We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Peacock Hotel Limited

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Peacock Hotel Limited
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

137 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 122: English reviews
Start your review of Peacock Hotel Limited
 Click to rate
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A pleasant 2 nights stay. Large room in the new wing with a big bathroom. Excellent water pressure in shower. Decent breakfast buffet. Good AC. But one hears the neighbours very well - especially the noise from water when they shower. Food in restaurant is ok - could be more variate menu. Service is full of smiles but very slow....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hans L
Reviewed 24 March 2017

The hotel is expanding eastwards, where a new wing is actually the true Peacock hotel by now. Unfortunately the main entrance remains the same, which forces the guests to go through a series of lift flights and narrow crannies to reach the real reception of the new wing. Booking confusions resulted in me moved to the old wing. thankfully at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mwalim M
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 19 March 2017

The Peacock is in central Dar. The room rates are good; they have a pool and dining room. The food isn't great but they work hard to bring variety. For example, they serve buffets around the pool frequently. And, on Wednesdays they are known for their Tanzania culture night. The staff make up for other shortcomings. No matter what job...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vicspics
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 27 February 2017

I stayed at the hotel over Christmas and found the staff to be friendly, the rooms clean, and the location great as it's next too a mall and pretty close (depending on traffic) to the airport and ferry terminal. I stayed in the "new building" which is all suites and does look like their website. I think where there may...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HikerJo
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 5 February 2017

Some of the staff was friendly but the management were horrible. We were a group of travelers and some rooms were robbed. A lot of the facilities (safety box, TV etc) were not working. Expensive restaurant. For tourists I would recommend staying closing to the Slipway area, which is nicer and you can take the ferry to an island.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nicole_Sthlm
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewed 2 February 2017

I stayed at this Hotel for 6 nights during my business trip to Dar es salaam. The staff are very welcoming, I had Dinner at the Poolside Restaurant and breakfast at the Pigeon Restaurant.Good varieties of freshly baked pastries and breads, everything was absolutely awesome. Then came the Tanzanian theme night on Wednesday night, This was something outstanding. The freshly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gi7476
Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

We arrived at this wonderful City Hotel on 28th of January for our short business trip. We have once been here but this time round the entire environment was extremely welcoming. The entrance to the hotel really improved with clear signage of the entire property. Generally staff and facility really made us feel at home. The special theme night's with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mummyjunior
Norrkoping, Sweden
Reviewed 13 January 2017

At first look this hotel looks nice enough. But unfortunately that doesn't describe the hotel itself. We were a group of people and to start explaining several rooms lacked a safety box. Several of those rooms were broken into and items and cash was stolen. The customer service was the worst I have ever experienced. We were told we could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lexanianna
Peacock H, General Manager at Peacock Hotel Limited, responded to this review

We have read through your comments about your experience with Peacock Lexaniann . All areas of question mentioned have all been noted with concern and our management team is already working on these allegations so as to justify the truth about the matters and an appropriate measure taken based on each. We however wish to reassure you that this unforeseen...

Rome, Italy
Reviewed 10 January 2017

I stayed here for 5 nights in December on business in one of the suites. I will try to start from the beginning .... The entrance - what is it and/or where is it? There seemed to be a front entrance but then you were lead through a dingy parking lot to the lifts to the suites. Not at all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WIF_13
Peacock H, General Manager at Peacock Hotel Limited, responded to this review

We wish to thank all our valued customers for staying with us during their visit in Tanzania last year. We take this opportunity to acknowledge all their comments raised over Trip advisor about Peacock Hotel. “Houses are built with bricks and mortar”, same way good service is built by positive and negative comments. Customer experience helps us measure our service...

located anywhere life takes me
Reviewed 8 December 2016

The rooms in the new wing of the hotel are great. The entrance to the hotel is weird as you enter in the old lobby and then have to navigate through the parking and elevators to the 4th floor of the building behind to come to the new reception. The rooms in this new wing are ballroom sized. Good wifi...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank One_of_the_Wazungu

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.2 km away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#45 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
133 reviews
0.3 km away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#20 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
212 reviews
0.1 km away
Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa
Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa
#29 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
648 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Sapphire
Hotel Sapphire
#25 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
97 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Nikko Tower
Hotel Nikko Tower
#30 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A warm and personal calm will greet you as you walk into your home-away-from-home in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania. Offering authentic Tanzanian hospitably, the hotel originally commenced operations in 1992, and stands as one of the city's premier hotel for both business and leisure travelers. Ideally situated in the heart of Dar es Salaam, Peacock Hotels - City Centre & All Suites offers a great location with excellent value. It is strategically located in the city's dynamic business, financial, government offices, shopping, entertainment and educational hubs and within walking distance of connection by boat to Zanzibar. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Peacock Hotel Limited

Address: Bibi Titi Mohamed Street | PO Box 70270, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Price Range: RM271 - RM630 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Peacock Hotel Limited 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Jovago.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peacock Hotel Limited reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peacock Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Peacock Hotel Limited staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Gaborone, Botswana

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Peacock Hotel Limited staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't opt for rooms in the old wing, though they may be cheaper.”
mwalimm, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the backside and not overlooking the pool.”
vicspics, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the diplomatic suites are exquisite and gives you a clear view of the City especially at night.”
gi7476, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the cheap rooms, they are the old and unrefurbished rooms.”
One_of_the_Wazungu, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Request for a room in the new Tower away from the busy road side.”
brunog176, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5