We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Serengeti Wilderness Camp

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

137 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Serengeti Wilderness Camp
See the most recent reviews
Showing 117: English reviews
Europe
Reviewed 10 September 2015

Located near the Mara River in Northern Serengeti, this is a remote tented camp with good quality of service. The tent was great and so was the sunset. At the time of visit the migration was not around yet, so there are not that many animals to be found in the surrounding area. Stay on the path as the bugs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lagitz
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 2 September 2015

We stayed in the Serengeti Wilderness Camp for two nights and it was fantastic. The tents were complete with king size beds, hot showers and flush toilets. We had zebras right outside our tent and could hear lions and elephants during the night. The food and the staff were also both great. I can't wait to come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarahannasmart
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 2 September 2015

Located in the North Serengeti in close proximity to the Mara river and the great wildebeest migration, this seasonal camp was one of three tented camps we visited (stayed 2 nights), and it was billed as average on the scale, the others being a more luxury mobile tented camp and a luxury permanent tented lodge. I say this because there...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jennifer B
Reviewed 30 August 2015

Rooms were better than expected Showers were more than adequate despite getting adverse reports Staff were polite and friendly and very obliging Food was excellent and obvious attempts had been made to provide good variety despite the remote location Views at night/dusk were absolutely delightful - topped off by good game viewing or the Mara crossing

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rognaik1
Melbourne
Reviewed 25 August 2015 via mobile

If you like to awake in your comfortable king sized bed with hot shower, flushing toilet and most of the creature comforts of home and listen to the lions, elephants, hyenas and water buffalo whilst your morning tea / coffee is delivered to your tent this place is for you. We stayed at both the north and central camps which...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BennieMelbourne
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 24 August 2015

After two nights of being spoilt at Kati-Kati camp, the service and meals at North Serengeti Wilderness Camp was disappointing. The only time we felt good was when we were welcomed with refreshing towels and a drink on arrival. The arrangement of tents at this camp were pretty much same as the previous mobile camp we stayed at – one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thilakawathie
Wildfrontiers1, Owner at Serengeti Wilderness Camp, responded to this review

Dear Sirs We appreciate the trouble you have taken to put a review on Trip Advisor iro Serengeti Wilderness Camp (North). I would like to discuss in more detail, if possible, with you on email? We would obviously like to address specific issues you had during your stay. Debbie@wildfrontiers.com Thank you,

Lund, Sweden
Reviewed 30 July 2015

Beautifully located with excellent view. Very friendly and helpful service. The tents were surprisingly nice decorated and functional. Comfortable beds, bathroom separated from the room with warm shower and WC and LED lights across the tent. The dinner and breakfast was nice and fresh. The sense of being in the middle of the savanna and hear the lions roar at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Atle W
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed 20 July 2015

We stayed at the Serengeti North Wilderness Camp. It's plus is that it moves with the migration - or at least that is its claim. We were actually about 3 hours from the migration. It is situated about 30 minutes from the Mara River - and the migration was late, so it had not yet arrived. But the camp itself...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jcrane66
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 16 July 2015

We arrived in the pouring rain and were met with 5 or so staff, some were holding umbrellas ready to escort us to the camp. At first you look around and try to understand what you have gotten yourself into (hands up for the non-campers!), but as you walk the path to the tent reception - you feel so pleased...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sumie_Sentiments
Wildfrontiers1, Owner at Serengeti Wilderness Camp, responded to this review

Thank you SO much for your review of our Camp, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience there - and hope that you may one day return ! With thanks, Debbie Addison

Plainfield, United States
Reviewed 30 June 2015

The tent was roomy and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom facilities were clean. The staff was extremely attentive an friendly. The information you needed to be comfortable was explained in detail. The food was excellent and ample! You will have a great wilderness experience, if you like a rustic camping experience with lots of comforts!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Debra K

254 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (238)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (150)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serengeti National Park
0.0 km away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,468 reviews
0.0 km away
Serengeti Migration Camp
Serengeti Migration Camp
#11 of 114 in Serengeti National Park
285 reviews
0.0 km away
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp
#25 of 114 in Serengeti National Park
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Grumeti Migration Camp
Grumeti Migration Camp
#65 of 114 in Serengeti National Park
78 reviews
0.0 km away
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
#6 of 114 in Serengeti National Park
470 reviews
0.0 km away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#6 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Is a seasonal camp and located in the heart of the Serengeti National Park, with access to arguably some of the best game viewing in Africa. The style of camp is simple but with every comfort being taken care of. Seasonal camps have the benefit of being able to move to some of the best game viewing areas of the park and every three to six months we move to a new location. Serengeti Wilderness Camp comprises just ten spacious tents. We provide comfortable beds with quality linens, en suite eco-friendly flushing toilet and bush-shower off an intimate dressing room area. Lighting is by 12-volt (solar powered) with bedside lamps provided. The tents each have a shady verandah, where guests may relax and read quietly or perhaps watch birds and animals. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Serengeti Wilderness Camp

Address: 26 km east of Serona, Turners Springs site, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Serengeti Wilderness Camp Hotel Serengeti National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Serengeti Wilderness Camp staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Serengeti Wilderness Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All tents are well appointed, and guides accompany you on the path before sunrise and after sunset.”
  • The most comfy, well-appointed tent we've ever been in!
 of 5 bubbles LionHeart53, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Keep the zippers in your tent down and watch the animals by the light of the moon graze outside your tent at night!”
  • Elephants near the tents
  • Serengeti sunset view from the tent
 of 5 bubbles malcarlie, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have the most amazing views to the Serengenti”
 of 5 bubbles Sandra1973629, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All in a line so all good. Number 1 closest to bar and dining tents.”
 of 5 bubbles footlocker, 24 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Ask for tents closer to the dining tent”
 of 5 bubbles suddu11, 1 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5