We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Small World Backpackers Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Small World Backpackers Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Small World Backpackers Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 93: English reviews
Iran
Reviewed 4 February 2016

This is not very cheap place and the kitchen facilities are so disgusting ,it is evidence the owner likes the income but cant face the expenditure and not bothered to provide proper pots and pans and they are ancient and so dirty and old. the cups and most plates are metal . He knows that there are not many places...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank b_kashan
Seremwe, General Manager at Small World Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Client Thank you for your review. We since attended to your review. regards

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 8 December 2015

The place is not too far away from city centre in a quiet neighbourhood. If you are doing all your cooking and grocery shopping, it is indeed the best value in Harare. Everything you need for a short or long term stay can be found in this accommodation, including the clothes line. However, the communal kitchen could be better equipped....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fidelisblue
Chegutu, Zimbabwe
Reviewed 5 November 2015

I was here with a friend last year. The place is quiet and tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Showers and ablutions unfortunately are communal. I believe this is the only snag with the place. The room i was in (Maun Room) was spacious with two beds. For a small fee breakfast can also be prepared...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lindanic2015
Selangor, Malaysia
Reviewed 3 September 2015

I had bad experience here. I have been traveling different countries and stay at budget accommodation like hostel and backpackers lodge. For security reason and personal preference, I always choose a private room so that I can lock my stuff in the room. I came for conference in Harare and extended to travel around. I had stayed at two backpackers...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Michaelbkpua
Seremwe, Manager at Small World Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Security is our number one priority. This was just an unfortunate incident.

netherlands
Reviewed 8 August 2015

At the end of our holiday we made another booking for "It's a small world" but they made a double booking. After arguing about their mistake for hours they offered us a room in a kind of weird house somewhere else. We didn't want to spend our last days of our holiday at that creepy place so looked out for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank servatius
Seremwe, General Manager at Small World Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Once more I am sorry for the incident of your last days of your holidays. We have since attended to the issues you raised. Electricity is quiet stable and we have back up generator. Unfortunately the option we offered you for free did not meet your standards.. Appreciate your review. regards George Seremwe Manager

Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewed 6 June 2015

Airport pick up US $25. Booked for 5 nights in a single room with (a pretty busy) shared bathroom at $20 a night which was extremely good value. You are much better off using the "outdoor" shower which has very hot water and good pressure. On arrival they tried to put me in a mixed dorm and then showed me...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MJS1966
Seremwe, Manager at Small World Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It's A Small World Lodge values your comments. This will only help us improve on those areas you have highlighted. About WIFI I am sorry that was an unusually because most of the time is available. No payment for the fire place. Airport drop off I will rectify the extra charge which should not be...

Stevenage, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 May 2015

I really enjoyed my second time staying at Small World, last time I stayed in the dorm with 15 other guys from my football team but my recent trip was with my brother. We stayed in the Arusha room which was fairly small but adiquate for one nights stay. Great location in Harare with only the shopping and restaurant area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2015 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay in Avondale. Rooms are spacious and clean. The beds are perfect. Avondale shopping centre in walking distance. Beautiful garden with stone and steel sculptures. Enjoyed our trip in the city with Jackson, in the Mercedes!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Reviewed 21 May 2015

Whatever the length of ones stay in Harare, this is the very best for convenience and affordability. The amenities are clean and user-friendly, the staff are super helpful and the food. when you're not cooking for yourself, is superb. A walk from the shops, a hop from access to public transport and a skip from a whole new life experience!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank africangypsy2015
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 13 May 2015

Great hot showers, clean rooms, comfortable beds and best wifi I had in 30 days. I've been eating the food created by Chef Phineas and enjoyed every bite. The food is always delicious and prepared properly. Oh and they have a bar to help quench your thirst. There is also a shared kitchen on site, if you want to cook...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Happygringos

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harare hotels
3.6 km away
The N1 Hotel Harare
The N1 Hotel Harare
#3 of 13 in Harare
230 reviews
3.8 km away
Holiday Inn Harare
Holiday Inn Harare
#5 of 13 in Harare
258 reviews
3.9 km away
Cresta Oasis Hotel
Cresta Oasis Hotel
#10 of 13 in Harare
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Meikles Hotel
Meikles Hotel
#2 of 13 in Harare
435 reviews
3.2 km away
Cresta Jameson Hotel
Cresta Jameson Hotel
#8 of 13 in Harare
70 reviews
7.5 km away
Simba Harare
Simba Harare
#34 of 47 in Harare
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
It's a Small World Lodge", in Harare, offers everything from camping, for backpackers, to family suites, for larger groups. Skype: smallworld251 ... more   less 

Additional Information about Small World Backpackers Lodge

Address: 25 Ridge Rd | Avondale, Harare, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Harare Province > Harare
Price Range: RM125 - RM201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Small World Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Small World Backpackers Hotel Harare
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Small World Backpackers Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Botswana
over a year ago
Bulawayo, Matabeleland North, Zimbabwe
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Small World Backpackers Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room with your own bath. More expensive but worth it”
 of 5 bubbles patrickmB5767BL, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Sometimes even the dorms are fairly empty. Ask if crowded and you may be able to stay in a quiet dorm.”
 of 5 bubbles Robbiec1964, 4 Jun 2016 | Read review
“If you can afford a private room, that is always the best.”
 of 5 bubbles susanhorcajo, 24 May 2016 | Read review
“Take the dorm room, the other rooms are far overpriced.”
 of 5 bubbles servatius, 8 Aug 2015 | Read review
“wifi - the wifi is not for 12 or 24 hrs straight; so log out when you aren't using it and it will last a long time.”
  • one room
  • one of several bathrooms
 of 5 bubbles Happygringos, 13 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay