We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

327 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 311: English reviews
Start your review of AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino
 Click to rate
Gaborone, Botswana
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The only hotel offering the best services in town, central located best suites, friendly staff, nice vegetation well kept lawns, gym and wonderful pool, Great buffer great food I love your double cheese burger by the poolside

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DrBeautyMMuzadzi
Rustenburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Staff members need training, they seem to be too casual and for the type of hotel and the cost of staying in it, i would have easily rated the hotel as a 5 star hotel, but i cannot say it felt like 5 star hotel.

Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tapologo
Jwaneng, Botswana
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Irrived on Sunday 26th March and checked out on the 1st April 2017. Even though the hotel is unedrgoing some renovation, noise was kept at a minimal and the team was prepared to giide in case one was lost and did not know where to go. The service at the reception was good. The porters did not have to be...

Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 246thata
Gaborone
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wonderful and memorable. Great, value for money. I have always met a team of hospitable people at Avani. Their reception is unparalleled, right from the shuttle at the airport to the front desk. These guys have what it takes to keep someone looking forward to coming back to AVANI.

Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dr0tt
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had a wonderful stay Avani Gaborone Resort & Casino, the staff is so professional and friendly. Will definitely recommend the hotel to friends and family members. The cleanliness of the rooms and breakfast was good.

Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank philasandek
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My first visit to Botswana on business and my host booked this hotel for me. Arriving after an overnight flight I was initially horrified at the noise of the construction work going on near the lobby of the hotel, but thankfully given a room in the 300/400 block towards the back in quiet gardens. There was a bit of a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SarahJAl
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Clean tidy and super service. Nothing is too much trouble. All staff to be applauded and especially for their command of English and ability to respond and understand an elderly traveller. Great taxi driver called Manyoloi.

Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank billh12015
Cape Town
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Finally being updated as rooms tired and fittings broken. As such, be prepared for noise and boarded up areas. Slow check in and check out has always been an issue with this hotel but otherwise a good bar and pool area and adequate breakfast

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

We arrived at 18h00 from a airport. Group of 4 on business. Check in took an hour. Rooms not ready / available. I was given a room in renovated wing which was crisp and fresh, enjoyed that. Not really great value due to poor service but for a short stay, not bad.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rohan2109
RiaanvR777, General Manager at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Sir Thank you for taking the time out to give us feedback! is highly appreciated! Please accept our apology for the poor check in and service experience you had. We are currently busy with a full refurbishment of the property which means all rooms and facilities will be upgraded and changed. The aim is to have this completed by...

Warsaw, Poland
Reviewed 6 March 2017

High price - low standard The area is ok - green trees, big lawn, etc. But the room standard was bad - mould in the bathroom. Fridge broken. Dryer not in the bathroom but in the salon. Because of the trees rooms are not quiet (birds in the morning!). Good that the air condition works ok.

Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gaboronaj
Management response:

Dear Sir Thank you for the feedback supplied and the time you took out to do it. This feedback DO assist us in improving on our service. Please accept our apology for the poor experience you had - we are in the process of doing quite a comprehensive refurbishment. You are assured that your next visit to us will be...

97 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:57
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (6)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Find that just right blend of hospitality, business, and leisure at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino. Set in the vibrant city centre of Botswana's capital, Gaborone, it's never been easier work, rest, and play in style in the heart of Africa. Have the perfect start or finish to a great African Adventure with all the details that matter, done well. ... more   less 

Additional Information about AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino

Address: Chuma Drive 4727, Gaborone, Botswana (Formerly Gaborone Sun Hotel)
Region: Botswana > South-East District > Gaborone
Price Range: RM686 - RM950 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaborone Sun Hotel
Sun Gaborone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Gaborone, Botswana
Johannesburg, South Africa

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Presdential suites and other rooms close to those one”
DrBeautyMMuzadzi, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“First FLoor”
628willyv, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Best view from rooms facing the pool area.”
hugot790, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stay away if you can”
nazparmar, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ground Floor, Pool Facing rooms”
  • Bathroom
  • Bathroom
  • Room
  • Room
  • Room
  • Room
MoeYou, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5