We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Small World Backpackers Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harare
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Small World Backpackers Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

100 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Small World Backpackers Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 90: English reviews
Selangor, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2015

I had bad experience here. I have been traveling different countries and stay at budget accommodation like hostel and backpackers lodge. For security reason and personal preference, I always choose a private room so that I can lock my stuff in the room. I came for conference in Harare and extended to travel around. I had stayed at two backpackers... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank Michaelbkpua
Seremwe, Manager at Small World Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Security is our number one priority. This was just an unfortunate incident. More 

netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2015

At the end of our holiday we made another booking for "It's a small world" but they made a double booking. After arguing about their mistake for hours they offered us a room in a kind of weird house somewhere else. We didn't want to spend our last days of our holiday at that creepy place so looked out for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank servatius
Seremwe, General Manager at Small World Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Once more I am sorry for the incident of your last days of your holidays. We have since attended to the issues you raised. Electricity is quiet stable and we have back up generator. Unfortunately the option we offered you for free did not meet your standards.. Appreciate your review. regards George Seremwe Manager More 

Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
314 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2015

Airport pick up US $25. Booked for 5 nights in a single room with (a pretty busy) shared bathroom at $20 a night which was extremely good value. You are much better off using the "outdoor" shower which has very hot water and good pressure. On arrival they tried to put me in a mixed dorm and then showed me... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank MJS1966
Seremwe, Manager at Small World Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It's A Small World Lodge values your comments. This will only help us improve on those areas you have highlighted. About WIFI I am sorry that was an unusually because most of the time is available. No payment for the fire place. Airport drop off I will rectify the extra charge which should not be... More 

Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2015

I really enjoyed my second time staying at Small World, last time I stayed in the dorm with 15 other guys from my football team but my recent trip was with my brother. We stayed in the Arusha room which was fairly small but adiquate for one nights stay. Great location in Harare with only the shopping and restaurant area... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 23 May 2015 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay in Avondale. Rooms are spacious and clean. The beds are perfect. Avondale shopping centre in walking distance. Beautiful garden with stone and steel sculptures. Enjoyed our trip in the city with Jackson, in the Mercedes!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2015

Whatever the length of ones stay in Harare, this is the very best for convenience and affordability. The amenities are clean and user-friendly, the staff are super helpful and the food. when you're not cooking for yourself, is superb. A walk from the shops, a hop from access to public transport and a skip from a whole new life experience!

Helpful?
Thank africangypsy2015
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2015

Great hot showers, clean rooms, comfortable beds and best wifi I had in 30 days. I've been eating the food created by Chef Phineas and enjoyed every bite. The food is always delicious and prepared properly. Oh and they have a bar to help quench your thirst. There is also a shared kitchen on site, if you want to cook... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Happygringos
Kampala
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2015

An affordable and clean place to stay if transiting the city. They have two branches within the city both of which I would recommend. One near a shopping mall and another near the bus park. Both locations are central depending on what your schedule is like.

Helpful?
1 Thank Amanju20
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2015

Stayed at the Small World Lodge in Avondale, for 10 nights in late January. It's very good value and has friendly service. They arranged for airport pickup which was cheaper than a taxi would have been. It's not far from the Avondale center which has a large supermarket and a range of restaurants. Would definitely stay at the Small World... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Rasmus P
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2015 via mobile

This is a great place to come and chill and relax away from the hustle and bustle of the city. It's in a great location and the streets are quiet. Camping on the grass is super comfy and the bathrooms are clean and tidy. The staff are great and very helpful. All round it's great.

Helpful?
2 Thank ChiefGowanus

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harare hotels
3.6 km away
The N1 Hotel Harare
The N1 Hotel Harare
#4 of 13 in Harare
204 reviews
3.9 km away
Meikles Hotel
Meikles Hotel
#3 of 13 in Harare
422 reviews
3.9 km away
Cresta Oasis Hotel
Cresta Oasis Hotel
#10 of 13 in Harare
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Cresta Lodge Harare
Cresta Lodge Harare
#1 of 13 in Harare
314 reviews
3.2 km away
Monomotapa Hotel- Legacy
7.5 km away
Simba Harare
Simba Harare
#33 of 47 in Harare
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
It's a Small World Lodge", in Harare, offers everything from camping, for backpackers, to family suites, for larger groups. Skype: smallworld251 ... more   less 

Additional Information about Small World Backpackers Lodge

Address: 25 Ridge Rd | Avondale, Harare, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Harare Province > Harare
Price Range: RM125 - RM134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Small World Backpackers Hotel Harare
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Small World Backpackers Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Botswana
over a year ago
Bulawayo, Matabeleland North, Zimbabwe
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Small World Backpackers Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sometimes even the dorms are fairly empty. Ask if crowded and you may be able to stay in a quiet dorm.”
 of 5 bubbles Robbiec1964, 4 Jun 2016 | Read review
“If you can afford a private room, that is always the best.”
 of 5 bubbles susanhorcajo, 24 May 2016 | Read review
“Take the dorm room, the other rooms are far overpriced.”
 of 5 bubbles servatius, 8 Aug 2015 | Read review
“wifi - the wifi is not for 12 or 24 hrs straight; so log out when you aren't using it and it will last a long time.”
  • one room
  • one of several bathrooms
 of 5 bubbles Happygringos, 13 May 2015 | Read review
“Try and get one with a good lock and bars on the window”
 of 5 bubbles MikeP788, 11 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5