
 of 5 bubbles o2bnkd, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Sea view rooms are a bonus”
 of 5 bubbles NDawbneyFisher, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5