We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ubuntu Camp, Asilia Africa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Ubuntu Camp, Asilia Africa
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

187 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ubuntu Camp, Asilia Africa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 174: English reviews
New York City, New York
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We Stayed at Ubuntu for four days and three nights and it was so much fun!!! This camp moves three times a year with the migrating animals and we were visiting during the time when wildebeest cross Mara river. It is a powerful sighting. Ubuntu staff picks you up at the airport and greets you with a refreshing wet towel...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SK2288
New York City
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The setting: You are about a 30 minute drive from the Kogatende airstrip, and what a drive it is! It's amazing to see all the fauna that abounds along the Mara river here in early August. The camp consists of the main lounge and dining tents and eight double occupancy guest tents. The sweeping views of the northern Serengeti are...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Brooklynite_Abroad
Webster, New York
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed here 2 nights and found the camp very good. Our tent was comfortable and had a nice view out the front. The bucket shower was 40 liters for 2 people instead of 2 showers at 20 liters for each person. This we found to be good because my husband does not use as much water as I do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trve2
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

This was the first of two Asilia camps my husband and I stayed in and the experience will make us always look for Asilia. Our guide was wonderful, always finding just the animals large and small as well as many, many birds, we hoped to see and answering all our many questions with humor and patience. Our tracker was fascinating,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Mary Tyler K
Massachusetts
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Ubuntu is a delightful and very well managed mobile tented safari camp that spends June in the Western Serengeti - a time when the migration is usually there. This year the migration never came west, but Ubuntu still provided an excellent safari experience. Our driver guide was always supportive and attentive to our requests. He gave us very good sightings...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Moonriser
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I found very positive reviews of Ubuntu on Tripadvisor before booking. I have just returned home from Tanzania two days ago and felt a more realistic review would help future travellers. I was very disappointed indeed. Perhaps I’ve been spoiled with the outstanding experiences in tented camps in Botswana and South Africa, but Ubuntu has major issues to address before...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ChapLondon2
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Ubuntu Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this review

Thank you for your detailed thoughts and for the opportunity to discuss your thoughts in person. As I have said in person I very much regret that you felt the experience was below what it should be but regardless we are grateful for the time you have spent sharing the good and bad. Thank you for accepting our explanation of...

Arusha, Tanzania
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My husband and I spent a couple of nights at this mobile camp during our honeymoon and loved it. We were there when it was stationed in the Northern Serengeti so it had the perfect location for good wildlife viewing. We were spoilt seeing not only wildebeest migration action, but also all the big cats, lions, cheetahs and leopards with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank benagirl83
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Ubuntu was our final stop of our safaris in Kenya and Tanzania. Our luxury tent looked right out on the lovely Serengeti. We loved the fire and snacks before dinner and the family style service which encouraged fun conversations with our fellow travelers. Anna who managed the service staff went out of her way to make our stay special and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Calgaryconnoisseurs
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We couldn't have asked for a better stay at Ubuntu in late May 2014 in the western Serengeti. The view was unbelievable, zebra just hundred yards away. The staff was excellent. We loved the food, especially the snacks before dinner while watching 'bush tv' (sunset and fire pit). The tent was very nice and the showers were perfect. We felt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jas925
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The location of this camp is what makes it so special. This is a mobile camp that follows the migration through the Serengeti. It is amazing the comfort/luxury that a mobile camp like this can preserve. The tents are huge with a separate bathroom/shower area. The view from our tent down to the plains full of wildebeest below was amazing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank akelsall_11

243 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (235)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (132)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serengeti National Park
0.0 km away
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
#4 of 111 in Serengeti National Park
434 reviews
0.0 km away
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 30 in Tarangire National Park
408 reviews
0.0 km away
Serengeti Migration Camp
Serengeti Migration Camp
#7 of 111 in Serengeti National Park
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Singita Faru Faru Lodge
Singita Faru Faru Lodge
#33 of 111 in Serengeti National Park
137 reviews
0.0 km away
Lake Duluti Serena Hotel
0.0 km away
Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp
Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp
#14 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ubuntu Migration Camp stops at three spectacular locations across the north, west and south of the Serengeti, following in the tracks of massive herds of wildebeest as they cross the vast plains of the Serengeti in an ancient migration cycle. Shadowing the wildebeest's every move, Ubuntu Camp uncovers fascinating and unexplored corners of this great wilderness, ensuring that first-class game viewing is never far away. With their unwavering focus on keeping pace with the migration, Ubuntu's guides have an enviable reputation for bringing this remarkable natural phenomenon to life. The camp itself is intimate and personal, and the seven spacious tented suites epitomise traditional East African safari charm. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ubuntu Camp, Asilia Africa

Address: Serengeti National Park 1000, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Number of rooms: 7
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ubuntu Camp, Asilia Africa staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Ubuntu Camp, Asilia Africa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a tent on the end of the camp, then you only have 1 neighbor!”
 of 5 bubbles susancR4074UE, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All tents are great! There is not a bad location.”
  • We saw this beautiful of a sunset every night.
 of 5 bubbles andis55, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All the tents looked out onto the sunrise over the bush!”
 of 5 bubbles anonofbiggs, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Every tent has a great view of the Serengeti, Maybe a slight advantage to being the last tent so you only have one neighbor. ”
 of 5 bubbles gk940, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms (safari tents) are great”
 of 5 bubbles 333janeller, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5